Liberty Mutual

This Liberty Mutual review will cover Liberty Mutual ratings by real users for overall satisfaction and claims, cost, billing, and service satisfaction. The Liberty Mutual A.M. Best rating is A, and the Liberty Mutual S&P Rating is A. To compare insurance rates from the best companies in your locale, enter your ZIP code below.

Free Insurance Comparison

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Chris Tepedino is a feature writer that has written extensively about home, life, and car insurance for numerous websites. He has a college degree in communication from the University of Tennessee and has experience reporting, researching investigative pieces, and crafting detailed, data-driven features. His works have been featured on CB Blog Nation, Flow Words, Healing Law, WIBW Kansas, and C...

Full Bio →

Written by Chris Tepedino
Insurance Feature Writer Chris Tepedino

Laura Walker graduated college with a BS in Criminal Justice with a minor in Political Science. She married her husband and began working in the family insurance business in 2005. She became a licensed agent and wrote P&C business focusing on personal lines insurance for 10 years. Laura serviced existing business and wrote new business. She now uses her insurance background to help educate...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Laura Walker
Former Licensed Agent Laura Walker

UPDATED: Nov 19, 2011

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.

Company Details
Address: 175 Berkeley Street
City: Boston
State: MA
ZIP Code: 02117
Phone Number: (617) 357-9500
Fax: (617) 574-5955
AM Best Rating: A
S&P Global Ratings: A
Moody's Rating: A2
Fitch Rating: A-

The Liberty Mutual Insurance Group is among the top 10 insurance companies in the world. The companies employs more than 38,000 employees, owns 4 major subsidiaries and perhaps as many as 34 smaller ones. As an employer, Liberty Mutual is an impressive corporation. From it’s beginnings as a workers compensation insurance firm, Liberty Mutual has grown to become one of the most influential insurance companies to be found.

Reviews
for Liberty Mutual Insurance

3.96 (3,585 reviews)
5
November 9, 2021

LaLaDoom

Helpful and Awesome

Liberty Mutual has been amazing to work with. I got into an accident earlier this year and they were quick and honest with their help.
5
May 24, 2021

Ahendricks1018_

[NAME REDACTED] is awesome!

[NAME REDACTED] is amazing, I was previously with progressive and he found a way to get me more coverage and have it be less than my single policy! Marvelous customer service, you can tell he genuinely cares about his clients. Very knowledgeable about coverages. All around a great work. Definitely beyond satisfied with my experience!
5
April 16, 2021

Jon_Wentworth

Best Choice for a carrier

Wonderful experience. They make insurance simple and understandable. It is a plus that I can carry all my policies under one roof, even my Life Insurance.
1
April 16, 2021

SahiLuke

Highway Robbery!

Very sneaky company policy. My policy was approximately 90 dollars and then they charged 285 Plus. When I called to cancel, they wanted an additional 90 dollars! Who are the robbers? They go into your bank account and take money without even as much as a phone call! Totally disappointed with them. Would give it zero stars if I could!
5
January 29, 2021

Safety

Top notch service

[REDACTED NAME] was very helpful. He was able to assist me in further discounts on my insurance. With the program he get me into, I'll be able to save an additional 10%.
5
January 17, 2021

Bb84636185_

Liberty Mutual

At Liberty Mutual, the health and well-being of our employees, customers, partners and the communities where we live and work are our primary concern during the global coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic.
2
January 13, 2021

Davey_B

OVERpay for what you need

Liberty Mutual tried to charge me $2,300+ to insure my two autos. Last year they charged me around $1,500. The autos are both a year older now. The Hartford insured both autos for $900 for a year, the same term as Liberty Biberty. They should change the commercials to, "OVERpay for what you need."
5
January 13, 2021

SwagBucksBrit

I would highly recommend Liberty Mutual

Liberty Mutual is a transparent, flexible, and innovative insurance company. I have had an auto policy with them for well over 10 years. During that time, I can not think of any negative experiences. They have always treated me with professional courtesy and respect as a customer. Liberty Mutual has also been flexible with payments in times of need (pandemic). I plan on continuing my service with them for years to come. I love the fact that they ...
Liberty Mutual is a transparent, flexible, and innovative insurance company. I have had an auto policy with them for well over 10 years. During that time, I can not think of any negative experiences. They have always treated me with professional courtesy and respect as a customer. Liberty Mutual has also been flexible with payments in times of need (pandemic). I plan on continuing my service with them for years to come. I love the fact that they are affordable, competent, and they care about their customers.
2
January 12, 2021

RA2224

Better choices out there

I have been with Liberty Mutual for my home and auto insurance for many years and have had no issues with them as an insurance provider. That being said I recently just switched to another company out of necessity as the new company was much cheaper for my new car. I then learned that Liberty Mutual charges you a penalty for leaving a policy “early” and on top of that they leave you know way to pay that penalty online once the account is clos...
I have been with Liberty Mutual for my home and auto insurance for many years and have had no issues with them as an insurance provider. That being said I recently just switched to another company out of necessity as the new company was much cheaper for my new car. I then learned that Liberty Mutual charges you a penalty for leaving a policy “early” and on top of that they leave you know way to pay that penalty online once the account is closed. I was paid ahead and they claim I owe them money due to the penalty. With so many insurance companies out there is no need to deal with this. Please be aware of this upfront when researching companies.
5
January 10, 2021

Daniel_T__Adam

INCREDIBLE insurance

Liberty Mutual was great and still is great. They had great affordable policies and great customer service.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.usinsuranceagents.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption