Colorado Car Insurance Regulations & Required Coverage
Colorado car insurance regulations require that each driver has car insurance minimums of 25,000/50,000/15,000. Failure to have this can result in penalties and suspension of your vehicle registration and fees. Colorado auto insurance law follows a tort system. As with other states that follow this type of system, someone must always be found at fault for causing an accident and is then held financially responsible for damages resulting from the accident. Learn more below.
Free Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Jul 16, 2021
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.
Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.
Colorado is a 25/50/15 state which means that it has car insurance minimums of 25,000/50,000/15,000. Maintaining a car insurance policy as a Colorado motorist is important and required by law. Failure to do so can result in penalties and suspension of your vehicle registration and fees. Further details regarding Colorado insurance laws can be found below.
Colorado insurance law follows a tort system. As with other states that follow this type of system, it requires that someone must always be found at fault for causing an accident and is then held financially responsible for damages resulting from the accident. The specific laws can vary from state to state but this is a basic explanation.
All personal vehicles in Colorado require the following liability coverage requirements:
- Bodily Injury
- Property Damage
|Minimum Colorado Car Insurance Requirements|
|Bodily Injury Liability||$25,000 / $50,000 Limit|
|Property Damage Liability||$15,000 Limit|
Additional insurance coverage can include:
- Uninsured / Underinsured Coverage
- Comprehensive and Collision Coverage
Uninsured / Underinsured coverage helps pay for any expenses resulting from being in an accident with a driver who is uninsured, underinsured or left the scene of the accident before you were able to get any contact information. Even though car insurance is required in Colorado, many drivers still get on the road without insurance or do not have enough coverage to meet all the expenses in a
bad car accident.
Comprehensive and collision is a type of optional coverage that can also help pay for expenses not covered in a basic car insurance policy. Collision pays for damages from any sort of accident or collision. Comprehensive pays for damages from events other than a collision such as hail damage or having your car stolen. Each have deductibles that you can set that need to be reached before the
insurance company starts paying you back. Regardless if your car is not listed as one of most stolen vehicles in Colorado, it’s recommended to
purchase this coverage.
Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility
Establishing proof of insurance and financial responsibility
- Get a standard liability car insurance policy
- Self Insurance – to qualify to be self insured, drivers/companies need to have at least 25 vehicles registered in their name
In order to provide proof of insurance, you can provide one of the following:
- Insurance ID Card
- Copy of Insurance Policy or Binder
- Letter from your insurance company on their letterhead.
- Certificate of self insurance
You must maintain proof of insurance and financial responsibility and present it:
- When asked by a police officer
- After an accident
- When registering your vehicle, renewing your registration or receiving a temporary permit
- Anytime you are operating a vehicle
Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility Penalties
If you are unable to show proof of insurance within 45 days of being asked, you can face one of the following penalties:
- First offenses result in a minimum fine of $500, 4 points being added to your license and a possible suspension
- For second offenses, you can face a minimum fine of $1,000 and a 4 month suspension of your license
- If you are caught without insurance a third time, you will face a minimum fine of $1,000, community service and a suspension of 8 months
Colorado Insurance Agents
Denver Car Insurance | Colorado Springs Car Insurance | Aurora Car Insurance | Fort Collins Car Insurance | Lakewood Car Insurance | Thornton Car Insurance | Arvada Car Insurance | Westminster Car Insurance | Centennial Car Insurance | Pueblo Car Insurance | Boulder Car Insurance | Greeley Car Insurance | Longmont Car Insurance | Loveland Car Insurance | Broomfield Car Insurance | Grand Junction Car Insurance | Castle Rock Car Insurance | Commerce City Car Insurance