National General Insurance

This National General Insurance review will cover National General Insurance ratings by real users for overall satisfaction and claims, cost, billing, and service satisfaction. The National General Insurance A.M. Best rating is A-. To compare insurance rates from the best companies in your locale, enter your ZIP code below.

Free Insurance Comparison

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Chris Tepedino is a feature writer that has written extensively about home, life, and car insurance for numerous websites. He has a college degree in communication from the University of Tennessee and has experience reporting, researching investigative pieces, and crafting detailed, data-driven features. His works have been featured on CB Blog Nation, Flow Words, Healing Law, WIBW Kansas, and C...

Full Bio →

Written by Chris Tepedino
Insurance Feature Writer Chris Tepedino

Laura Walker graduated college with a BS in Criminal Justice with a minor in Political Science. She married her husband and began working in the family insurance business in 2005. She became a licensed agent and wrote P&C business focusing on personal lines insurance for 10 years. Laura serviced existing business and wrote new business. She now uses her insurance background to help educate...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Laura Walker
Former Licensed Agent Laura Walker

UPDATED: Jun 10, 2021

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.

Company Details
Address: 13736 Riverport Drive Suite 700
City: Maryland Heights
State: MO
ZIP Code: 63043
Phone Number: (336) 435-2000
Fax: (336) 435-2022
AM Best Rating: A-

Based in Winston-Salem, North Carolina, GMAC Insurance is affiliated with GMAC Mortgage (a home mortgage corporation) and GMAC Finance, which offers financing on new and used vehicles. GMAC Insurance is also a part of the General Motors (GM) Corporation, and was the first insurance company in the United States to be founded by an automobile manufacturer.

GMAC Insurance is available throughout the United States. Although the company is affiliated with General Motors, you do not need to own a GM car in order to have their auto insurance policies. The GMAC Insurance website has a learning center full of information about every type of insurance that they offer, including:

  • Automobile Insurance
  • Home Insurance
  • Recreational Vehicle (RV) Insurance
  • Commercial Vehicle Insurance
  • Motorcycle Insurance
  • Mexico Insurance
  • Collector/Classic Car Insurance
  • Health Insurance

How Does GMAC Keep Comprehensive Coverage Affordable?

GMAC Insurance offers a number of different ways for their policyholders to lower insurance premiums. They fall into the following categories, including:

  • GM/GMAC Customer Discounts for those who have more than one GMAC account or who own a GM vehicle
  • Paid-in-Full Discount for paying for your insurance policy up front rather than in installments
  • Multi-Vehicle Discount for having more than one vehicle combined on a single policy. This includes RV’s, motorcycles, and automobiles
  • GM Loyalty Discount for those who own only GM vehicles that are insured with GMAC Insurance
  • Safe-Driver Discounts for people who have completed a safe-driver course or who have an active OnStar account
  • Motorcycle Discounts for those who are considered safe riders, or who have multiple vehicles on their policy along with their motorcycles
  • OnStar Subscriber Discounts for people who have an active OnStar account
  • Low Mileage Discounts for people who only drive less than 15,000 total in a single year
  • GM Family First Discounts for customers who either work for GM or have a direct family member who does
  • Affinity Discounts for people who support various charities and organizations
  • GM Supplier Discount for people who work for a company that supplies parts and other items to General Motors

Compare The Best Insurance Quotes In The Country

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Does GMAC Have Coverage Options That Meet Driver Needs?

High-risk drivers and others may need different coverage options. GMAC has a wide variety of policy options with different amounts of coverage, premiums, and more.

Insurance quotes are based on driving history, credit score, desired coverage, and other factors. Discounts above are available for things like multi-policy agreements. Many people get their auto insurance quotes online. Then they sign up for homeowners insurance or other policies to bundle and save. GMAC offers an online suite of services.

Besides the online learning center, the GMAC website also has an online claims center, and customer care section. You can receive an online quote, manage your policy, or find a local GMAC insurance agent to contact if you have additional questions.

Reviews
for National General Insurance Company (Integon)

3.28 (380 reviews)
1
January 25, 2022

Traveler_

STAY AWAY

STAY AWAY Don't use this company for any reason. After paying for years on issuance for my motorhome and never having a claim. A windstorm blew this windshield off and caused damaged to the roof which created a leak. They denied this claim and were extremely rude in the process. They want your money but when you need them, they are nowhere to be found. Criminals
1
December 7, 2021

venebar

They are irresponsible

It is a [REDACTED WORD] doesn't work, no costumer services, nobody answers your call, just a machine, and adjuster all the time has you phone turned off, they don't want to pay my car accident. Don't but any policy with them, never and ever Nooooo
1
November 19, 2021

Gary0007

Useless if Rental Needed

After waiting 17 days with a broken back from a car accident, was told there is still NO ETA on a car insurance adjuster to see car, and without the estimate there is NO RENTAL given. Can't get to doctor appointments! Insanely expensive HORRID car insurance!
1
October 13, 2021

Vikashni_

Worse experience

Worse experience ever!! Horrible!! I will not recommend them at all. I had my car hit and run claim and it took them 4 weeks to process the claim. No communication whenever I call no answer and after leaving a voicemail they never call back. They denied my claim cuz there specialist said that the car was moving when it got hit and I gave them all the proof that the car was parked in the parking lot. I even gave them a instant police report. My ca...
Worse experience ever!! Horrible!! I will not recommend them at all. I had my car hit and run claim and it took them 4 weeks to process the claim. No communication whenever I call no answer and after leaving a voicemail they never call back. They denied my claim cuz there specialist said that the car was moving when it got hit and I gave them all the proof that the car was parked in the parking lot. I even gave them a instant police report. My car has full coverage and still they are not fixing it. What’s the point of me paying them every month. So frustrating and stressful I will change my insurance company and will take legal action. I just hope this doesn’t happen to anyone else How can you tell the car was moving by looking at the picture and denie the claim they really have some dumb specialist that don’t now what they are doing. So mad 😡 I would give them zero stars. Please stay away from ngic
1
August 4, 2021

ATlaige92

AWFUL CUSTOMER SERVICE, LOOK ELSEWHERE!

THE WORST customer service experience I've ever had. DO NOT use this insurance company. My car was stolen and my adjuster refused to set me up with a rental stating "we don't cover that." Lies. I called my nearest car rental and they said they'd give me a great discounted deal if my insurance company would just give them a call. I had to do all the leg work myself. They constantly dodged my calls, barely responded to my emails. The only reason w...
THE WORST customer service experience I've ever had. DO NOT use this insurance company. My car was stolen and my adjuster refused to set me up with a rental stating "we don't cover that." Lies. I called my nearest car rental and they said they'd give me a great discounted deal if my insurance company would just give them a call. I had to do all the leg work myself. They constantly dodged my calls, barely responded to my emails. The only reason why I was somewhat okay was because my dad has a small used car dealership so one the vehicle was found he could do minor repairs. But it still reeked of weed on the inside when it was returned. All around bad. I even called the supervisor and left him a vm. Never heard from him. Do yourself a favor and look elsewhere.
1
July 19, 2021

Unhappy_camper

Worst company every stay away

I had gotten a quote and started a policy with national general for full coverage i was paying 156 a monthly second they tried taking money out my account a day earlier then wanted to charged me for NSF my agent at the zebra called them got it taking car of the third month they dont take the 156$ out of my account the try to take 205 and a day late at that and then tried to take 245 for NSF saying i didnt sign up for safe driving it was not requi...
I had gotten a quote and started a policy with national general for full coverage i was paying 156 a monthly second they tried taking money out my account a day earlier then wanted to charged me for NSF my agent at the zebra called them got it taking car of the third month they dont take the 156$ out of my account the try to take 205 and a day late at that and then tried to take 245 for NSF saying i didnt sign up for safe driving it was not required that i have this and i was quoted with that option even sent a payment schedule from the that says 156$ monthly they have now canceled me for none payment why should i pay more then what your print out said that on statement online and through. The mail worst company every. Scam artist period
1
July 1, 2021

Unsatisfied_Customer_L

Bad business. Acting in bad faith so as NOT to cover claims

Bad. Firstly, the claims rep was rude. I had damage to the front end of my car caused by some large object in the road (a dark road) A object that I could NOT see. So, they blamed me for the accident and said I'd be at fault! How am I getting an at fault accident when no other cars or parties were involved and I could not see whatever item was in the road? Secondly, they stated that I would need to pay a triple deductible because my policy had ...
Bad. Firstly, the claims rep was rude. I had damage to the front end of my car caused by some large object in the road (a dark road) A object that I could NOT see. So, they blamed me for the accident and said I'd be at fault! How am I getting an at fault accident when no other cars or parties were involved and I could not see whatever item was in the road? Secondly, they stated that I would need to pay a triple deductible because my policy had been reinstated within the last 60 or 90 days. Mind you, the payment to the policy was made less than 24 hours late. Just a way to overly charge a consumer who clearly is already struggling. Bad business practices and BAD FAITH! I have now cancelled my policy and gone elsewhere. Beware! the lower monthly payment comes at a great cost!!!
1
March 17, 2021

Maria_Ana_

Very Bad Company

Very bad company, avoid at all cost. My car was rear ended and they find loopholes and excuses not to fix my car. Very rude adjuster his name was [REDACTED NAME], very unprofessional and unethical. They just want to collect money, extremely difficult to deal with them. All I got from them is so much stress, I’m dropping them, time to look for a better insurance company.
1
January 13, 2021

PSmaya

Bad customer service!

Horrible experience. I made a down payment October 2020. Was sent a bill stating to make payment to NY address. I made a full payment on-lin Dec. 2, 2020. Get a letter from DMV that I don't have a policy. Letter from Integon that my policy would be cancelled Jan. 6th. I received that letter on Jan. 4th. Called them Jan. 5th and my bank. Bank told me they never deposited my payment. This was a month after I made the full payment! So.... the bank ...
Horrible experience. I made a down payment October 2020. Was sent a bill stating to make payment to NY address. I made a full payment on-lin Dec. 2, 2020. Get a letter from DMV that I don't have a policy. Letter from Integon that my policy would be cancelled Jan. 6th. I received that letter on Jan. 4th. Called them Jan. 5th and my bank. Bank told me they never deposited my payment. This was a month after I made the full payment! So.... the bank stopped that payment so I could make another payment on Ja. 5th. I happened to check my bank account this morning, low and behold the payment was refunded. No explanation!! This is insane, I have to correct their mistakes! I am furious, on top of correcting their mistakes I was charged money to make a payment over the phone. So now what, take Integon to Small Claims Court? My wasted time, aggravation to "fix" their lazy attitude of customer service because they cannot take care of CA customers on time! This is wrong in so many ways. Will they call CA DMV to explain their mistakes..... I am forced to pay extra fees while I PAID everything on December 2, 2020!
1
October 20, 2020

jpram

Fooled by the price

well this was the worst decision ive ever made, this company does not explain to people what they are giving you, the fact that i was paying a decent amount meant that the policy was horrible. I ended up paying out of pocket for an accident that i had in 2014. So i advice people to not be fooled by these companies giving you cheap prices and then not being there when you need them. go with geico instead.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.usinsuranceagents.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption