Foremost

This Foremost review will cover Foremost ratings by real users for overall satisfaction and claims, cost, billing, and service satisfaction. The Foremost A.M. Best rating is A, and the Foremost S&P Rating is A+. To compare insurance rates from the best companies in your locale, enter your ZIP code below.

Free Insurance Comparison

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Chris Tepedino is a feature writer that has written extensively about home, life, and car insurance for numerous websites. He has a college degree in communication from the University of Tennessee and has experience reporting, researching investigative pieces, and crafting detailed, data-driven features. His works have been featured on CB Blog Nation, Flow Words, Healing Law, WIBW Kansas, and C...

Full Bio →

Written by Chris Tepedino
Insurance Feature Writer Chris Tepedino

Laura Walker graduated college with a BS in Criminal Justice with a minor in Political Science. She married her husband and began working in the family insurance business in 2005. She became a licensed agent and wrote P&C business focusing on personal lines insurance for 10 years. Laura serviced existing business and wrote new business. She now uses her insurance background to help educate...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Laura Walker
Former Licensed Agent Laura Walker

UPDATED: Jun 10, 2021

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.

Company Details
Address: P.O. Box 2450
City: Grand Rapids
State: MI
ZIP Code: 49501
Phone Number: (616) 942-3000
AM Best Rating: A
S&P Global Ratings: A+
For over 60 years, Foremost Insurance Group has offered a variety of different insurance plans to their customers. They are affiliated with a number of different nationally known companies, and have a series of plans designed in conjunction with them for their specific client bases. Foremost Insurance Group is a member of the Farmers Insurance Group of Companies, and was the first company in the nation to come up with a form of insurance for mobile homes.For over 60 years, Foremost Insurance Group has offered a variety of different personal and business services insurance plans to their customers. They are affiliated with a number of different nationally known companies, and they have a series of plans designed in conjunction with them for their specific client bases. Foremost Insurance Group is a member of the Farmers Insurance Group of Companies and was the first company in the nation to come up with a form of insurance for mobile homes.

Foremost Insurance Group is licensed for all 50 states, and boasts that their claims representatives have an operational capacity of 24/7/365, or all of the time for whatever problems may arise. Foremost offers an array of standard insurance plans, like those for homeowners, however, they also insure many things that other insurance companies do not. The full list is as follows:

  • Business Insurance
    • Umbrella
    • Worker’s Compensation
    • Commercial Auto
  • Automobile Insurance
  • Home Insurance
  • Motor Home Insurance
  • Fifth-Wheel Insurance
  • Travel Trailer Insurance
  • Luxury Motor Coach Insurance
  • Mobile Home Insurance
  • Vacant Home Insurance
  • Landlord and Rental Home Insurance
  • Seasonal Home Insurance
  • Motorcycle Insurance
  • Off-Road Vehicle Insurance
  • Scooter Insurance
  • Golf Cart Insurance
  • Neighborhood Electric Vehicle Insurance
  • Snowmobile Insurance
  • Personal Watercraft Insurance
  • Boat Insurance
  • Collectible Automobile Insurance
  • Flood Insurance

What Kind of Discounts Can Users Expect on Comprehensive Coverage?

Foremost Insurance Group offers a series of discounts depending on the policy. For example, you could receive a discount for paying electronically online, combining policies, or paying for an entire years’ worth of coverage all at once. Their website contains details on all of their policies, and states how to qualify for a discount. If you already have Foremost homeowners insurance, an auto policy is a natural extension.

Many people start out by putting their zip code into our calculator to get an insurance quote for one product. We generate quotes from multiple companies in your area to make comparison easy. If you’re thinking of bundling all your policies, a specialized insurance agent can evaluate your options and look for every applicable discount.

In order to get insurance coverage through Foremost Insurance Group, you can either submit an online quote request through their website, call their 1-800 number, or contact a specific local Foremost Insurance Group agency. However, some of their insurance products are not available in all fifty states – you can receive flood insurance coverage through Foremost no matter where you live in the United States, but can only receive automobile insurance in 43 states.

Reviews
for Foremost Insurance Group

3.57 (181 reviews)
5
February 16, 2020

Soooonz

Saved me and my wife $70 on a bundled plan.

I've been with them for 3 years and have been extremely happy with their company. They helped me manage my internet billing which was new to me so I don't even have to get a money order to send payment. This saves me a bunch of time. They managed to cut my rate by around $70 compared to my last provider and were able to get me the same coverage as well as towing for 50 miles. They were a smooth company to work with and always answered my question...
I've been with them for 3 years and have been extremely happy with their company. They helped me manage my internet billing which was new to me so I don't even have to get a money order to send payment. This saves me a bunch of time. They managed to cut my rate by around $70 compared to my last provider and were able to get me the same coverage as well as towing for 50 miles. They were a smooth company to work with and always answered my questions when I called them. My wife is also on the same plan and we were bundled and saved around $70. Overall I'm very happy with them.
3
June 11, 2019

SamanthaLynne

Mostly Good, Little bad to say!

My experience so far with Foremost has been pretty good. It just seems that every 6 months maybe even sooner, but I know every six months my policy renews and the rates go up! So I don't understand, why I have yet to call them and ask. So it's a little frustrating especially when you're a good driver you know, like Progressive says, Safe Driver discount a good driver discount. No accidents no tickets no incentive to stay with that company?, the ...
My experience so far with Foremost has been pretty good. It just seems that every 6 months maybe even sooner, but I know every six months my policy renews and the rates go up! So I don't understand, why I have yet to call them and ask. So it's a little frustrating especially when you're a good driver you know, like Progressive says, Safe Driver discount a good driver discount. No accidents no tickets no incentive to stay with that company?, the only incentive is to cancel my policy with them and find something else. I know the answer they're going to give me when I ask why they raise my rates every few months they're going to answer "Oh, everyone does in your area. All the insurance companies do it!
5
December 13, 2018

AllBowl7

Great people and coverage but pricey

It was a great policy that covered everything. My husband got hit by another car and we had no problems with the insurance company, they were easy to deal with and he got a rental while the car was in the shop. However we switched to another company because after years with them the rates went up too much and we found the same policy for half the price somewhere else. It may have been because we switched from buying through an agency to buying th...
It was a great policy that covered everything. My husband got hit by another car and we had no problems with the insurance company, they were easy to deal with and he got a rental while the car was in the shop. However we switched to another company because after years with them the rates went up too much and we found the same policy for half the price somewhere else. It may have been because we switched from buying through an agency to buying the insurance ourselves.
5
November 20, 2018

Goodgirl49

Great Service

My agent takes the time to explain my coverage and options to me. Gives me the opportunity to shop around prior to committing
5
September 26, 2018

Hearty

Reliable company

Very reliable company. Agents always answer the phone with good manners and friendly tone of voice.
2
September 15, 2018

Reivers

Foremost raised by insurance premium by 40%

Are used to be a 21st century insurance customer and Foremost bought them out. When I received my first bill from Foremost my insurance went up 40% ! I will seek new insurance clothes and hopefully reduce my premium!
4
August 15, 2018

YEETYEET69

Highly Recommend

My rates have been the same since I've started and the company has helped me get as many discounts as I can
4
August 14, 2018

Nle1882

Foremost Review

Foremost is an excellent insurance company because they are reliable, and trustworthy with helpful customer service.
4
July 25, 2018

Nle1882

Good Company

I really like this insurance company because they have great rates and friendly customer service. The renewal process is very easy and hassle free.
4
July 19, 2018

Dlmg2979

Foremost insurance

My experience has been very pleasant. The customer service department answered all of my questions very clearly, so I could easily understand everything.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.usinsuranceagents.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption