Safeco

This Safeco review will cover Safeco ratings by real users for overall satisfaction and claims, cost, billing, and service satisfaction. The Safeco A.M. Best rating is A, and the Safeco S&P Rating is A. To compare insurance rates from the best companies in your locale, enter your ZIP code below.

Free Insurance Comparison

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Chris Tepedino is a feature writer that has written extensively about home, life, and car insurance for numerous websites. He has a college degree in communication from the University of Tennessee and has experience reporting, researching investigative pieces, and crafting detailed, data-driven features. His works have been featured on CB Blog Nation, Flow Words, Healing Law, WIBW Kansas, and C...

Full Bio →

Written by Chris Tepedino
Insurance Feature Writer Chris Tepedino

Laura Walker graduated college with a BS in Criminal Justice with a minor in Political Science. She married her husband and began working in the family insurance business in 2005. She became a licensed agent and wrote P&C business focusing on personal lines insurance for 10 years. Laura serviced existing business and wrote new business. She now uses her insurance background to help educate...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Laura Walker
Former Licensed Agent Laura Walker

UPDATED: Nov 19, 2011

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.

Company Details
Address: 175 Berkeley Street
City: Boston
State: MA
ZIP Code: 02116
Phone Number: (617) 357-9500
Website: safeco.com
AM Best Rating: A
S&P Global Ratings: A
Moody's Rating: A2
Fitch Rating: A-

Safeco was founded in 1923 and is the 13th largest supplier of private auto insurance in the United States. The company relies primarily on independent agents for distribution of their policies, and is featured by more than 9000 independent agents and brokers. The company claims more than 6.2 billion in revenues and over 4.5 million insurance customers nationwide.

Reviews
for Safeco Insurance

4.02 (1,126 reviews)
1
April 26, 2022

Ahock

Terrible Customer Service!!!!

My father was in a car accident. He passed away suddenly while driving which is what caused the accident. Nobody else was injured and the car slowed and drifted off the road, hardly damaged. I took over dealing with insurance to alleviate stress on my mother. Safeco initially refused to pay the towing bill, that was pretty high because a flagging crew was needed, so the car sat in a wrecking yard for 15 days at $107 dollars a day. They gave me a ...
My father was in a car accident. He passed away suddenly while driving which is what caused the accident. Nobody else was injured and the car slowed and drifted off the road, hardly damaged. I took over dealing with insurance to alleviate stress on my mother. Safeco initially refused to pay the towing bill, that was pretty high because a flagging crew was needed, so the car sat in a wrecking yard for 15 days at $107 dollars a day. They gave me a number to text and an email address, I could not speak to a person on the phone. We are at a month and the car has JUST been delivered to the repair shop, and now I am getting nickled and dimed on repair costs. My dad was with Safeco for 30+ years, and I am being treated poorly. I will be advising my mother to seek a new insurance company when this is said and done.
1
April 4, 2022

Jeroxide

Not recommended

I have used Saefco for years withou ever filing a claim. I finally made a ckaim and it was refused on a technicality. I will be moving my insurance to a different company. I would not recommend
3
January 15, 2022

vimalwalker

Claims rep from Safeco

They are cheap but when you file a claim it's a major headache. No response from Ajustors. Poor communication and horrible customer service.
2
November 29, 2021

Fordman100

This place too expensive to stay

They jacked up my rates I used to pay 187 now I got to pay more than that that's not fair either I can only for 187 not to 214
5
October 6, 2021

Lady3jade

$30 less

When you pay $30 less a month than what credit karma deems the lowest price and you're fully covered.... Yeah that's Safeco! Thank you for all you do Safeco! I personally love you guys!
1
July 16, 2021

Marcia_Mazze_

No Road Assistance

Last Monday I asked for help with the 24-hour assistance number they offer. I was standing in front of one of the Boston airport exit gates and the car stopped working. The first call was at 9:24 pm, after several calls, around midnight my car was towed by the airport staff to another place inside. I called to inform the new address where the car was, they had no forecast of when they could meet me, even though I warned that the car was full o...
Last Monday I asked for help with the 24-hour assistance number they offer. I was standing in front of one of the Boston airport exit gates and the car stopped working. The first call was at 9:24 pm, after several calls, around midnight my car was towed by the airport staff to another place inside. I called to inform the new address where the car was, they had no forecast of when they could meet me, even though I warned that the car was full of suitcases and that there was a child with me. I had to call an Uber and got home at 1:30 in the morning. Someone who can guide me on how to proceed? I went to the company's website to ask for some kind of repair, after all only the Uber was 180 dollars, today they called me back saying only that despite being sorry there is nothing they can do. I want to sue the company. I am very frustrated.
1
July 3, 2021

martins3

No roadside service when it’s needed

I’m two states away from home. It’s night and raining. I have a flat tire. I’ve had Safeco for over a decade. I called for my 24 hour service. It’s not happening until morning - if it happens then. Because of the holiday.
1
May 25, 2021

Screwedbysafeco

Horrible company

Safeco is the worst insurance company next to their parent company Liberty Mutual. They promise low rates but wait. On your renewal they will double or triple your premiums. They are the low end write off for Liberty Mutual. They will do everything they can to not pay a claim. Their claims adjusters are completely INCOMPETENT. [REDACTED NAME] is the most incompetent adjuster they have. Someone has to pay for the stupid Liberty Mutual Commercials...
Safeco is the worst insurance company next to their parent company Liberty Mutual. They promise low rates but wait. On your renewal they will double or triple your premiums. They are the low end write off for Liberty Mutual. They will do everything they can to not pay a claim. Their claims adjusters are completely INCOMPETENT. [REDACTED NAME] is the most incompetent adjuster they have. Someone has to pay for the stupid Liberty Mutual Commercials on tv and that's you. If you want to get shafted, then this is the insurance for you. If you have any brains, you'll get anyone but Safeco or Liberty Mutual. They also own The General. Stay far far away from all three.
1
May 16, 2021

Prashanthi_

Worst claim processing

I filed claim with safeco Insurance. They don’t respond well when called multiple times. My car was not repaired on time and they dint provide any alternative like rental car etc. I think they are worst at processing auto claims. I recommend don’t go with this insurance company and don’t repent later.
5
January 14, 2021

1610cceT

Great Service

Safeco has been great to work with. I had 2 claims in one year because of no fault accidents. They were quick to get me the money for the repairs. The agent helping me through the process was very attentive and made it seamless.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.usinsuranceagents.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption