USAA Insurance Review & Ratings (2024)

USAA car insurance offers numerous advantages, including budget-friendly rates catering to young drivers and individuals with a DUI. Read our USAA home and car insurance review, where we highlight the company's A++ rating by A.M. Best and AA+ rating by S&P for high customer service and satisfaction ratings.

UPDATED: Jan 22, 2024Fact Checked

Laura Walker

Former Licensed Agent

Laura Walker graduated college with a BS in Criminal Justice with a minor in Political Science. She married her husband and began working in the family insurance business in 2005. She became a licensed agent and wrote P&C business focusing on personal lines insurance for 10 years. Laura serviced existing business and wrote new business. She now uses her insurance background to help educate...

Former Licensed Agent

Justin Wright

Licensed Insurance Agent

Justin Wright has been a licensed insurance broker for over 9 years. After graduating from Southeastern Seminary with a Masters in Philosophy, Justin started his career as a professor, teaching Philosophy and Ethics. Later, Justin obtained both his Property & Casualty license and his Life and Health license and began working for State Farm and Allstate. In 2020, Justin began working as an i...

Licensed Insurance Agent

UPDATED: Jan 22, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.

UPDATED: Jan 22, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Jan 22, 2024Fact Checked
4.7
usinsuranceagents.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

USAA Insurance

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$63

A.M. Best rating:

A+ (Superior)

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Rates are lower than the national average
  • Customer complaints for home insurance are generally low
  • USAA includes many free coverage options in standard policies

Cons

  • Fewer coverage options compared to competitors
  • Few discounts
  • USAA doesn’t write flood insurance and windstorm coverage options

Final Verdict: Review of USAA Insurance

USAA is an excellent choice for active or retired military members and their families, especially car insurance. While its home insurance isn’t as affordable, it offers valuable coverage. With its affordability and overall customer satisfaction, USAA is a good choice regardless of your circumstances.

While its home insurance isn’t as affordable, it offers valuable coverage. While USAA homeowners insurance is specifically tailored to military members, its benefits and discounts make it a compelling choice for those who qualify. Whether you are a first-time homeowner or looking to switch insurers, USAA is worth considering for your homeowners insurance needs.

With a solid reputation, exceptional customer service, and a wide range of coverage options, USAA strives to provide its policyholders with the protection and peace of mind they deserve.

You should still research your options even if you’re eligible for USAA membership. Comparing quotes with as many companies as possible is the best way to find affordable insurance prices.

What You Should Know About USAA

USAA is short for United Services Automobile Association, and the name tells you a lot about the company. Where other insurance companies accept military employees, USAA only insures people who belong to the United States Military. They are listed in the Forbes 500 at 189 for revenue and 78th for total assets. The company has more than 113 billion dollars in assets and has written insurance policies totaling more than 9.1 billion dollars in 2006.

We appreciate you choosing to go through our in-depth analysis of USAA Home and Car Insurance. If you’re seeking trustworthy and affordable insurance for your home and car, you’ve come to the perfect place.

  • Has an A++ rating by AM Best and an AA+ by S&P.
  • Superior customer service and ratings.
  • Offers various discounts, such as safe driver and good student.

Whether you own a home or a car, this article will look at the key features, available levels of coverage, price, and customer reviews of USAA Home and Car Insurance. You can compare quotes from the best insurance providers in your area by entering your zip code below.

USAA’s Legacy: Serving the Military Community Since 1922

Founded in 1922, USAA, or United Services Automobile Association, has a storied history rooted in its exclusive commitment to serving the U.S. military community. Established by Army officers facing insurance challenges, USAA has grown into a leading insurer with a focus on active or retired military members and their families.

With top-notch financial ratings from AM Best and S&P, USAA’s century-long legacy underscores its commitment to delivering exceptional and tailored insurance solutions to its esteemed members.

USAA Insurance Coverage Options

As a major insurance company, USAA sells everything you need to meet your state’s minimum insurance requirements and full coverage.

USAA basics include:

  • Liability. Liability pays for damage you cause to other drivers and their property in an accident. It doesn’t protect your car, but most states require you to carry a minimum amount.
  • Collision. If you want your insurance to pay for repairs to your car regardless of fault, you need collision insurance.
  • Comprehensive. There’s a lot more that can damage your car than accidents. Comprehensive insurance protects against fire, weather, theft, vandalism, and animal contact.
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist. While most states require insurance, not all drivers follow the law. This insurance covers you if a driver with inadequate insurance hits you.
  • Personal injury protection. Personal injury protection insurance covers medical bills for you and your passengers after an accident. Some states sell medical payments insurance instead.

These are your basic options for car insurance, and they offer a relatively complete package to protect your car. However, USAA offers a few add-ons if you wish to increase the coverage in your policy, including:

  • Rental car reimbursement. If your car gets stuck in the shop after a covered incident, this coverage pays for your rental car.
  • Rideshare. People who drive for Uber or Lyft need extra protection for their vehicles. This add-on extends insurance to your working hours.
  • Roadside assistance. USAA’s roadside assistance coverage will come to the rescue if you get stranded with a flat tire, dead battery, or other emergencies.

It’s not the longest list of optional coverages, but a USAA policy can give you solid protection on the road. As a bonus, USAA is often the cheapest option on the market.

What types of home insurance does USAA sell?

No state requires a homeowners insurance policy, but you might need it if you don’t own your house outright. However, having home insurance is always a good idea. For military members and their families, USAA offers affordable home insurance rates.

USAA offers the following options for homeowners insurance:

  • Dwelling coverage. Dwelling coverage protects your home’s physical structure from weather, fire, and vandalism. It also covers attached structures like decks or porches.
  • Detached structure. If you have structures that aren’t attached to your home, you’ll need this insurance to protect them from damage.
  • Personal liability. If a visitor gets injured on your property and you’re found legally responsible, personal liability helps pay for any lawsuits against you.
  • Personal property. There’s more to your home than the walls and roof. Personal property coverage replaces personal items like furniture, appliances, and clothing.
  • Loss of use. If damages make your home unlivable, USAA will pay for living expenses like hotel rooms and dining at restaurants.
  • Replacement cost. This add-on ignores depreciation on items in your home and pays full price to replace them. USAA includes this add-on in every standard homeowners policy.
  • Identity theft. USAA covers up to $5,000 for restoration expenses if someone steals your identity. Identity theft coverage is unavailable in North Carolina.
  • Military uniforms. If your uniform gets destroyed or stolen in a covered event, USAA will replace it without charging a deductible.

Besides these basic coverage options, USAA also offers earthquake insurance and home-sharing coverage. Earthquake coverage is a good option for people who live in risky zones, while home-sharing insurance protects you if you use your home for short-term rentals.

Detailed Analysis of USAA Homeowners Insurance Policies

Now, let’s take a closer look at the different aspects of USAA homeowners insurance policies.

When it comes to protecting your home and belongings, USAA offers comprehensive coverage options that go beyond the standard homeowners insurance policy.

Standard Homeowners Insurance Policy

The standard homeowners insurance policy offered by USAA covers your dwelling, other structures on your property, personal belongings, and liability in case someone gets injured on your property. This means that not only is your home protected, but also any detached structures such as a garage or shed.

When it comes to personal belongings, USAA provides coverage for replacement cost, ensuring that you can rebuild your home and replace your belongings with brand new items, without depreciation. This is a valuable feature, as it means that in the event of a covered loss, you won’t have to settle for older or used items.

USAA also understands that unexpected events can leave you temporarily displaced from your home. That’s why they offer additional living expenses coverage, which will help cover the cost of temporary accommodations if your home becomes uninhabitable due to a covered event. This means that you won’t have to worry about finding a place to stay or the financial burden of unexpected housing costs.

Optional Add-Ons and Special Coverages

In addition to the standard coverage, USAA homeowners insurance offers several optional add-ons and special coverages that allow you to customize your policy to fit your specific needs.

One notable add-on is the personal property coverage, which provides protection for your belongings both inside and outside your home. This coverage is particularly valuable if you have expensive items such as jewelry, artwork, or collectibles that require additional protection. With this add-on, you can have peace of mind knowing that your valuable possessions are safeguarded.

USAA also understands the growing threat of identity theft in today’s digital age. That’s why they offer special coverages such as identity theft coverage, which helps protect you against the financial consequences of identity theft. This coverage assists with expenses related to credit monitoring, legal fees, and restoring your identity. In a time where personal information is increasingly vulnerable, having this coverage can provide an extra layer of security and peace of mind.

Furthermore, USAA offers additional optional coverages such as earthquake coverage, which can be particularly important if you live in an area prone to seismic activity. This coverage can help protect your home and belongings in the event of an earthquake, providing you with the necessary financial support to recover and rebuild.

Overall, USAA homeowners insurance policies offer comprehensive coverage options that go beyond the standard policy. With additional add-ons and special coverages, you can tailor your policy to meet your specific needs and have the peace of mind knowing that you are protected in various scenarios.

Pros and Cons of USAA Homeowners Insurance

Now, let’s examine the pros and cons of USAA homeowners insurance, enabling you to make an informed decision.

Advantages of Choosing USAA

There are numerous advantages to choosing USAA homeowners insurance:

  • Excellent customer service: USAA is renowned for its exceptional customer service and dedication to its policyholders.
  • Strong financial standing: With a solid financial foundation, USAA can fulfill its obligations to policyholders and provide the necessary financial support when needed.
  • Wide range of coverage options: USAA offers comprehensive coverage and a variety of add-ons to ensure that you have the protection you need.
  • Discounts and savings: USAA provides various discounts, allowing policyholders to save on their premiums.

Potential Drawbacks

While USAA homeowners insurance has many advantages, there are a few potential drawbacks to consider:

  • Membership requirements: To be eligible for USAA homeowners insurance, you must be an active or retired military member, a qualifying family member, or a veteran with an honorable discharge.
  • Limited availability: USAA is only available to military members and their families, which means that not everyone has access to their policies.

Considering the unique benefits and limitations of USAA homeowners insurance, it’s essential to evaluate if it is the right fit for your specific needs.

Compare The Best Insurance Quotes In The Country

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

USAA Insurance Rates Breakdown

USAA has a reputation for excellent customer service, fast claims handling, and affordable rates. Rates are so affordable with USAA that they’re often the cheapest option on the market.

Most insurance companies offer lower rates for specific demographics, while prices are higher for other situations. However, USAA tends to be one of the most affordable options for everyone.

You can explore how much USAA car insurance rates are in various situations below, but keep in mind that the prices you see might be different.

USAA Car Insurance Rates by Coverage

Most states require a minimum amount of car insurance before you can legally drive or register your car. Commonly, states require liability insurance, but some also require uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, personal injury protection, or medical payments coverage.

Minimum insurance is your cheapest option when you need to keep your rates down. However, it doesn’t offer the best coverage for your car. You’ll need full coverage insurance to protect it from just about anything the road can throw at it.

Minimum Coverage Annual Rates for the Top 10 Auto Insurance Companies
Insurance CompanyAverage Minimum Coverage Rates
Allstate$605
American Family$582
Farmers$674
Geico$290
Liberty Mutual$771
Nationwide$588
Progressive$484
State Farm$408
Travelers$471
USAA$238
Average$541

Full coverage includes liability, comprehensive, collision, uninsured/underinsured motorist, and medical payments or personal injury protection insurance. While no state requires it, you’ll probably need full coverage if you have a loan or lease on your car.

Full Coverage Annual Rates for the Top 10 Auto Insurance Companies
Insurance CompanyAverage Full Coverage Rates
Allstate$1,993
American Family$1,386
Farmers$1,674
Geico$984
Liberty Mutual$2,120
Nationwide$1,445
Progressive$1,310
State Farm$1,091
Travelers$1,287
USAA$753
Average$1,477

USAA often offers the lowest rates for both minimum insurance and full coverage. 

USAA’s rates are usually the cheapest in each state, regardless of other factors. For example, minimum insurance in Florida with USAA is about $33 a month. You’ll pay much more at other companies, with the most expensive option being Progressive at $130 a month.

USAA Car Insurance Rates by Age

Age is a crucial factor in your car insurance rates, with young drivers seeing some of the highest prices for any demographic.

Car insurance companies are often wary of young drivers as they’re more likely to file a claim, engage in reckless behaviors, and cause accidents. However, once you establish a driving history, your rates will drop if you keep your record clean.

Although its rates are lower than the national average for every age group, young drivers can particularly save with USAA. For example, the average 17-year-old male can save about $190 a month by choosing USAA insurance.

USAA Car Insurance Rates by Credit Score

Another important factor in your car insurance rates is your credit score. Unless you live in Hawaii, California, or Massachusetts, car insurance companies can check your credit score before offering you a quote.

Insurance companies consider low credit scores risky for two reasons. First, companies consider people with higher scores more likely to pay their bills on time. Second, people with lower scores are statistically more likely to file claims.

Drivers with low credit scores typically pay 60% more for car insurance than people with higher scores, although some companies are less forgiving than others. Car insurance for people with bad credit can be tricky, but you can check how your credit score might affect your USAA rates below.

Average Annual Auto Insurance Rates by Credit Rating
Insurance CompanyRates with Poor CreditRates with Fair CreditRates with Good Credit
American Family$2,432$1,635$1,386
Farmers$3,233$1,926$1,674
Geico$1,781$1,197$984
Liberty Mutual$4,256$2,712$2,120
Nationwide$1,988$1,595$1,445
Progressive$2,471$1,655$1,310
State Farm$2,398$1,411$1,091
Travelers$2,323$1,534$1,287
USAA$1,545$910$753
Allstate$3,551$2,362$1,993
Average$2,715$1,781$1,477

The national average insurance rate for low credit drivers is about $230 a month. USAA is significantly cheaper, with an average rate of $155. Only Geico and Nationwide offer lower average rates for people with low credit scores.

Although you’ll see higher rates when your credit score is low, you won’t be stuck with high rates forever. If you increase your credit score, your rates will drop.

USAA Car Insurance Rates After a Traffic Incident

Crafting car insurance rates is about predicting risk — the more likely you are to file a claim, the more an insurance company will charge you for coverage. Your driving record is one of the most predictive ways to determine your chance of filing future claims.

People with serious or repeat incidents on their record pay much more for insurance because they’re statistically more likely to be involved in future traffic violations. 

Annual Rates for the Top Auto Insurance Companies for Drivers with a Single Accident
Insurance CompanyRates with an AccidentRates with a Clean Record
Allstate$2,848$1,993
American Family$2,000$1,386
Farmers$2,383$1,674
Geico$1,595$984
Liberty Mutual$2,840$2,120
Nationwide$1,983$1,445
Progressive$2,284$1,310
State Farm$1,285$1,091
Travelers$1,888$1,287
USAA$996$753
Average$2,123$1,477

Incidents like a DUI or an at-fault accident impact your rates the most, but even minor tickets can increase your insurance bill.

USAA is generally one of the cheapest options when you have something on your record, but you can check how much you might pay below.

Annual Rates for the Top Auto Insurance Companies for Drivers with a Traffic Ticket
Insurance CompanyRates with a TicketRates with a Clean Record
Allstate$2,342$1,993
American Family$1,571$1,386
Farmers$2,108$1,674
Geico$1,282$984
Liberty Mutual$2,600$2,120
Nationwide$1,737$1,445
Progressive$1,710$1,310
State Farm$1,227$1,091
Travelers$1,780$1,287
USAA$859$753
Average$1,818$1,477

As you can see, USAA offers affordable rates after most violations. However, even USAA won’t insure every driver — if you have multiple DUIs or other severe infractions, you might have to look for high-risk insurance instead.

