The General (Permanent General)

This The General (Permanent General) review will cover The General (Permanent General) ratings by real users for overall satisfaction and claims, cost, billing, and service satisfaction. The The General (Permanent General) A.M. Best rating is A-. To compare insurance rates from the best companies in your locale, enter your ZIP code below.

Free Insurance Comparison

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Chris Tepedino is a feature writer that has written extensively about home, life, and car insurance for numerous websites. He has a college degree in communication from the University of Tennessee and has experience reporting, researching investigative pieces, and crafting detailed, data-driven features. His works have been featured on CB Blog Nation, Flow Words, Healing Law, WIBW Kansas, and C...

Full Bio →

Written by Chris Tepedino
Insurance Feature Writer Chris Tepedino

Laura Walker graduated college with a BS in Criminal Justice with a minor in Political Science. She married her husband and began working in the family insurance business in 2005. She became a licensed agent and wrote P&C business focusing on personal lines insurance for 10 years. Laura serviced existing business and wrote new business. She now uses her insurance background to help educate...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Laura Walker
Former Licensed Agent Laura Walker

UPDATED: Nov 19, 2011

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.

Company Details
Address: 9700 Rockside Road Suite 250
City: Valley View
State: OH
ZIP Code: 44125
Phone Number: (615) 242-1961
Fax: (615) 366-1718
AM Best Rating: A-

General Auto Insurance, also referred to as, TheGeneral or Permanent General, is an independent insurance broker. They have offices in all 5 states, and sell a range of top-name insurance products, including Prudential, Farmers, and State Farm. The benefit of General insurance for the policy holder is that independent agencies compare quote between many different companies rather than only offering quotes from a single one.

Reviews
for The General Auto Insurance

3.58 (823 reviews)
5
February 16, 2022

Glarison

Great company I'm riding with shack

Great customer service. Very helpful they explained everything in detail and had the best rate I would recommend them to anyone
5
December 30, 2021

HWalla

Quick and thorough

I did the entire process online and received my quote within minutes. The company was quick to respond and provided me with my policy documents immediately
5
October 8, 2021

Kasarah90

Quick and affordable would recommend

My car broke down on my way to work and I had just purchased another car but did not have insurance, tags, or taxes paid yet. The car the broke down was unfixable so while waiting on a tow truck I called the General to get a quote for the other car. The process was simple and I didn't have to wait to speak to a representative. I gave all the required information and had a reasonable quote from the representative in less than 20 minutes. I made th...
My car broke down on my way to work and I had just purchased another car but did not have insurance, tags, or taxes paid yet. The car the broke down was unfixable so while waiting on a tow truck I called the General to get a quote for the other car. The process was simple and I didn't have to wait to speak to a representative. I gave all the required information and had a reasonable quote from the representative in less than 20 minutes. I made the payment over the phone and bam the car was insured before the tow truck arrived. the quote was cheaper than I thought and the monthly payments were reasonable. When I turned down roadside assistance and life insurance the representative was not pushy. I would 100% recommend The General car insurance.
5
March 17, 2021

mcgowanjr60_henry_yahoo_com

The Lion of the Jungle

I’m just gonna be honest I don’t think there is a better company out there that can completely understand what you need and offer you simply a caring agent and just what need and nothing more except a perfect price to match only the General
5
February 26, 2021

Bentot

Lower monthly rate

This is the only insurance company can lower my monthly premium compare to all insurance company. Like others general easy to deal with.
1
January 17, 2021

Junglezx_3

High Insurance

Their price was very high. We shopped around for other insurance after a month and the price increased.
4
January 8, 2021

bwaryasz2012

You get what you buy!

This was a relatively easy purchase to make, I would really give them 4.8 stars however the review platform wouldn't let me do that so I was forced to go slightly lesser. Let's talk about the why? The big issue, I have multiple cars that I wanted to list on the policy and quote and it only accepted and applied for one of the vehicles. When I logged into the app it linked to my old policy only telling me that it couldn't link my new policy, whic...
This was a relatively easy purchase to make, I would really give them 4.8 stars however the review platform wouldn't let me do that so I was forced to go slightly lesser. Let's talk about the why? The big issue, I have multiple cars that I wanted to list on the policy and quote and it only accepted and applied for one of the vehicles. When I logged into the app it linked to my old policy only telling me that it couldn't link my new policy, which meant having to call in and have the entire profile reset and redoing the process all again. Mind you my insurance was still good. (loss of 1/5 star) Then when my app was fully set up and ready to go again I can't add the other vehicle to the policy as a means of simplifying the bill. When I attempted to contact the company the virtual assistant wouldn't transfer me to a real agent and didn't have the ability to understand my request. (loss of 1/5 star)
5
January 7, 2021

goog39826_

Thank you for great service!

I am very pleased with my Geico premium. Out of ALL the 12 quotes I received Geico was by far the best. I searched for several days and I could not find any better rate then Geico.. What I think is even better is that it was all done without talking to anyone on the phone. Thank you Geico
3
January 7, 2021

Jessbell19

Poor customer service

Poor customer service while reviewing terms and conditions of policy. Lack of knowledge of the policy changes and updates.
1
December 29, 2020

counterstrike1911

The general will generally treat you like crap and rip u off

The General had horrible customer service and treated me like crap after having to file 2 claims on 2 accidents one of which was not my fault and was a tiny paint scuff. And they then doubled my rates and continued to make paperwork for the claims take months it took me over 2 months to get my car back from the shop and the repair shop said they had spent months not being able to work on the car till they got the go ahead from the general. All in...
The General had horrible customer service and treated me like crap after having to file 2 claims on 2 accidents one of which was not my fault and was a tiny paint scuff. And they then doubled my rates and continued to make paperwork for the claims take months it took me over 2 months to get my car back from the shop and the repair shop said they had spent months not being able to work on the car till they got the go ahead from the general. All in all they were the worst insurance company ever!
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.usinsuranceagents.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption