Montana Car Insurance Regulations & Required Coverage
Montana car insurance regulations require all its drivers to maintain financial responsibility when operating a motor vehicle. Montana auto insurance laws were written in accordance with a tort system. Under this type of system, someone is held at fault for causing an accident and is then held responsible to pay for the damages they caused. Learn more in our free Montana car insurance guide below.
Free Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Jul 16, 2021
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.
Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.
Montana requires all its drivers to maintain financial responsibility when operating a motor vehicle. The most common way of doing this is by getting car insurance coverage. Drivers caught without adequate proof can face stiff penalties and even time in jail. Knowing Montana insurance rules and regulations not only keeps you out of trouble, it can keep you and your passengers protected.
Montana insurance laws were written in accordance to a tort system. Under this type of system, someone is held at fault for causing an accident and is then held responsible (along with their insurer) to pay for the damages they caused. The specifics of a tort system can vary depending on the state.
All personal vehicles in Montana require the following liability coverage requirements:
- Bodily Injury
- Property Damage
|Minimum Montana Car Insurance Requirements|
|Bodily Injury Liability||$25,000 / $50,000 Limit|
|Property Damage Liability||$10,000 Limit|
Additional insurance coverage can include:
- Comprehensive and Collision Coverage
- Uninsured / Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Comprehensive and collision insurance are optional, but very useful to have. Collision will pay to fix your car after it’s been damaged in an accident and comprehensive covers other non-accident related damages. These non-accident incidents can include fire damage, flood damage or even if your vehicle is stolen. We have compiled a list of the most stolen vehicles in Montana to give you an idea if your car is at risk.
Uninsured and underinsured insurance protects you in the event that someone without enough coverage (or any at all) involves you in an accident. If they are found to be at fault but aren’t covered, your insurance company will compensate you for the damages.
Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility
Establishing proof of insurance and financial responsibility
- Get a standard liability car insurance policy
- Post a bond with a state licensed company
- Post cash or securities in the amount of $55,000 with the state Treasurer
- Self insurance – for owners of 26+ vehicles
In order to provide proof of insurance, you can provide one of the following:
- Insurance ID Card
- Certificate of insurance
- Proof of your bond
- Certificate of Deposit showing cash or securities posted with the Treasurer
- Certificate of self insurance
You must maintain proof of insurance and financial responsibility and present it:
- When asked by a police officer
- After an accident
- When registering or renewing your vehicle’s registration
- Anytime you are operating a vehicle
Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility Penalties
If you are unable to show proof of insurance, you can face the following penalties:
- First offense – Fines between $250 and $500 and/or 10 days in jail
- Second offense – Minimum fine of $350 and/or 10 days in jail plus suspension of your registration for 90 days
- Third and subsequent offenses – Minimum fine of $500 and/or 6 months in jail plus suspension of your registration for 180 days
- Fourth and subsequent offenses – In addition to above penalties, your driver’s license will be immediately suspended
- Applicable reinstatement fees
Montana Insurance Agents
Billings Car Insurance | Missoula Car Insurance | Great Falls Car Insurance | Bozeman Car Insurance | Helena Car Insurance | Kalispell Car Insurance | Butte Car Insurance | Columbia Falls Car Insurance | Evergreen Car Insurance | Miles City Car Insurance