How long must I carry FR 44 Insurance after a DUI in Florida?

Free Insurance Comparison

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Asked July 21, 2010

1 Answer


In most cases, you will be required to carry an FR-44 for 3 years after a DUI conviction. In some cases, you may only be required to carry an SR-22, but the state of Florida changed their laws in 2007 to require everyone convicted of a DUI to have FR-44 for a minimum of 3 years.

Like the SR-22, an FR-44 is a certificate of compliance, not an actual insurance policy. It states that the person named on the form carries 10 times the liability coverage of the state minimum or $100k of coverage for every $10K required by law. This means that in addition to the FR-44, you are required to maintain an auto insurance policy that is much higher than other drivers.

In essence, an FR-44 is simply the form that must be filed which states you are carrying more insurance coverage. You are required to pay a monthly or annual fee for the certificate, and the insurance company then files it with the Department of Motor Vehicles. Failure to maintain an FR-44 can result in the suspension or revocation of your driving privilege.

Answered July 21, 2010 by Anonymous

Related Links

Free Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption