How many days after due date are you allowed before your car insurance is cancelled?
UPDATED: May 31, 2016
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.
Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
Free Insurance Comparison
Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Asked May 31, 2016
Car insurance is a must whenever you operate a motor vehicle. In Tennessee, all vehicle owners are required to maintain valid insurance coverage on all registered vehicles. Failure to maintain valid coverage may result in suspension of registration, fines and even a possible suspension of driving privileges. This makes it crucial to pay your insurance premiums before a cancellation can occur.
Each state has different guidelines concerning cancellations, especially for cancellations due to non-payment. Tennessee insurance carriers allow policy holders from the state to be up to 10 days late when paying their premiums. Generally, if the policy holder does not make a payment by the due date, they will send a cancellation notice. The cancellation notice will give the last day to pay the premium to avoid cancellation. As long as you make this payment within the 10 days as specified, your Tennessee auto insurance policy will not be cancelled. If you go past the 10 days, it may be cancelled, which will lead to many other consequences concerning your motor vehicle, and even your license.
Answered June 1, 2016 by insurance1822