Oregon Car Insurance Regulations & Required Coverage

Oregon car insurance regulations require that all drivers maintain minimum car insurance requirements of 25/50/20 in minimum liability. Oregon auto insurance law operates under a tort system and thus requires additional uninsured motorist coverage and personal injury protection. Not maintaining these requirements can lead to fines and loss of your driving privileges.

Free Insurance Comparison

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Natasha McLachlan is a writer who currently lives in Southern California. She is an alumna of California College of the Arts, where she obtained her B.A. in Writing and Literature. Her current work revolves around insurance guides and informational articles. She truly enjoys helping others learn more about everyday, practical matters through her work.

Full Bio →

Written by

Laura Walker graduated college with a BS in Criminal Justice with a minor in Political Science. She married her husband and began working in the family insurance business in 2005. She became a licensed agent and wrote P&C business focusing on personal lines insurance for 10 years. Laura serviced existing business and wrote new business. She now uses her insurance background to help educate...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Laura Walker
Former Licensed Agent

UPDATED: Jul 16, 2021

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.

Oregon requires all of its drivers to maintain minimum car insurance requirements. Not maintaining these requirements can lead to fines and loss of your driving privileges. Oregon insurance laws are similar to other states, but do have some differences that you should be aware of if you are driving in the state.

In Oregon, a driver will be found at fault and held responsible for paying financial damages for causing an accident. This type of insurance law is known as a tort system. The specifics of a tort
system can vary from state to state.

Required Coverage

All personal vehicles in Oregon require the following liability coverage requirements:

  • Bodily Injury
  • Property Damage

Additionally, Oregon requires:

  • Uninsured / Underinsured Bodily Injury
  • Personal Injury Protection
Minimum Oregon Car Insurance Requirements
Bodily Injury Liability $25,000 / $50,000 Limit
Property Damage Liability $20,000 Limit
Uninsured/Underinsured Bodily Injury $25,000 / $50,000 Limit
Personal Injury Protection $15,000 Limit

Additional insurance coverage can include:

  • Comprehensive and Collision Coverage

Comprehensive insurance protects you from non-collision related incidents such as if your car is stolen or damaged by fire. The most stolen vehicles
in Oregon
can show you if your car is at greater risk of being stolen. Collision insurance helps pay for costs associated with repairing your vehicle after it’s been in an accident.

Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility

Establishing proof of insurance and financial responsibility

  • Get a standard liability car insurance policy
  • Self insurance – only allowed for auto dealers

Required Documentation

In order to provide proof of insurance, you can provide one of the following:

  • Insurance ID Card
  • Physical insurance policy or binder
  • Letter from your insurance company on their own letterhead outlining your coverage information
  • Certificate of self insurance
  • Oregon auto dealer license plate

You must maintain proof of insurance and financial responsibility and present it:

  • When asked by a police officer
  • If randomly selected by the DMV
  • When registering your vehicle
  • After an accident
  • Anytime you are operating a vehicle

Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility Penalties

If you are unable to show proof of insurance, you can face the following penalties:

  • Suspended registration and license
  • Vehicle can be towed along with applicable fees
  • Fines levied by the court
  • Requirement to submit an SR-22 for 3 years

If you are involved in an accident while uninsured, your driver’s license will be suspended for one year and you will be required to submit an SR-22 for the following 3 years.

Oregon Insurance Agents

Portland Car Insurance | Salem Car Insurance | Eugene Car Insurance | Gresham Car Insurance | Hillsboro Car Insurance | Beaverton Car Insurance | Bend Car Insurance | Medford Car Insurance | Springfield Car Insurance | Corvallis Car Insurance | Albany Car Insurance | Tigard Car Insurance | Lake Oswego Car Insurance | Keizer Car Insurance | Grants Pass Car Insurance | Oregon City Car Insurance | Mcminnville Car Insurance | Redmond Car Insurance

Free Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption