If you move to a new address for only 15 months do you still have to change your address on my drivers license?
Free Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Asked January 4, 2016
Most states do not consider a move to a new address for 15 months as a temporary move. In fact, all Texas drivers are required by the state to contact the Texas Department of Public Safety's Driver License Division within 30 days of moving to change their driver's license information to the most current address. This requirement makes sense when you consider that the state needs to know where to find you for law enforcement, safety, emergency and other reasons.
You can change the address on a valid driver's license at any Texas Department of Motor Vehicle location. You can also change it online at the Texas DPS website or via postal mail. If you have a commercial driver's license, you must change the address at a DMV location. As of January 2016, there is an $11 fee to make this change. In any of these cases, your current license can't be suspended, revoked or expired. If you're moving to Texas for 15 months from another state, you will not change the address on your current license. Instead, you have 30 days to register your vehicle and 90 days to apply for a Texas license that displays the Texas address.
Answered January 4, 2016 by TreyFevaa