North Dakota Car Insurance Regulations & Required Coverage
North Dakota car insurance regulations allow a few different ways to establish financial responsibility for their vehicles, but most drivers choose to obtain car insurance. Being a no-fault state, North Dakota auto insurance law mandates that after an accident, each driver’s insurance company is responsible for paying for the damages of the insured. Find affordable North Dakota car insurance coverage here with our free online quote comparison tool below.
Free Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Jul 16, 2021
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.
Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.
North Dakota allows a few different ways to establish financial responsibility but most drivers do so by obtaining car insurance. Those that do not run the risk of fines and lose of driving privileges. Required coverage in North Dakota and specific laws vary from other states so its worth staying up to date on them.
Being a no fault state, North Dakota insurance law mandates that after an accident, each driver’s insurance company is responsible for paying for the damages of the insured. The driver’s right to sue is also limited in a no fault state but receiving compensation from insurance companies is usually quicker.
All personal vehicles in North Dakota require the following liability coverage requirements:
- Bodily Injury
- Property Damage
The state also requires:
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury
- Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
|Minimum North Dakota Car Insurance Requirements|
|Bodily Injury Liability||$25,000 / $50,000 Limit|
|Property Damage Liability||$25,000 Limit|
|Uninsured/Underinsured Bodily Injury||$25,000 / $50,000 Limit|
|Personal Injury Protection||$30,000 Limit|
Additional insurance coverage can include:
- Comprehensive and Collision Coverage
Comprehensive and collision coverage are usually sold together. Comprehensive pays for non-collision related incidents such as fire damage or if your vehicle is stolen. A list of the most stolen vehicles in North Dakota can give you an immediate idea if this coverage would be useful. Collision pays for repairs or replacement of your vehicle after it’s sustained damage from an accident.
Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility
Establishing proof of insurance and financial responsibility
- Get a standard liability car insurance policy
- Apply with the Automobile Insurance Plan
- Self insurance – must have 25 or more vehicles insured
In order to provide proof of insurance, you can provide one of the following:
- Insurance ID card
- Letter certifying that you’re covered under the North Dakota Automobile Insurance Plan
- Certificate of self insurance
You must maintain proof of insurance and financial responsibility:
- When asked by a police officer
- After an accident
- When registering your vehicle
- Anytime you drive your vehicle
Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility Penalties
If you are not able to show proof of insurance, you can face the following penalties:
- Fine of $150
- Have your vehicle impounded until proof of insurance is shown (for subsequent offenses)
- If involved in an accident with no insurance, 14 points will be added to your driver’s license resulting in an automatic suspension