Massachusetts Car Insurance Regulations & Required Coverage

Massachusetts car insurance regulations have very specific rules for both consumers and agents, and is one of the most highly regulated states when it comes to insurance law. Massachusetts auto insurance law operates under a no-fault system, meaning that your insurance company is responsible for paying for your damages regardless of fault. Find the right amount of Massachusetts car insurance coverage with our free comparison tool below.

Free Insurance Comparison

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Natasha McLachlan is a writer who currently lives in Southern California. She is an alumna of California College of the Arts, where she obtained her B.A. in Writing and Literature. Her current work revolves around insurance guides and informational articles. She truly enjoys helping others learn more about everyday, practical matters through her work.

Full Bio →

Written by

Laura Walker graduated college with a BS in Criminal Justice with a minor in Political Science. She married her husband and began working in the family insurance business in 2005. She became a licensed agent and wrote P&C business focusing on personal lines insurance for 10 years. Laura serviced existing business and wrote new business. She now uses her insurance background to help educate...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Laura Walker
Former Licensed Agent

UPDATED: Jul 16, 2021

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.

Massachusetts is one of the most highly regulated states with regards to insurance. They have very specific rules for both consumers and agents. The state requires all drivers to maintain a car insurance policy at all times with certain minimum requirements. Those that drive without insurance risk large fines, lose of their license and registration and possibly time in jail.

Massachusetts insurance law operates under a no-fault system. Specifics can vary from state to state but basically it means that your insurance company is responsible for paying for your damages regardless of fault. Your rights to sue the at fault are limited, but the time to receive insurance benefits is reduced compared with tort states.

Required Coverage

All personal vehicles in Massachusetts require the following liability coverage requirements:

  • Bodily Injury
  • Property Damage

Additionally, Massachusetts requires:

  • Uninusred / Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury
  • Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
Minimum Massachusetts Car Insurance Requirements
Bodily Injury Liability $20,000 / $40,000 Limit
Property Damage Liability $5,000 Limit
Uninsured/Underinsured Bodily Injury $20,000 / $40,000 Limit
Personal Injury Protection $8,000 Limit

Additional insurance coverage can include:

  • Comprehensive and Collision Coverage

Comprehensive insurance covers you in the event that your vehicle is damaged in an incident such as a fallen tree damaging your car or if it has been stolen. A list of the most stolen vehicles in Massachusetts can show you if your vehicle is more at risk than others. Collision insurance provides payment for repairs
or replacement of your vehicle from damages sustained in an accident.

Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility

Establishing proof of insurance and financial responsibility

  • Get a standard liability car insurance policy

Required Documentation

In order to provide proof of insurance, you can provide one of the following:

  • Insurance ID Card

You must maintain proof of insurance and financial responsibility and present it:

  • When asked by a police officer
  • After an accident
  • When registering or renewing your vehicle’s registration
  • Anytime you are operating a vehicle

Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility Penalties

If you are unable to show proof of insurance, you can face the following penalties:

  • Fines between $500 – $5,000 and/or imprisonment of up to 1 year
  • Suspension of your license and/or vehicle’s registration

Massachusetts Insurance Agents

Boston Car Insurance | Worcester Car Insurance | Springfield Car Insurance | Lowell Car Insurance | Cambridge Car Insurance | Brockton Car Insurance | New Bedford Car Insurance | Quincy Car Insurance | Lynn Car Insurance | Newton Car Insurance | Fall River Car Insurance | Somerville Car Insurance | Lawrence Car Insurance | Waltham Car Insurance | Haverhill Car Insurance | Malden Car Insurance | Medford Car Insurance | Taunton Car Insurance

Free Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption