Wyoming Car Insurance Regulations & Required Coverage
Wyoming car insurance regulations set the minimum levels of coverage drivers must meet in order to legally operate a moving vehicle in the state. Wyoming auto insurance requirements are 25/50/20 in minimum liability, but you can add more coverage with a comprehensive policy. Find the right policy for you with our ZIP code search below and compare Wyoming car insurance quotes for free.
Free Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Jul 16, 2021
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.
Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.
Drivers in Wyoming are required to maintain proof of financial responsibility when operating a vehicle. The most common way to do this is by getting a car insurance policy. The specific insurance laws in Wyoming are similar to other states but do vary and should be reviewed to ensure you are both abiding by the law and protected in the event of an accident.
The state of Wyoming bases its insurance law on a tort system. Under a tort system, someone will always be found at fault for causing an accident. This person, along with their insurance company is then held liable for paying any monetary damages resulting from the accident.
All personal vehicles in Wyoming require the following liability coverage requirements:
- Bodily Injury
- Property Damage
|Minimum Wyoming Car Insurance Requirements|
|Bodily Injury Liability||$25,000 / $50,000 Limit|
|Property Damage Liability||$20,000 Limit|
Additional insurance coverage can include:
- Uninsured / Underinsured Coverage
- Comprehensive and Collision Coverage
- Rental Reimbursement
Uninsured and underinsured coverage is important coverage to add to your policy to protect you against drivers who do not have adequate coverage to pay for all damages of an accident or for drivers who do not have any insurance at all.
Collision pays for expenses related to repairing your vehicle after an accident. Comprehensive coverage pays for damage to your vehicle caused by fire or flooding. It also helps reimburse you if your car is stolen. We have compiled a list of the most stolen vehicles in Wyoming. Even if your vehicle isn’t listed, you should consider adding this coverage for its other benefits.
Towing coverage pays for the cost of having your vehicle towed or transported after being disabled or in an accident.
Rental reimbursement coverage can provide money for expenses related to substitute transportation while your car is being repaired after an accident.
Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility
Establishing proof of insurance and financial responsibility
- Get a standard liability car insurance policy
- Posting a bond
- Depositing $25,000 with the State Treasurer and receiving a certificate of deposit
In order to provide proof of insurance, you can provide one of the following:
- Insurance ID Card
- Certificate of Deposit
- Evidence of a bond on file
You must maintain proof of insurance and financial responsibility and present it:
- When asked by a police officer
- When registering your vehicle
- After an accident
- Anytime you are operating a vehicle
Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility Penalties
If you are unable to show proof of insurance, you can face the following penalties:
- First Offense – A fine between $250 – $750 and/or imprisonment up to 6 months
- Subsequent Offenses – A fine of between $500 – $1,500 and/or imprisonment up to 6 months. In addition, your registration will be suspended