Missouri Car Insurance Regulations & Required Coverage
Missouri car insurance regulations follow a tort system and require drivers to carry uninsured/underinsured motorist and liability coverage. Under Missouri auto insurance law someone will be found at fault for causing an accident. The at-fault party and their insurance company are then responsible for repaying injured parties.
Free Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Jul 16, 2021
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.
Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.
Missouri is similar to other states that follow a tort system with the main difference that it also requires drivers to maintain uninsured / underinsured motorist coverage. A car insurance is the most popular way to maintain financial responsibility within the state, but there are other means available too. Review the current requirements for insurance and stay up to date on any changes to ensure you’re following the law.
Missouri insurance law was written in accordance with a tort system. In a state that follows the tort system, someone will be found at fault, or responsible for causing an accident. The at fault party along with their insurance company is then responsible for repaying expenses. The specifics of a tort system can vary by state.
All personal vehicles in Missouri require the following liability coverage requirements:
- Bodily Injury
- Property Damage
Also, the state requires:
- Uninsured / Underinsured Bodily Injury
|Minimum Missouri Car Insurance Requirements|
|Bodily Injury Liability||$25,000 / $50,000 Limit|
|Property Damage Liability||$25,000 Limit|
|Uninsured Bodily Injury||$25,000 / $50,000 Limit|
Additional insurance coverage can include:
- Comprehensive and Collision Coverage
Comprehensive insurance covers non-collision related incidents such as damage to your vehicle from a flood or having your car stolen. The most stolen vehicles in Missouri are listed to see if your vehicle is at risk. Collision will pay for repairs or even replacement of your vehicle if it is damaged in an accident.
Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility
Establishing proof of insurance and financial responsibility
- Get a standard liability car insurance policy
- Self insurance
- Surety bond, cash deposit or securities worth $60,000 filed with the Department of Revenue
- File a real estate bond with the Department of Revenue
In order to provide proof of insurance, you can provide one of the following:
- Insurance ID Card
- Actual insurance policy or binder
- Receipt of insurance policy with your name, vehicle information and policy number printed on it
- Self insurance card
- Financial responsibility card from the Driver and Vehicle Services Bureau
You must maintain proof of insurance and financial responsibility and present it:
- When asked by a police officer
- After an accident
- When registering or renewing your vehicle’s registration
- Anytime you are operating a vehicle
Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility Penalties
If you are unable to show proof of insurance, you can face the following penalties:
- Suspension of your license and/or vehicle registration for up to 1 year depending if it is a first, second or third offense
- Reinstatement fees of $20 for first offense, $200 for second offense and $400 for subsequent offenses
- Requirement to maintain an SR-22 for 3 years if found to not have insurance when involved in an accident
- 4 points added to your license
- Monitoring by the Driver License Bureau to ensure the driver maintains insurance
Missouri Insurance Agents
Kansas City Car Insurance | Springfield Car Insurance | Columbia Car Insurance | Independence Car Insurance | Blue Springs Car Insurance | Florissant Car Insurance | Joplin Car Insurance | Chesterfield Car Insurance | Jefferson City Car Insurance | Cape Girardeau Car Insurance | Wildwood Car Insurance | Wentzville Car Insurance | University City Car Insurance | Ballwin Car Insurance | Liberty Car Insurance | Raytown Car Insurance | Kirkwood Car Insurance | Maryland Heights Car Insurance