Annual Rates for the Top Auto Insurance Companies for Drivers with a DUI
Insurance CompanyRates with a DUIRates with a Clean Record
Allstate$3,638$1,993
American Family$2,124$1,386
Farmers$2,296$1,674
Geico$2,566$984
Liberty Mutual$3,900$2,120
Nationwide$3,028$1,445
Progressive$1,760$1,310
State Farm$1,490$1,091
Travelers$2,765$1,287
USAA$1,335$753
Average$2,619$1,477

While rates are higher with incidents on your driving record, you won’t be stuck with high prices forever. Your rates will eventually lower if you avoid additional infractions. It takes about three years for at-fault accidents and speeding tickets to fall off your record, while DUIs take about seven.

How much does USAA home insurance cost?

While USAA is often the cheapest option for car insurance, other home insurance companies might offer lower prices. USAA is usually more affordable than the national average, but only barely.

As you can see, Allstate and State Farm typically offer lower prices than USAA. However, you might find that USAA has the most affordable rates for your unique needs — the best way to find out is to compare quotes.

Factors Affecting the USAA Homeowners Insurance Premium

USAA takes several factors into account when determining the cost of your homeowners insurance premium. These factors include:

  • Location of your home: The geographical location of your home plays a significant role in determining the insurance premium. Factors such as the proximity to natural disaster-prone areas, crime rates in the neighborhood, and the overall safety of the area impact the premium.
  • Age of your home: The age of your home affects the insurance premium as older homes may have a higher risk of certain issues like plumbing or electrical problems.
  • Construction materials: The type of construction materials used in your home can affect the premium. Homes made with fire-resistant materials may qualify for lower premiums.
  • Level of coverage: The extent of coverage you choose for your home also influences the premium. Opting for higher coverage limits will result in a higher premium.

It’s important to note that USAA provides multiple discounts to help lower your premium, making their policies more affordable for policyholders.

USAA Discounts Available

Car insurance companies offer discounts to help you save money, and USAA car insurance discounts feature an excellent selection.

Availability varies by state, but you might qualify for the following:

  • Safe driver. You can earn a significant discount if you avoid traffic incidents for five years.
  • Policy bundling. USAA offers much more than car insurance — you’ll earn a discount if you buy multiple policies.
  • Defensive driver. USAA rewards drivers for taking a defensive driving class with a discount.
  • Good student. Full-time students under 25 can save money on their insurance by maintaining a 3.0 GPA.
  • New vehicle. You’ll earn a small discount if you sign your brand new vehicle up for insurance.
  • Driver education. If you take a general driver’s education class, you’ll save on your policy.
  • Multi-vehicle. Households with more than one vehicle can save money by adding them to the same policy.
  • Low-mileage. USAA charges less for insurance if you drive fewer than 12,000 miles annually.
  • Loyalty. You can save money simply by maintaining your USAA policy.
  • Vehicle in storage. Made with active duty military members in mind, USAA lowers your rates significantly when you leave your car in storage. You’ll earn a bigger discount if you store your vehicle on a military base.
  • Family. You’ll earn a discount if you split off a USAA family policy and start your own.
  • Pay in full. If you skip the monthly payments and pay for your entire policy at once, you’ll save a small amount.

When you apply for a USAA car insurance policy, a representative will comb through your details and ensure you get every eligible discount. If these discounts aren’t enough to lower your bill to where you want it, you can also try USAA’s usage-based insurance program SafePilot.

What is USAA’s SafePilot?

Today, most insurance companies offer usage-based insurance programs. For example, USAA’s SafePilot program tracks your driving habits to lower your rates. The safer you drive, the more you’ll save.

Everyone gets 10% off their insurance for signing up. You can save up to 20% more if you maintain safe driving habits.

SafePilot tracks the following behaviors:

  • Touching your phone
  • Making hands-free phone calls
  • Harsh braking
  • Speeding
  • What time you drive
  • Swerving
  • Mileage

While you can save money with SafePilot, it’s not the best telematics program on the market. Most other usage-based programs don’t penalize you for making hands-free phone calls. Additionally, many users complain that the app struggles to differentiate between when you’re the driver or a passenger.

SafePilot is only available in 37 states, so you’ll need to check if you live in an eligible area.

What discounts does USAA offer for home insurance?

Compared to other major home insurance companies, USAA doesn’t have a long list of home insurance discounts. However, it offers a few ways to save:

  • Policy bundling. You can earn up to 10% off your monthly bill if you also have USAA car insurance.
  • Home security. USAA provides credits to help make ADT security systems more affordable.
  • Smart home. Earn a discount by installing certain smart-home features.
  • Claims-free. If you go five years without making a claim, USAA will reward you with a 10% discount.

It might not be the longest list of add-ons, but USAA’s partnership with ADT provides a valuable opportunity to install security in your home.

USAA Effortless Claims Process

Ease of Filing a Claim

USAA makes filing a claim a straightforward process, offering multiple convenient methods for policyholders to report their claims. Customers can file claims online through the company’s website, over the phone by speaking with a claims representative, or even via the USAA mobile app.

This flexibility ensures that policyholders can choose the method that suits them best, whether they prefer the convenience of digital channels or a more personalized interaction over the phone.

Average Claim Processing Time

USAA is known for its efficient and prompt claims processing. On average, the company processes claims quickly, allowing policyholders to receive the compensation they need in a timely manner. The exact processing time can vary depending on the nature and complexity of the claim, but USAA’s commitment to speedy resolutions is a key advantage for its customers.

Customer Feedback on Claim Resolutions and Payouts

Customer feedback is a valuable indicator of an insurance company’s performance in handling claims. USAA consistently receives positive feedback for its claim resolutions and payouts. Policyholders often express satisfaction with the fairness and efficiency of the claims process, highlighting USAA’s commitment to providing excellent customer service even during challenging times.

Exploring USAA Digital and Technological Advancements

Mobile App Features and Functionality

The USAA mobile app offers a comprehensive set of features and functionalities designed to enhance the overall customer experience. Policyholders can easily manage their insurance policies, view and pay bills, access digital ID cards, and report claims directly through the app.

Additionally, the app provides tools for tracking finances, monitoring credit scores, and even offers safe driving features that can lead to potential discounts on premiums.

Online Account Management Capabilities

USAA’s online account management portal is user-friendly and robust, allowing policyholders to access and manage their insurance policies with ease. Through the portal, customers can review policy details, make policy changes, request quotes, and view important documents.

The online account management system ensures that policyholders have convenient and secure access to their insurance information whenever they need it.

Digital Tools and Resources

USAA offers a range of digital tools and resources to help policyholders make informed decisions about their insurance coverage. These tools include calculators for estimating insurance needs, educational resources to understand different types of coverage, and guides on how to navigate the claims process effectively. These digital resources empower customers to take control of their insurance and financial well-being.

How USAA Ranks Among Providers

USAA (United Services Automobile Association) primarily targets active or retired military members and their families. The company is known for offering car insurance, home insurance, and various other insurance products.

Competitors:

  • Geico: A prominent competitor known for its diverse insurance offerings, including auto, home, and renters insurance. It distinguishes itself through competitive rates and widespread advertising efforts, attracting a broad customer base that includes military members.
  • State Farm: A major insurance provider in the U.S., stands out for offering a comprehensive range of insurance products, including auto, home, life, and health insurance. It is recognized for its agent-based approach, providing personalized services to its customers.
  • Allstate: Known for its extensive network of agents and a strong advertising presence. Offering a variety of insurance products, including auto, home, and renters insurance, Allstate provides additional value through a range of discounts available to policyholders.
  • Progressive: Focuses on auto insurance and is recognized for its innovative use of technology, along with competitive rates. Its appeal extends to a diverse customer base, making it a notable player in the insurance market.

USAA stands out for its commitment to serving military members, backed by strong financial stability. However, its limited eligibility criteria and product offerings may restrict its market potential. To remain competitive, USAA could consider strategic initiatives such as expanding eligibility and diversifying its insurance product portfolio. Additionally, addressing potential weaknesses and staying abreast of industry trends will be crucial for long-term success.

Is USAA a good company?

Generally speaking, USAA is an excellent insurance company. Most customers plan to renew their policies with USAA, and overall satisfaction rates are high.

Although looking at USAA car insurance and USAA home insurance reviews from customers is an excellent way to learn about the company, you should start with third-party ratings. By looking at third-party ratings, you can learn about a company’s financial strength, customer satisfaction, and ability to resolve complaints.

To start, A.M. Best rates companies by their financial strength, an essential aspect of insurance. The higher the A.M. Best rating, the more likely a company can pay future claims. A.M. Best gives USAA an A++, the highest rating available.

Another important rating to look at comes from the National Association of Insurance Commissioners, which creates ratings based on a company’s complaints compared to its size.

The national average is 1.0 — anything higher means the company gets more complaints than usual. USAA sits at 1.95, meaning it nearly doubles the national rate.

While USAA gets more complaints, it does remarkably well in the J.D. Power study of overall customer satisfaction. USAA doesn’t technically get a rating due to its membership restrictions, but J.D. Power reports it as one of the best insurance companies on the market.

Does USAA sell other insurance types?

USAA offers various insurance products to help you insure everything important in your life.

With USAA, you can purchase the following policies:

  • Motorcycle/ATV/UTV
  • Boat
  • Classic car
  • Mobile home/renters/condo/motorhome
  • Landlord
  • Valuable personal property/collectibles
  • Personal or business umbrella
  • Life/annuity
  • Health/Medicare
  • Farm/ranch
  • Small business
  • Commercial auto
  • Dental/vision
  • Pet
  • Travel
  • Aviation
  • Bicycle

USAA also provides banking services, investment management, and retirement planning advice. If you qualify, USAA offers an excellent selection of money management services that can help you at any stage in life.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is USAA a good insurance company?

Yes, USAA is a good insurance company, regardless of the policy type you need. USAA receives solid ratings for financial stability, customer satisfaction, and claims handling. The only reason USAA doesn’t appear in lists of the top insurance companies is its strict membership requirements.

Are USAA insurance rates affordable?

USAA rates are typically some of the cheapest on the market, especially car insurance. USAA often has low average rates for various demographics, but you should remember that your specific rate depends on your unique factors.

What are the key features of USAA homeowners insurance?

The key features of USAA homeowners insurance include coverage for dwelling and other structures, personal property protection, liability coverage, additional living expenses, and various optional coverages such as earthquake and flood insurance.

 

The policy also offers discounts for security systems, bundling with other USAA policies, and claims-free history.

Who is eligible for USAA insurance?

Although many people would love to apply for insurance from USAA, the company has strict membership requirements. Only active or retired military members and their families are eligible for USAA coverage.

Does USAA offer flood insurance?

While you can technically purchase flood insurance for your USAA home policy, USAA doesn’t write it. Instead, USAA helps homeowners apply for flood coverage through the National Flood Insurance Program.

How do you buy USAA car or home insurance?

You have several options to purchase USAA insurance. The first and easiest is to get a quote and apply online. You can also call and speak with a representative or visit the nearest local office.

Does USAA home insurance cover dog bites?

The liability portion of your home insurance may cover dog bites, but you should check with USAA before an incident. Your dog might not be covered if it has a history of aggression.

Does USAA cover mobile or manufactured homes?

You can buy a mobile or manufactured home policy through USAA, but its partner, Foremost, will write it. USAA partners with other insurance companies to provide its customers with the largest selection of insurance products possible.

What are the pros and cons of USAA homeowners insurance?

The pros of USAA homeowners insurance include excellent customer service, competitive pricing, extensive coverage options, and special benefits for military members.

 

On the other hand, some potential cons may include limited availability only to military members and their families, potential higher rates for certain areas prone to natural disasters, and occasional delays in claims processing.

Does USAA homeowners insurance provide coverage for military deployment?

Yes, USAA homeowners insurance provides coverage for military deployment. They offer a deployment discount and special provisions to ensure your home is protected while you are away serving in the military. It’s recommended to review your policy and contact USAA directly for specific details regarding coverage during deployment.

Does USAA offer auto insurance for non-military members?

No, USAA primarily offers auto insurance to active and retired military members, veterans, and their immediate family members. However, there may be certain exceptions for non-military members who have a close relationship with USAA members, such as spouses and children.

 

It’s best to contact USAA directly or review their eligibility requirements for the most accurate and up-to-date information.

How can I find a local agent for auto insurance from USAA?

To find a local agent for auto insurance from USAA, you can visit the USAA website, call their customer service hotline, or use their online agent locator tool. These resources will help you locate a nearby USAA agent who can assist you with your auto insurance needs.

Compare The Best Insurance Quotes In The Country

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Laura Walker

Former Licensed Agent

Laura Walker graduated college with a BS in Criminal Justice with a minor in Political Science. She married her husband and began working in the family insurance business in 2005. She became a licensed agent and wrote P&C business focusing on personal lines insurance for 10 years. Laura serviced existing business and wrote new business. She now uses her insurance background to help educate...

Former Licensed Agent

Justin Wright

Licensed Insurance Agent

Justin Wright has been a licensed insurance broker for over 9 years. After graduating from Southeastern Seminary with a Masters in Philosophy, Justin started his career as a professor, teaching Philosophy and Ethics. Later, Justin obtained both his Property & Casualty license and his Life and Health license and began working for State Farm and Allstate. In 2020, Justin began working as an i...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.

Reviews
for USAA

4.72 (6,432 reviews)
1
January 19, 2024

Poteattony

Usaa not so great anymore

These guys dropped me based on my adult daughters driving record even thought my wife and i have a perfect driving record and will not renew or communicate even though both daughters are adults and are moved out of my home! Thanks for looking our for your vets usaa! Ive been a member and have had insurance banking etc with them for 14 yrs but im out now! Theses guys really do not have any loyalty
1
December 21, 2023

ioam

Customer service got bad

I have been a member with USAA for nearly 10 years now. I have received exceptional service in the past, but recently I am very disappointed with their service. My vehicle was deemed a total loss 3 times during my claim/repairs, it has been in repair status for 3 months, I was only reimbursed for 6 days of rental coverage, the adjusters including the manager are unresponsive and communication is unnecessarily drawn out. USAA refused to communicat...
I have been a member with USAA for nearly 10 years now. I have received exceptional service in the past, but recently I am very disappointed with their service. My vehicle was deemed a total loss 3 times during my claim/repairs, it has been in repair status for 3 months, I was only reimbursed for 6 days of rental coverage, the adjusters including the manager are unresponsive and communication is unnecessarily drawn out. USAA refused to communicate with the mechanical shop and the body shop, which made my life very difficult. I was doing their work to ensure the parties are getting paid, that my vehicle is being moved from shop to shop, and I had to frequently call USAA to receive any kind of status update. At one point they actually closed my claim as "resolved" simply because they claimed I was not responding... I was furious about that. They reopened my claim a day later because I was checking emails, the claims communication center and my phone daily. Meanwhile, I signed a new lease when I was informed the first time that my vehicle is totaled, moved out of state and now have to have my vehicle shipped to me. From all USAA employees in the claim process, I feel ignored, misinformed, and not treated as a valued customer. I am writing this review because trying to resolve this matter internally has led to no results and at this point, I do not recommend USAA to potential new members, especially when I am paying $250 monthly to be insured for anything that may come my way...
4
October 2, 2023

Sandy_H

Unresolved billing issue for months

Wow, after being a USAA member for decades, I can't get them to resolve a billing issue that's ongoing since September 2022. I've made 15+ calls, more than 40 hours if our time, sometimes talking to 2 or 3 representatives per call, supervisors, and EVERY TIME, you have to start over because you can't talk to the same person twice, EVER. No one can help, Supervisors don't return calls if you're lucky enough to reach one after 45 minutes on hold, a...
Wow, after being a USAA member for decades, I can't get them to resolve a billing issue that's ongoing since September 2022. I've made 15+ calls, more than 40 hours if our time, sometimes talking to 2 or 3 representatives per call, supervisors, and EVERY TIME, you have to start over because you can't talk to the same person twice, EVER. No one can help, Supervisors don't return calls if you're lucky enough to reach one after 45 minutes on hold, and still, the billing problem persists. Extremely disappointed and you can't send an email or tell anyone. Maybe this public post will provide some relief.
1
September 26, 2023

davidwells

USAA: Always hire a lawyer

Always hire a lawyer when dealing with USAA. Here are the tactics USAA uses to avoid paying your car claim. 1. Ignore your phone calls and delay for months to wear you down 2.Make you manage their claim department to get things done 3.Each new person shows surprise that no one has called you back and promises to take care of it 4.Tell you that your 2022 claim was on an old system and only a few people can access that system 5.Play a game that the...
Always hire a lawyer when dealing with USAA. Here are the tactics USAA uses to avoid paying your car claim. 1. Ignore your phone calls and delay for months to wear you down 2.Make you manage their claim department to get things done 3.Each new person shows surprise that no one has called you back and promises to take care of it 4.Tell you that your 2022 claim was on an old system and only a few people can access that system 5.Play a game that the market value of a wrecked car is within $500 dollars of an unwrecked car. Go somewhere else.
1
June 17, 2023

chanelcinq

Completely incompetent

What a complete nightmare.  WORST COMPANY EVER. They are completely incompetent on every single level.  Please look at the reviews.  If you sort by most recent the first three pages ALL are 1 star except one 3 star and two 2 stars.  The rest are all 1 star so it is obvious they have declined.  It took them 5.5 weeks to total my car.  The agents don't call you back and basically, they don't do anything.  Nothing happened unless I called to ...
What a complete nightmare.  WORST COMPANY EVER. They are completely incompetent on every single level.  Please look at the reviews.  If you sort by most recent the first three pages ALL are 1 star except one 3 star and two 2 stars.  The rest are all 1 star so it is obvious they have declined.  It took them 5.5 weeks to total my car.  The agents don't call you back and basically, they don't do anything.  Nothing happened unless I called to move to the next step.  It took a week before they even towed my car from the accident site.  I called every day telling them my car was going to be towed away and they needed to move it.  When they towed it they towed it about 45 minutes away and across a bridge.  I am in a very populous place in San [REDACTED NAME] between San [REDACTED NAME] and San [REDACTED NAME] yet they towed my car to the East Bay.  Then it sat for 1.5 weeks.  I called again to ask what is going on and why there has been no appraisal after 2.5 weeks.   Once I called them, then I received a call back in 25 minutes the appraisal was done.  I asked the agent how he did it so fast and he said from photos.  Give me a break.  It was obviously NOT correct.  Then the car needed to be towed from this facility in the East Bay to my auto body shop.  I was told on a Wednesday that the paperwork to get the car out takes 72 hours and that takes it to Sat and it was Memorial weekend so the car would not arrive until the Tuesday after labor day.  Well, it actually arrived Wednesday the 7th of June.  So absurd.  The auto body shop did the estimate on Friday of that same week and we were in contact this past Monday.  They sent the estimate to USAA on Monday and today, Friday, I get a TEXT that the case is closed and my car is totaled.  And of course, my adjusted didn't answer her phone or call back.   I think they make money from totaling out the car. They told me I would get 17,194.00 if the car is totaled. The estimate from the auto body shop was for 13,506 and they still totaled it. I told USAA that the shop will work with me. USAA said if you decide to do a salvage you only get about 7,000. They said they sell my car for parts and if they cannot sell it, For example in the case of a salvage, they don't make any money so that is why the payout is less. All of it seems so shady. Why would there be a 10,000 difference? Things just do not add up. You have been forewarned to steer clear of this nightmare of a company.
1
May 31, 2023

HB23

Incompetent company

This is the most incompetent insurance company I’ve ever dealt with. My car was hit by one of their members and is still not fixed nearly 3 months later. Their excuse is that they don’t have their members statement. If they’re handling getting their members statement like they did mine then I’m not surprised. They made ZERO effort to get my statement, didn’t reach out once. The only reason they have my statement is because I called over...
This is the most incompetent insurance company I’ve ever dealt with. My car was hit by one of their members and is still not fixed nearly 3 months later. Their excuse is that they don’t have their members statement. If they’re handling getting their members statement like they did mine then I’m not surprised. They made ZERO effort to get my statement, didn’t reach out once. The only reason they have my statement is because I called over and over and over leaving multiple messages, that were never responded to. I finally got through to a person after many tries and gave them my statement even though they weren’t the person that was in charge of this claim. I would caution anyone against using USAA for their insurance seeing as how they clearly have no intention of paying out for a claim.
1
May 25, 2023

JonB36

USAA's exemplary service legacy has hit rock bottom.

USAA’s auto repair service has hit rock bottom. Unfortunately, I’m just one of many experiencing it: but I think I have uncovered a reason why. Once listed in “Consumers Reports” as the best all-around auto insurance provider, a year or so ago USAA made a decision which has led to long repair delays and absolute frustration for us their customers/members. And to top it off, USAA doesn’t seem concerned. If you don’t believe me, jus...
USAA’s auto repair service has hit rock bottom. Unfortunately, I’m just one of many experiencing it: but I think I have uncovered a reason why. Once listed in “Consumers Reports” as the best all-around auto insurance provider, a year or so ago USAA made a decision which has led to long repair delays and absolute frustration for us their customers/members. And to top it off, USAA doesn’t seem concerned. If you don’t believe me, just try to get someone from their claims department to answer or return your telephone calls when you need them to!! From my own recent auto repair experience and what I have been able to learn from other sources, USAA has replaced a large number of its in-house claims adjusters with a third-party firm called (I believe) "Snapsheet" to take over their claims adjusting process. Now, all auto repair estimates go directly from the repair facilities to this outsider company ...not to USAA...which reviews them, deals (negotiates) directly with the shops and then sends a “revalued version” to USAA. Only then will USAA issue a check and the go-ahead to start repairs. USAA now will do nothing until in receipt of Snapsheet’s, “approved” total. Time is no longer a consideration and there seems to be no limit to the number of times the shop has to revise its’ estimate in order to obtain Snapsheets’ approval. (In my case it has been four times so far.) According to a shop foreman I talked with who had been offered a job with them, Snapsheets employees do not have to be experienced adjusters; aren’t required to visit the facility or to examine the vehicle in question; and can form their estimates working from home if they wish. And Snapsheet is also free to “bargain” directly with repair facilities without USAA input. According to him the recruiter old him up front that Snapsheet is being hired to save USAA money, and that is of paramount importance. So, where does all this leave us, members and customers when everything comes to an impasse? Essentially, in limbo. We can’t talk to anyone at Snapsheet, and hardly any USAA adjusters answers or returns calls, even though their answering machine states their aim is to return calls within 4 hours. That claim should be erased!! Customer care????? Judging from numerous negative remarks I’m not alone. In my own case I haven't received any return calls and the repair shop has had their estimate returned four times now with a warning that if they do not concede to reduce their estimates to Snapsheets’ satisfaction they (Snapsheet) will not forward it on to USAA. In the meantime, my car sits there, broken and USAA seems oblivious or uninterested in intervening to get this impasse resolved. They won't even talk to the repair facility to sort things out! That's how poor their customer service has become! USAA’s recent ad campaign claiming to have the interests of veterans, service members and their families at heart...is something of a sad joke. But as a veteran and a long time member…. I’m not laughing!! Someone should remind USAA's leadership of the age-old business rule..."poor service leads to lost customers". At this writing, nothing has been resolved. The shop is thinking of throwing my car out of their lot. I'm totally frustrated and disappointed. For many years I have relied on USAA, but they are just not the same company today. Now its "buyer Beware!!" That's my 2 cents !!! JonB
1
May 4, 2023

Cvinny10_

Do NOT get this insurance

Worst experience. I got hit by someone with this insurance and it took them 7 weeks to total my car. We came upon an agreement for the amount I would be paid so I signed the title over and a week later they said they could no longer pay that amount. Please do yourself and the rest of us Americans a favor and do NOT get this insurance
1
February 25, 2023

CGN_Demandante

Damaged Rental Van Payoff

I returned a perfectly good rental van to Budget Rental during the summer, but they damaged it sometime afterwards. It was not even a small damage: there were dents all along the driver side door, the sliding door panel, and the trunk door. It was something that would not have been missed, if I returned the van in that condition. However, Budget Rental then filed a claim with USAA in 10/2022, a full 6 months later. It was blatantly fraudulent...
I returned a perfectly good rental van to Budget Rental during the summer, but they damaged it sometime afterwards. It was not even a small damage: there were dents all along the driver side door, the sliding door panel, and the trunk door. It was something that would not have been missed, if I returned the van in that condition. However, Budget Rental then filed a claim with USAA in 10/2022, a full 6 months later. It was blatantly fraudulent. After what I consider useless perfunctory online investigating, USAA just decided to just pay them off, and I am stuck with a higher insurance premium. USAA is a totally different insurance company from when I joined 40 years ago. Pretty disappointing.
1
October 7, 2022

JesseM

Surprisingly Awful

Outside of the mobile app being frustrating to use, I didn't have any issues with USAA, until I had a windshield claim. Was easy at the start, they use Safelite for all windshield claims, only the first installation resulted in pieces of my car flying off on the freeway. 2nd visit resulted in fixing missing molding from windshield, but the multifunction camera on the windshield kept malfunctioning because of the install being off center. This ...
Outside of the mobile app being frustrating to use, I didn't have any issues with USAA, until I had a windshield claim. Was easy at the start, they use Safelite for all windshield claims, only the first installation resulted in pieces of my car flying off on the freeway. 2nd visit resulted in fixing missing molding from windshield, but the multifunction camera on the windshield kept malfunctioning because of the install being off center. This is where everything got bad. I was unable to reopen the claim with USAA, and they have a circular help system that will make sure you can never actually get through to anyone about an existing claim. Their chatbot is especially diabolical. It wasn't until I left a review on BBB, that I received a call from a special team that deals with BBB complaints. After the 4th windshield was installed and 4 months, I finally have a working car again, but there is no way I'm risking another claim with USAA.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.usinsuranceagents.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption