how long am I suppose to keep sr 22 insurance in the state of al.?
UPDATED: Aug 6, 2012
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.
Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
Free Insurance Comparison
Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Asked August 6, 2012
The state of Alabama can require you to carry an SR-22 certificate of financial responsibility for several different reasons. Depending on why the court or DMV gave you the requirement, you may have to carry the SR22 insurance for a variable length of time, generally ranging from 1 to 5 years. Keep in mind that an SR-22 is not a replacement for car insurance regulations, but in addition to the minimum auto insurance requirements of Alabama.
For those convicted of driving without proof of insurance, you may be required to have an SR-22 for 1 year. If you are stopped during that time, you must present the SR 22 and your insurance card to the law enforcement officer. Failure to do so could result in having your license and vehicle registration suspended and multiple failures could result in their revocation.
If you were convicted of a DUI, you could be required to carry the SR-22 for 2 or more years. How long you will have to carry the SR-22 will depend on how many DUI's you have had and the severity of damages or injuries associated with them. People who have been convicted of serious infractions such as reckless driving or DUI are required to carry an SR22 for an average of 3 years.
Answered August 6, 2012 by Anonymous