AAA

This AAA review will cover AAA ratings by real users for overall satisfaction and claims, cost, billing, and service satisfaction. The AAA A.M. Best rating is A+. To compare insurance rates from the best companies in your locale, enter your ZIP code below.

Free Insurance Comparison

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Chris Tepedino is a feature writer that has written extensively about home, life, and car insurance for numerous websites. He has a college degree in communication from the University of Tennessee and has experience reporting, researching investigative pieces, and crafting detailed, data-driven features. His works have been featured on CB Blog Nation, Flow Words, Healing Law, WIBW Kansas, and C...

Full Bio →

Written by Chris Tepedino
Insurance Feature Writer Chris Tepedino

Laura Walker graduated college with a BS in Criminal Justice with a minor in Political Science. She married her husband and began working in the family insurance business in 2005. She became a licensed agent and wrote P&C business focusing on personal lines insurance for 10 years. Laura serviced existing business and wrote new business. She now uses her insurance background to help educate...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Laura Walker
Former Licensed Agent Laura Walker

UPDATED: Nov 19, 2011

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.

Company Details
Address: 3055 Oak Road
City: Walnut Creek
State: CA
ZIP Code: 94597
Phone Number: (925) 279-2300
Fax: (877) 819-9064
AM Best Rating: A+

AAA Insurance was founded in the early 1990’s by the American Automobile Association. The company sells both auto and home insurance, and is available through dedicated AAA agents. Unlike most insurance companies, AAA insurance limits the policies they write to members of the auto club. The total assets of the company are estimated at around $425 million, and total amount of existing premiums is around $234 million.

Reviews
for AAA

4.12 (2,930 reviews)
1
February 28, 2022

tom_pop

Breach of Trust -- Raises Premium Without Notifying Consumer

AAA increased my annual premium by $319 a year after just one month on the plan -- and without giving me any notice. I only happened to catch it because I saw the cost of my next bill was significantly higher. I feel like AAA has a pretty stellar reputation, so I was shocked when this happened. When I cancelled my policy, I was hit with a huge fee as well, but I was so discouraged by this customer service experience that I just wanted out -- even...
AAA increased my annual premium by $319 a year after just one month on the plan -- and without giving me any notice. I only happened to catch it because I saw the cost of my next bill was significantly higher. I feel like AAA has a pretty stellar reputation, so I was shocked when this happened. When I cancelled my policy, I was hit with a huge fee as well, but I was so discouraged by this customer service experience that I just wanted out -- even if other insurers are going to charge me similar rates.
5
July 25, 2021

CCADE

Excellent, Fast Professional & Friendly Service

Locked Out Of Car. [REDACTED NAME] Did A Excellent & Professional Job! & AAA Service Was Exactly Worth My Premier Membership For Our Family. We R Very Grateful For His Service. On Such A Hot Day He Gave Service With A Smile👏Thank U [REDACTED NAME] For Being Such A Dedicated Young Man To Your Job. We Will Tell Others About AAA! & 👌EXCELLENT SERVICE.
1
April 2, 2021

vintagemx465

Home Owners Insurance

I have been a AAA member for over 27 years (one way or another). I received a letter saying they no longer could insure my home because the dangers of my house location. I called and asked what Dangers and they could not answer after several attempts (intimidation)? I later received another letter stating I had to have a video review of my home (invasion of privacy). After the video, was contacted by phone stating they wanted to see permits (hara...
I have been a AAA member for over 27 years (one way or another). I received a letter saying they no longer could insure my home because the dangers of my house location. I called and asked what Dangers and they could not answer after several attempts (intimidation)? I later received another letter stating I had to have a video review of my home (invasion of privacy). After the video, was contacted by phone stating they wanted to see permits (harassment). In that same phone conversation, I told the person that I wanted to see the renewal amount and then we could talk. I received my renewal and AAA gave me a 40% increase on my policy. Bottom line is after the intimidation, invasion of privacy and the harassment, I will not renew my homeowners, auto and Roadside Service with this terrible company... Just check the reviews on AAA's reputations on paying claims (or lack of). They like "Kicking the Can Down the Road" (a claim), but really kick the policy owners to the curb.
1
January 24, 2021

Always_Cold

Good customer service

I made my call about 10 am or so today (Sunday 1/24/2021). I was assisted by a AAA member, and I let her know that my mother's car has a dead battery and for them to come and take a look at it. My mother is also a AAA member. The AAA battery was purchased on 2/7/2020 (it is less than a year old) by me on her behalf, and I have told her to limit going out since she is immunocompromised. A Deerfield (company that is contracted by AAA) gentleman [RE...
I made my call about 10 am or so today (Sunday 1/24/2021). I was assisted by a AAA member, and I let her know that my mother's car has a dead battery and for them to come and take a look at it. My mother is also a AAA member. The AAA battery was purchased on 2/7/2020 (it is less than a year old) by me on her behalf, and I have told her to limit going out since she is immunocompromised. A Deerfield (company that is contracted by AAA) gentleman [REDACTED NAME] came out and asked me how long the car has been sitting there. I told him about 2 weeks. He flat out refused to replace my battery which is under a 6-year warranty after showing me that it is a bad battery (after he hooked it to his machine; it said BAD battery in RED). I talked to [REDACTED NAME], a AAA customer service employee, who was wonderful and assisted me (on behalf of my mother) in every way while [REDACTED NAME] was rude to [REDACTED NAME] and me. [REDACTED NAME] called his supervisor [REDACTED NAME] who was also rude to me and [REDACTED NAME]. [REDACTED NAME], the Deerfield supervisor, told me and my mother to drive around and if the car goes dead again, to call AAA back. How ethical is it of Deerfield to let my elderly mother drive around on a bad battery waiting for it to fail while putting her in an unsafe position (should she get stalled in a bad place; and what if I was not there to help her since I'm a healthcare worker and can't just leave)? This is just begging for bad things to happen. [REDACTED NAME] connected me with the Resolutions Dept; I talked to [REDACTED NAME] in the Resolutions Dept and [REDACTED NAME] apologized and said he would send someone out to replace the battery since he himself agreed that the battery was under warranty. In about 45 mins or so I got a call from Auto-to-go who said they will NOT replace my mother's battery. So, I called AAA AGAIN. I spoke to [REDACTED NAME] in the Resolutions Department who tried to help and said [REDACTED NAME] (who is her supervisor) would call me as he was a supervisor in the Resolutions Department. 2.5 hours later, no call. So, I called AGAIN and spoke to [REDACTED NAME] who said she couldn't do anything but put in a complaint against Deerfield and the "Service Monitoring Dept" would be calling me in about 5-7 business days. She did end up giving me a complaint #; she did do at least that much for me. But obviously, that didn't help me in my current situation. I and my mother have been loyal PLUS members for 13 years and have never encountered such terrible customer service from AAA or Deerfield. Is the Resolutions Dept in name only because no one has been able to help me/my mother or been able to resolve this? After an hour long wait (I was on hold that whole time), I was finally able to talk to the supervisor in the Resolutions Dept, [REDACTED NAME], who I thought would help me. But my luck - not only was [REDACTED NAME] rude, but she was also of no help. She said I need to get my (mother's) battery recharged myself by driving to Autozone with no offer to tow us there- seems like AAA was putting me and my mother in harm's way (they didn't care if the battery or me and/or my elderly mother was stalled on the road) just so I could get off their back - at least [REDACTED NAME] made it seem like that. She said "we have to follow the battery protocol." I told her all she had to do was offer to tow the car to the nearest AAA and have them charge the battery for us, but she didn't. I had to come up with that idea all on my own. Later, she claimed it to be her idea. Unbelievable. My mother and I are very shocked and terribly disappointed in the customer service shown by the Resolutions Department. It is now almost 4 pm with no resolution and me calling them 4 times, and on hold for an hour each time I called. They must think I have nothing better to do than be on hold. [REDACTED NAME], then, tells me to call again in the morning so they can tow my mother's car to a AAA shop and get the battery recharged. That was all she had to do to help a customer out, but she didn't even do that! [REDACTED NAME] was continuously clacking on the keyboard and who knows what all she was typing/saying about me. She didn't even have the courtesy to answer me when I asked a question; she said "I'm making notes about this." She just continued to type without apologizing as she never answered my question. Unclear why they have people like [REDACTED NAME] as supervisors in a Resolution Department. Maybe I should be a supervisor at AAA because here would have been my response, and the response I was hoping for (that never happened). It would have also been a way to have kept a 13-year loyal member happy. What should have been said was: I'm so sorry this happened to you/your mother's car. Let's fix this by towing you to the nearest AAA location, getting your battery charged; if it's bad, we'll replace it; if it's not, it is charged now and you will not have any further trouble. Once charged, let's tow it back to your house so you don't have to worry about this. Now THAT would be good customer service to a loyal member that would have kept me and my mother a loyal member, and I would give AAA stellar reviews. Now instead I've got to call AAA in the morning, have my mother's car towed, have to worry about missing AAA's call as I'm seeing patients (and murphy's law dictates that's bound to happen), and have to worry about how to get the car back as I'll be at work and will not be able to get to it in time. Being a healthcare worker/essential worker, I do everything in my power to protect my elderly parents, one of whom has cancer, by telling them not to go anywhere unless absolutely necessary. In these covid times, when people are sick, AAA expects us to be on the road and not leave our cars in our driveway (which means we are doing the socially responsible thing in not going out and socially distancing per CDC recommendations). It also means you can't get sick from covid or go out of town or in non-covid times, on a vacation -if you do and your car is sitting there, it hasn't followed "the battery protocol," and AAA will not be able to help you, nor will they replace your battery that is less than a year old and under a 6-year warranty. I mean why do I or my mother even have AAA especially if they can't help me or my elderly mother when we need them the most? Now I have to call AAA AGAIN tomorrow regarding the tow, and I can only hope I am available as I'm a healthcare worker who is actually taking care of covid patients. I will NEVER be buying AAA batteries -they will die on you before the year is up; and I certainly will not be renewing mine and my mother's AAA membership. I currently have a very poor opinion of AAA which I have never before had in the 13 years that I have been with them; this would have been my 14th year had I renewed. They have shown me in more ways than one that this membership, nor I/my mother, as a customer is worth much to them.
5
January 22, 2021

kathleenl1963

Best Insurance Ever

The price for this homeowners and auto insurance is fantastic. When I switched from Liberty Mutual I saved more than 1000 a year.
5
January 17, 2021

Random_

AAA Review

The company was a good company but the customer service was very irritating, it was unbearable and I am considering to switch companies.
4
January 10, 2021

ted_mulkey

my pro and con with AAA

it was a very good experience there are multiple discounts that are amazing and quite helpful and their costumer service is good but it is a little bit expensive
5
January 7, 2021

Sherry1982

How I feel

AAA has been amazing and any time I need there help they are there with answers. They offer so many good deals with there road side assistance
5
January 7, 2021

Trustme

AAA Insurance!

This company was very good because it gave us protection and security of our autovehicle. I would recommend this insurance company.
4
January 2, 2021

Qyla_W

Great!

They’re pretty good. They make me feel valued as a customer when I speak to customer service. They’re a keeper.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.usinsuranceagents.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption