Vermont Car Insurance Regulations & Required Coverage
Vermont car insurance regulations state that all drivers must maintain minimum liability insurance limits of 25/50/10 along with uninsured/underinsured bodily injury and property damage coverage. The state of Vermont uses a tort system and will always declare somebody to be responsible, or at fault, in a car accident. This person along with their Vermont auto insurance company are then held responsible for paying for all damages involved in the accident they caused. Learn more below.
Free Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Jul 16, 2021
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.
Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.
All drivers living in Vermont are required to maintain minimum liability insurance limits of 25/50/10 along with uninsured/underinsured bodily injury and property damage coverage. The state follows a tort system and has penalties for individuals who fail to provide proof of insurance.
The state of Vermont uses a tort system and will always declare somebody to be responsible, or at fault, in a car accident. This person along with their insurance company is then held responsible for paying for all damages involved in the accident they caused.
All personal vehicles in Vermont require the following liability coverage requirements:
- Bodily Injury
- Property Damage
Additionally, Vermont requires the following coverage:
- Uninsured / Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage
- Uninsured / Underinsured Motorist Property Coverage
|Minimum Vermont Car Insurance Requirements|
|Bodily Injury Liability||$25,000 / $50,000 Limit|
|Property Damage Liability||$10,000 Limit|
|Uninsured/Underinsured Bodily Injury||$50,000 / $100,000 Limit|
|Uninsured/Underinsured Property Damage||$10,000 Limit|
Additional insurance coverage can include:
- Comprehensive and Collision Coverage
Comprehensive insurance will cover expenses related to non-collision related incidents such as a tree falling and damaging your vehicle or someone breaking into your vehicle. Collision helps cover expenses for repairing or replacing of your vehicle regardless as to who is found at fault. These two types of coverage usually are packaged together and require a deductible to be payed before any compensation is given. Is your vehicle listed as one of the most stolen vehicles in Vermont? If so, comprehensive would be a good option for
Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility
Establishing proof of insurance and financial responsibility
- Get a standard liability car insurance policy
- Purchase a surety bond of $115,000
- File proof of self insurance in the amount of $115,000 with the Vermont Commissioner of Motor Vehicles. (You may be required to provide this proof of self insurance prior to having your vehicle
Your insurance company is not required to notify PennDOT that you currently meet the state’s minimum insurance requirements. In order to provide proof of insurance, you can provide one of the
- Insurance ID card provided by your insurance company
- For insurers not authorized to do business in Vermont, a written certificate containing insurance information for the nonresident is acceptable
You must maintain proof of insurance and financial responsibility and present it:
- When asked by a police officer (the law provides you 15 days to show proof of insurance if you are not able to do so when asked)
- During the registration of your vehicle
- During the inspection of your vehicle
- After you are involved in an accident
Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility Penalties
If you are unable to show proof of insurance when asked, you can face one of the following penalties:
- A fine
- Points on your license
- Requirements to file financial responsibility insurance (SR-22) with the Vermont DMV