Markel American

This Markel American review will cover Markel American ratings by real users for overall satisfaction and claims, cost, billing, and service satisfaction. The Markel American A.M. Best rating is A, and the Markel American S&P Rating is A. To compare insurance rates from the best companies in your locale, enter your ZIP code below.

Free Insurance Comparison

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Chris Tepedino is a feature writer that has written extensively about home, life, and car insurance for numerous websites. He has a college degree in communication from the University of Tennessee and has experience reporting, researching investigative pieces, and crafting detailed, data-driven features. His works have been featured on CB Blog Nation, Flow Words, Healing Law, WIBW Kansas, and C...

Full Bio →

Written by Chris Tepedino
Insurance Feature Writer Chris Tepedino

Laura Walker graduated college with a BS in Criminal Justice with a minor in Political Science. She married her husband and began working in the family insurance business in 2005. She became a licensed agent and wrote P&C business focusing on personal lines insurance for 10 years. Laura serviced existing business and wrote new business. She now uses her insurance background to help educate...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Laura Walker
Former Licensed Agent Laura Walker

UPDATED: Nov 19, 2011

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.

Company Details
Address: 4521 Highwoods Parkway
City: Glen Allen
State: VA
ZIP Code: 23060
Phone Number: (804) 747-0136
Fax: (804) 527-7905
AM Best Rating: A
S&P Global Ratings: A
Moody's Rating: A2
Fitch Rating: A+

Reviews
for Markel American Insurance Company

1.88 (16 reviews)
1
November 25, 2020

cruz5759

Terrible Experience; Deceptive Trade Practices; Stay Away

I own a 2005 Sea Ray. I have an insurance policy through the issuing company Markel American Insurance Company. About two months ago, saltwater got into the engine in the boat and caused it to seize up and stop functioning. The main reason that I got insurance through this company is because they advertise that their policy does not have mechanical breakdown exclusion. Even on the website, there is an example: "Mechanical Breakdown Inboard ...
I own a 2005 Sea Ray. I have an insurance policy through the issuing company Markel American Insurance Company. About two months ago, saltwater got into the engine in the boat and caused it to seize up and stop functioning. The main reason that I got insurance through this company is because they advertise that their policy does not have mechanical breakdown exclusion. Even on the website, there is an example: "Mechanical Breakdown Inboard cylinder engine. Evidence of water intrusion in 2 cylinders. This engine is raw-water cooled. Saltwater circulating through the engine caused corrosion creating holes in the valve guide bores. A close up below of the corrosion: If your policy excludes machinery breakdown chances are you could be paying for a new engine out of your own pocket. Unlike most, our policy does not have mechanical breakdown exclusion. " At this point, the insurance company has sent us a formal letter denying our claim and refusing to pay anything. They first tried to say that the damage was caused by faulty manifolds and risers and that they need to be replaced every 5-6 years and that they would be denying our claim. They never even bothered to ask if we had replaced them recently. We in fact had replaced them about 3 years ago and we sent them a document showing this. Then they said they would reexamine the case, but after a while, they still decided to deny our claim and basically cited "corrosion" as the reason, even though in their advertising in the example above, it clearly shows that this is something they will cover. The way they advertise their coverage on the website clearly suggests that our case is something they would cover. However they are refusing to do so and to me this is a plain case of deceptive trade practices and false advertising. Also, the senior claims examiner failed to return multiple calls and messages from both myself as well as my mechanic. Terrible experience with this company. I would advise to stay away from them and to not trust their advertising.
1
June 10, 2020

HonestReviewer1977

SCAMMERS MONEY HUNGRY PIGS

STAY AWAY. They only want your money and premiums increases every year for no reason. Difficult to receive money from this scamming company after an accident.
1
March 30, 2020

Stuartrich

Horrible experience with claim

Wast of money. Price of insurance was not bad but once u make a claim they will try to make u feel like a liar and do anything they can to not pay. Horrible experience
2
September 25, 2019

STststs

Not for me.

Had motorcycle insurance with Markel for the past year. When renewal came up, I was shocked, premium went up 27%, no accidents, claims or tickets, riding about 3k miles a year. Are they kidding, how can they stay in business, I could easily stay with them if the rates would be the same but...went with another insurance, way, way cheaper and same limits. I guess Markel does NOT want my $$$ and that's OK, there are hundreds of companies to insure w...
Had motorcycle insurance with Markel for the past year. When renewal came up, I was shocked, premium went up 27%, no accidents, claims or tickets, riding about 3k miles a year. Are they kidding, how can they stay in business, I could easily stay with them if the rates would be the same but...went with another insurance, way, way cheaper and same limits. I guess Markel does NOT want my $$$ and that's OK, there are hundreds of companies to insure with. So, maybe you're OK with Markel, just watch your premium go through the roof when renewal comes up.
5
January 9, 2019

James2220

Great

Great insurance gets to you as soon as you need help. Also has great insurance deals for the policies and great pricing.
1
September 26, 2018

Nikkidd

I would not expect them to cover you without a fight

Great price compared to Progressive, Geico, and many others, pretty easy application on line, bad at paying claims and making you feel like a liar. I am going on 40 days still waiting to see if my claim is going to be accepted or denied and this is after they have interviewed me and witnesses and companies not even involved.
4.5
May 29, 2017

okaywilldo

Yep Yepp Yepppppppppppppp

It was great! I had a lot of time reviewing the details about this company. It was very very fun. Thanks a lot everyone!
4
January 12, 2017

ekaratzas

Pain free motorcycle coverage

Markel has been easy to work with and they include some good benefits including 24-hr roadside assistance and some decent discounts at certain dealerships.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.usinsuranceagents.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption