New Mexico Car Insurance Regulations & Required Coverage

New Mexico car insurance regulations list the required coverage necessary to legally drive in the state. New Mexico auto insurance requirements are 25/50/10 in minimum liability, but additional collision or comprehensive coverage is recommended. Get the best price for the level of coverage you need by comparing New Mexico car insurance quotes for free with our ZIP code search below.

Free Insurance Comparison

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Natasha McLachlan is a writer who currently lives in Southern California. She is an alumna of California College of the Arts, where she obtained her B.A. in Writing and Literature. Her current work revolves around insurance guides and informational articles. She truly enjoys helping others learn more about everyday, practical matters through her work.

Full Bio →

Written by

Laura Walker graduated college with a BS in Criminal Justice with a minor in Political Science. She married her husband and began working in the family insurance business in 2005. She became a licensed agent and wrote P&C business focusing on personal lines insurance for 10 years. Laura serviced existing business and wrote new business. She now uses her insurance background to help educate...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Laura Walker
Former Licensed Agent

UPDATED: Nov 5, 2020

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.

New Mexico requires drivers to maintain financial responsibility in the form of an insurance policy or posting cash or bond with the state treasury. Most often, people will opt for simply getting a car insurance policy. New Mexico has certain minimum requirements and insurance laws that you should be aware of if you currently live in, plan on moving to or are just visiting the state.

New Mexico operates under a tort system. Their insurance laws dictate that after an accident, someone must always be found at fault for causing the accident. Once someone is found to be at fault, they and their insurance company are then held financially responsible for covering any resulting expenses from the accident.

Required Coverage

All personal vehicles in New Mexico require the following liability coverage requirements:

  • Bodily Injury
  • Property Damage
Minimum New Mexico Car Insurance Requirements
Bodily Injury Liability $25,000 / $50,000 Limit
Property Damage Liability $10,000 Limit

Additional insurance coverage can include:

  • Uninsured / Underinsured Motorist Liability Coverage
  • Comprehensive and Collision Coverage

Uninsured or Underinsured insurance coverage pays for expenses related to being in an accident with someone who does not have adequate coverage or any coverage at all to pay for the resulting bills.

Comprehensive and collision coverage are two optional, but important insurance coverages. Collision will pay for expenses related to fixing or replacing your vehicle after an accident while comprehensive covers other, non-collision related damages such as fire damage or your vehicle being stolen. We have compiled a list of most stolen vehicles in New Mexico. If your vehicle is a popular target, this coverage is even more important to have

Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility

Establishing proof of insurance and financial responsibility

  • Get a standard liability car insurance policy
  • Deposit $60,000 cash/bond with the New Mexico state treasurer’s office

Required Documentation

In order to provide proof of insurance, you can provide one of the following:

  • Insurance ID card
  • Copy of your insurance policy
  • Letter from your insurance company (on company letterhead)

You must maintain proof of insurance and financial responsibility and present it:

  • If asked by a police officer
  • If notified by the New Mexico MVD

Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility Penalties

If you are unable to show proof of insurance, you can face one of the following penalties:

  • Fines of $300 or more
  • Misdemeanor charges
  • Suspension of your vehicle’s registration
  • Additional reinstatement fees

New Mexico Insurance Agents

Albuquerque Car Insurance | Las Cruces Car Insurance | Rio Rancho Car Insurance | Santa Fe Car Insurance | Roswell Car Insurance | Farmington Car Insurance | Clovis Car Insurance | Hobbs Car Insurance | Alamogordo Car Insurance | Carlsbad Car Insurance | Los Alamos Car Insurance

Free Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption