What are the car registration fees by state?

Car registration fees by state vary. For example, Oregon's vehicle registration cost can reach up to $636.50, but registration fees in Arizona are $8. If you're a new driver, you'll have driver's license fees to pay at your local DMV. Once you have your car registration, start shopping and comparing multiple insurance companies to get the best deal on car insurance rates.

Free Insurance Comparison

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Chris Tepedino is a feature writer that has written extensively about home, life, and car insurance for numerous websites. He has a college degree in communication from the University of Tennessee and has experience reporting, researching investigative pieces, and crafting detailed, data-driven features. His works have been featured on CB Blog Nation, Flow Words, Healing Law, WIBW Kansas, and C...

Full Bio →

Written by

Laura Walker graduated college with a BS in Criminal Justice with a minor in Political Science. She married her husband and began working in the family insurance business in 2005. She became a licensed agent and wrote P&C business focusing on personal lines insurance for 10 years. Laura serviced existing business and wrote new business. She now uses her insurance background to help educate...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Laura Walker
Former Licensed Agent

UPDATED: Dec 29, 2021

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.

The Rundown

  • Car registration fees vary for each state
  • Your car insurance information must match the address of vehicle registration
  • Driver service fees are separate from car registration

Your vehicle registration fees depend on where you live. Some states have car registration fees of less than $50. However, some states in the nation have car registration fees over $100.

What are the highest car registration fees by the state? And how much are vehicle registration fees? Don’t worry — we’re here to help.

Our guide shows car registration fees by state and why vehicle registration is essential for car insurance. We’ll also include driver fees for new drivers by state.

Read on to learn all about car registration fees by state. Enter your ZIP code in the free online quote tool above if you’re ready to compare multiple insurance companies near you.

What are the car registration fees by state?

Vehicle registration fees vary. The cost you pay for car registration in Florida is much different than what you pay in Iowa.

Here are the top ten highest car registration fees by state:

  1. Oregon ($268.50 to $636.50))
  2. Florida ($225)
  3. Montana ($217)
  4. Iowa ($196)
  5. Maryland ($135)
  6. Indiana ($101)
  7. Alabama ($100)
  8. Oklahoma ($96)
  9. Connecticut ($88)
  10. California ($86)

But what about other states? Some states have lower vehicle registration fees.

Let’s look at a list of all states in the nation and how much you could pay for car registration fees:

Car Registration Fees by State
StateRegistration Cost
Alabama$100
Alaska$24.25
Arizona$17
Arkansas$8
California$86
ColoradoN/A
Connecticut$88
Delaware$40
Florida$225
Georgia$20
Hawaii$45
IdahoN/A
Illinois$69
Indiana$101
Iowa$196
Kansas$39
Kentucky$25
Louisiana$20
Maine$60
Maryland$135
Massachusetts$35
MichiganN/A
Minnesota$25
Mississippi$18.50
Missouri$29
Montana$217
Nebraska$36
Nevada$49
New Hampshire$23.80
New JerseyN/A
New Mexico$59
New York$27
North Carolina$34
North Dakota$48.50
Ohio$34.50
Oklahoma$96
Oregon$268.50 to $636.50
Pennsylvania$37
Rhode Island$45
South Carolina$40
South Dakota$36
Tennessee$29
Texas$51.75
UtahN/A
Vermont$40.75
Virginia$76
Washington$30
West Virginia$75
Wisconsin$51.50
Wyoming$30
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

Arizona and Arkansas have the cheapest vehicle registration fees. Meanwhile, Oregon and Florida have the most expensive registration costs.

Compare The Best Insurance Quotes In The Country

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Why is car registration so important to insurance companies?

Auto insurance companies require vehicle registration to match your insurance policy. If your car registration doesn’t match the address on the auto insurance policy, you could lose insurance coverage.

Where you live is a determining factor when issuing car insurance rates. Listing a different address on your insurance policy can get you into trouble. But the best insurance companies usually catch this error before issuing a policy to a driver.

How much is car insurance by the state?

According to the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC), the average cost for full coverage insurance is $90 a month. Meanwhile, liability-only insurance is about $48 per month on average.

But what does auto insurance look like for each area in the United States? Let’s review NAIC’s car insurance projects for each state in 2022:

NAIC's Average Monthly Car Insurance Rates by State and Coverage Option
StatesAverage Monthly Liability RatesAverage Monthly Collision RatesAverage Monthly Comprehensive RatesAverage Monthly Full Coverage Rates
Alabama$37$28$14$79
Alaska$47$31$12$90
Arizona$48$25$16$89
Arkansas$36$29$17$82
California$45$36$8$88
Colorado$49$25$17$91
Connecticut$59$32$11$102
Delaware$69$28$11$107
District of Columbia$58$41$19$118
Florida$76$26$11$113
Georgia$55$30$14$98
Hawaii$39$27$9$75
Idaho$32$20$10$62
Illinois$40$27$11$77
Indiana$34$22$11$67
Iowa$27$19$16$62
Kansas$32$23$21$76
Kentucky$47$24$12$83
Louisiana$73$37$19$128
Maine$30$23$9$62
Maryland$55$31$13$100
Massachusetts$52$34$12$98
Michigan$72$37$13$121
Minnesota$39$20$16$76
Mississippi$41$29$18$88
Missouri$38$24$16$79
Montana$34$23$21$77
Nebraska$33$21$20$74
Nevada$64$27$10$100
New Hampshire$35$26$9$70
New Jersey$76$33$11$119
New Mexico$44$24$15$84
New York$71$34$15$120
North Carolina$31$26$11$67
North Dakota$25$22$20$67
Ohio$35$24$10$69
Oklahoma$40$27$20$88
Oregon$53$20$8$81
Pennsylvania$43$29$13$85
Rhode Island$68$36$11$116
South Carolina$50$24$16$89
South Dakota$26$19$24$69
Tennessee$37$27$13$77
Texas$49$33$19$101
Utah$45$23$10$78
Vermont$30$26$11$68
Virginia$38$25$12$74
Washington$53$24$9$86
West Virginia$43$28$18$88
Wisconsin$33$20$12$65
Wyoming$29$24$23$75
*Industry Average$48$29$13$90
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

Liability car insurance is around 53% more affordable than full coverage. But full coverage auto insurance comes with several perks that pay for situations not covered by liability.

How much will my car registration cost as a new driver?

Vehicle registration fees don’t change, but you’ll need to pay for driving services and other related fees at your local DMV. In addition, new drivers who need a driver’s license will need to pay a few more fees.

But how much are driving service fees? Let’s examine the driver’s license cost for each state and see how long your license lasts:

StateDriver's License Cost Years Valid
Alabama$36.254
Alaska$205
Arizona$2512
Arkansas$408
California$335
Colorado$265
Connecticut$727
Delaware$408
Florida$488
Georgia$328
Hawaii$204
Idaho$304
Illinois$304
Indiana$17.506
Iowa$328
Kansas$234
Kentucky$304
Louisiana$32.356
Maine$306
Maryland$725
Massachusetts$854
Michigan$254
Minnesota$35.354
Mississippi$244
Missouri$103
Montana$40.508
Nebraska$21.504
Nevada$42.254
New Hampshire$505
New Jersey$244
New Mexico$184
New York$64.258
North Carolina$408
North Dakota$154
Ohio$234
Oklahoma$38.504
Oregon$35.504
Pennsylvania$38.505
Rhode Island$12.505
South Carolina$285
South Dakota$288
Tennessee$256
Texas$255
Utah$322
Vermont$328
Virginia$896
Washington$405
West Virginia$348
Wisconsin$208
Wyoming$208
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

Virginia and Massachusetts have the most expensive driver’s license fees. Arizona’s driver’s license lasts the longest, but Utah’s driver’s license lasts only two years before you have to renew it.

Do I have to pay a late fee if my car registration is past due?

Yes, you do. The longer you wait to pay your vehicle registration, the higher the fine. There’s a limit to how much your state will charge, but it can cause legal issues the longer you wait.

Can I get a ticket for not paying my car registration?

Yes, you can. If your vehicle registration hasn’t been paid, a police officer may issue a citation for you to appear in court.

You can avoid additional charges if you pay your car registration before you get to court.

How do you pay taxes and car registration at the same time?

It depends on where you live. Usually, drivers pay registration fees every year or every other year, along with car taxes.

Once you’ve paid taxes and registration fees, your state’s DMV will issue a new sticker for your car’s license plate.

Compare The Best Insurance Quotes In The Country

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Car Registration Fees by State: The Bottom Line

Your vehicle registration fee lasts for at least a year. Late registration comes with more costs, and it can cause you to lose your driving privileges.

New drivers may have more out-of-pocket costs with driver’s license fees and other service fees.

You’ll be ready to buy auto insurance after you get your car registration and new driver’s license.

Now that you know more about car registration, use our free comparison tool below to see insurance quotes in your local area.

Free Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption