GEICO

This GEICO review will cover GEICO ratings by real users for overall satisfaction and claims, cost, billing, and service satisfaction. The GEICO A.M. Best rating is A++, and the GEICO S&P Rating is AA+. To compare insurance rates from the best companies in your locale, enter your ZIP code below.

UPDATED: Feb 11, 2021

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Feb 11, 2021Fact Checked

Free Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Chris Tepedino is a feature writer that has written extensively about home, life, and car insurance for numerous websites. He has a college degree in communication from the University of Tennessee and has experience reporting, researching investigative pieces, and crafting detailed, data-driven features. His works have been featured on CB Blog Nation, Flow Words, Healing Law, WIBW Kansas, and C...

Full Bio →

Written by Chris Tepedino
Insurance Feature Writer Chris Tepedino

Laura Walker graduated college with a BS in Criminal Justice with a minor in Political Science. She married her husband and began working in the family insurance business in 2005. She became a licensed agent and wrote P&C business focusing on personal lines insurance for 10 years. Laura serviced existing business and wrote new business. She now uses her insurance background to help educate...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Laura Walker
Former Licensed Agent Laura Walker

UPDATED: Feb 11, 2021

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.

Company Details
Address: 5260 Western Avenue
City: Chevy Chase
State: MD
ZIP Code: 20815
Phone Number: (800) 841-3000
Fax: (301) 986-2237
Website: geico.com
AM Best Rating: A++
S&P Global Ratings: AA+
Moody's Rating: Aa3
Fitch Rating: AA-

Geico is the fourth largest insurer of auto insurance policies in the country. The company is a wholly owned subsidiary of Berkshire Hathaway, Inc., headed by Warren buffet. In business since 1936, the company boasts more than 20,000 employees and over 21 billion in issued policies.

Reviews
for GEICO

4.11 (19,116 reviews)
1
January 3, 2022

Volodymyr_Korolevych

Adjuster stopped responding

Cant get ahold of anyone. Always different people giving me different numbers. No resolution Mr [REDACTED NAME], claim adjuster stopped responding to my requests without any resolution. Also not picking up my phone
1
May 17, 2021

Sergei_K

Can't get rid of them

From my personal experience, GEICO is the best place if you want to be fooled. Once you open the door, you can't get rid of them. About a year ago I canceled my policy ceasing any dealings with Geico. I paid the premiums in full and closed my account. Throughout the year, I've been a happy StateFarm customer. Several weeks ago, Geico unilaterally opened my policy forcing me to pay premiums for the following 6 months. Understanding that it could b...
From my personal experience, GEICO is the best place if you want to be fooled. Once you open the door, you can't get rid of them. About a year ago I canceled my policy ceasing any dealings with Geico. I paid the premiums in full and closed my account. Throughout the year, I've been a happy StateFarm customer. Several weeks ago, Geico unilaterally opened my policy forcing me to pay premiums for the following 6 months. Understanding that it could be a mistake, I contacted them 3 times. I talked to 6 different people. All of them promised to help me. I wrote 2 emails attaching copies of my StateFarm Id's for the entire period (after Geico policy cancellation). It didn't cure the problem. Moreover, Geico retroactively and unilaterally (without my desire, knowledge, and consent) reopened the policy. Now, they force me to pay for the previous months (last year). Geico supervisor [REDACTED NAME] claims that he obtains sufficient evidence that I hadn't been insured after I officially broke with Geico in April-May 2020 = the company is right demanding me to pay for nothing. From my non-legal understanding, it's a fraud, He knowingly (I sent them StateFarm Id's for the entire period) mispresents the facts unlawfully demanding payment.
1
February 10, 2021

vscore16

BAIT AND SWITCH

They waited 60 days and then doubled my rate. they never notified me. When I looked it up they said it was due to the agent putting it in as a sports bus, and since I am using it for sales my rate is double. yes on their letter they sent me it shows right on it that the old use is class "C" and the new use is class "C". The reviews on geicos website are fake. real reviews are much more negative. They lie in their commercials about saving money s...
They waited 60 days and then doubled my rate. they never notified me. When I looked it up they said it was due to the agent putting it in as a sports bus, and since I am using it for sales my rate is double. yes on their letter they sent me it shows right on it that the old use is class "C" and the new use is class "C". The reviews on geicos website are fake. real reviews are much more negative. They lie in their commercials about saving money so why would I not expect them to lie about the rate they are giving me. I am no risk adjuster but any halfway intelligent person knows their is a lot more risk for a bus full of athletes that ways 20,000 pounds than a minivan with one person in it. Yet according to geico insuring a moving tank is cheaper than insuring a minivan. Would you believe that? I am not that gullible. Bait and switch all the way.
5
February 3, 2021

Trinidad2_

geico is the best

great company with fantastic customer service they lowered my cost due to covid with no issues and they are always a phoen call away fo r help wiht my policy, i wholeheartedly reccomend them
2
February 3, 2021

Jotwox

Not recommend

They were alright not the best. If they put in more effort into the customers they could’ve kept me.
5
February 2, 2021

Waycross43_

Helpful

Geico has been great during the pandemic. They have worked with me changing billing dates based on what I need. They have helped me save 212 dollars a month on insurance.
5
February 1, 2021

Babanana

Geico is amazing

My experience receiving auto insurance from Geico has been extremely positive. The insurance process was perfectly smooth and I have all my insurance information neatly organized at the tip of my fingers on my mobile phone. The coverage and premiums are much better than I received from my previous provider.
2
February 1, 2021

Justin_Kim

Filing a claim at geico

They were very nice and had good customer service. Once I even filed a claim and they got back to me within seventy-four hours.
5
January 28, 2021

Dingo

Insurance You Can Understand

The representative borke down all information in an easy-to-understand manner and then made very easy the process of initiating the policies. I am also very happy with the ease of managing online and on the app.
5
January 22, 2021

wheezer

Very reasonable

This is the best insurance company I think there is. Rates are very reasonable and they do not overcharge. I am able to pay my insurance every 6 months and when I received my renewal, there was no rate increase. I will be a loyal Geico customer for sure!
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.usinsuranceagents.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption