Delaware Car Insurance Regulations & Required Coverage
Delaware car insurance regulations require that all drivers maintain an up-to-date insurance policy for all registered vehicles, even if they are not actively being driven. Delaware auto insurance law requires motorists to comply with their tort law insurance system but is a bit unique as it’s one of the only states operating under tort insurance law to require PIP coverage.
Free Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Jul 16, 2021
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.
Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.
Delaware requires all of its drivers to maintain a current car insurance policy for all registered vehicles even if they are not actively being driven. They have stiff penalties for those caught without proper coverage and also have some unique requirements unique to the state that you should be aware of.
Delaware law requires motorists to comply with their tort law insurance system. Under a tort system, someone must always be held responsible for being at-fault or causing an accident after one occurs. The specifics vary from state to state, but the main result from this type of system is that the at fault part is financially responsible for covering damages resulting from the accident.
All personal vehicles in Delaware require the following liability coverage requirements:
- Bodily Injury
- Property Damage
Additionally, all policies must also include the following:
- Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
|Minimum Delaware Car Insurance Requirements|
|Bodily Injury Liability||$15,000 / $30,000 Limit|
|Property Damage Liability||$10,000 Limit|
|Personal Injury Protection||$15,000 / $30,000 Limit|
Delaware is a bit unique as it’s one of the only states operating under tort insurance law to require PIP coverage. This covers up to $15,000 for medical expenses and lost wages to any one person in a single accident and up to $30,000 to all people involved in a single accident with no more than $15,000 for each person. This also includes up to $5,000 for funeral expenses.
Additional insurance coverage can include:
- Uninsured / Underinsured Coverage
- Comprehensive and Collision Coverage
- Towing and Labor Coverage
- Rental Reimbursement Coverage
Uninsured or underinsured coverage will pay for expenses incurred by being in an accident with another driver who is not insured or does not have enough insurance to pay for the related costs. Even though it’s illegal to drive in Delaware without car insurance, there are still people that do and if the driver is insured, they still may not have enough coverage to pay for all damages.
Comprehensive coverage pays for the cost of repairing your vehicle after a non-collision related incident such as hail or fire damage. Collision will pay for repair and replacement costs for your vehicle for accidents. If your vehicle is on the list of most stolen vehicles in Delaware, you should strongly consider having this coverage.
Towing and labor will cover expenses related to towing your car if you need roadside assistance or after an accident.
Rental reimbursement coverage pays the cost to rent a temporary vehicle or for other transportation costs if your primary vehicle is being repaired or in the process of being replaced.
Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility
Establishing proof of insurance and financial responsibility
- Get a standard liability car insurance policy
In order to provide proof of insurance, you can provide one of the following:
- Insurance ID Card
- Insurance Policy
You must maintain proof of insurance and financial responsibility and present it:
- When asked by a police officer
- If being audited by the DMV
- After an accident
- Anytime you are operating a vehicle
Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility Penalties
If you cancel your insurance coverage and do not notify the DMV of new coverage, you can face the following penalties:
- Fines of up to $1,500 for a first offense and $3,000 for additional offenses within 3 years of a previous offense
- Your driver’s license will be suspended for 6 months