American Family

This American Family review will cover American Family ratings by real users for overall satisfaction and claims, cost, billing, and service satisfaction. The American Family A.M. Best rating is A. To compare insurance rates from the best companies in your locale, enter your ZIP code below.

Free Insurance Comparison

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Chris Tepedino is a feature writer that has written extensively about home, life, and car insurance for numerous websites. He has a college degree in communication from the University of Tennessee and has experience reporting, researching investigative pieces, and crafting detailed, data-driven features. His works have been featured on CB Blog Nation, Flow Words, Healing Law, WIBW Kansas, and C...

Full Bio →

Written by Chris Tepedino
Insurance Feature Writer Chris Tepedino

Laura Walker graduated college with a BS in Criminal Justice with a minor in Political Science. She married her husband and began working in the family insurance business in 2005. She became a licensed agent and wrote P&C business focusing on personal lines insurance for 10 years. Laura serviced existing business and wrote new business. She now uses her insurance background to help educate...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Laura Walker
Former Licensed Agent Laura Walker

UPDATED: Nov 19, 2011

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.

Company Details
Address: 6000 American Parkway
City: Madison
State: WI
ZIP Code: 53783
Phone Number: (608) 242-4100
Fax: (877) 571-4803
Website: amfam.com
AM Best Rating: A
Fitch Rating: A+

American Family insurance is the third largest mutually held insurance company in the United States. They are primarily represented by independent agents, with 5 subsidiary companies in addition to the parent company. They are the 9th largest home insurance provider and the 10th largest provider of auto insurance.

Reviews
for American Family Insurance

4.04 (2,178 reviews)
5
January 15, 2021

Doggy

Awesome

Awesome, highly recommend using this company. Best I’ve ever dealt with thus far, great costumer service
4
January 14, 2021

flip2score7

am fam review

for the most part, there have been no issues in the years I have been on their insurance with family and then subsequently purchasing my own with them. however, they are sometimes slow to send things out.
2
October 15, 2020

timtone

Unexpected charges

They charged me a fee to use my card instead of a check what is this 1965? I left for a more 2020 provider esurance!
5
October 15, 2020

ely135

American Family tops any other insurance company

This insurance company really goes the extra mile. They are always willing to walk you through anything you need help with and explain things you may not quite understand. They even have check-ins every 6 months or so to make sure your policy is still suited for your current needs and that you aren't missing out on any applicable discounts. Moreover, American Family offers an incredible amount of discounts. I would be shocked if any individuals a...
This insurance company really goes the extra mile. They are always willing to walk you through anything you need help with and explain things you may not quite understand. They even have check-ins every 6 months or so to make sure your policy is still suited for your current needs and that you aren't missing out on any applicable discounts. Moreover, American Family offers an incredible amount of discounts. I would be shocked if any individuals actually received a quote that did not have at least one discount on it! When a company has amazing customer service and really cares about saving you money, it's hard to believe that the coverage you are provided could really be anything other than terrible. American Family strives to leave you flabbergasted. My auto insurance is everything I want/need, and I'm paying a premium that is $200 below what any and all other companies quoted me!
5
October 12, 2020

snoopyhugs18

When a 90-minute Meeting Saved Us $596!

Because we have our Condo Insurance with American Family, our local agent reached out to my husband and me to review that policy at the time of its annual renewal. I appreciated the ability to do this--in person (with proper precautions taken) even in spite of COVID-19. During this meeting, we requested an Auto Insurance quote, and we were thrilled to discover that American Family could save us approx. $596 annually for identical coverage if we s...
Because we have our Condo Insurance with American Family, our local agent reached out to my husband and me to review that policy at the time of its annual renewal. I appreciated the ability to do this--in person (with proper precautions taken) even in spite of COVID-19. During this meeting, we requested an Auto Insurance quote, and we were thrilled to discover that American Family could save us approx. $596 annually for identical coverage if we switched from our former insurer! The new policy was underwritten and ready for us to sign in less than 24 hours. American Family's online tools are easy and efficient to use, yet they look and feel secure. After a 6-year break from American Family because there was no local agent where we previously lived, I am so glad to be back!
5
October 2, 2020

DomMar35

Boss

American Family Insurance is an amazing company that acts quickly on claims and works to ensure customer satisfaction
5
October 2, 2020

ruthjahncoz

a bright point in a dark time

We were in a bad car crash. The other car was at fault, but we had car replacement coverage. We had the money to buy a new to us car in less than three weeks. We covered our new to us car with them. We had to talk to several departments during this time and everyone was helpful.
5
June 12, 2020

LillyM

Young but excited about Insurance!

I think they are good so far, I can't wait to get the decrease in insurance payment at the age of 25. Just 6 more years to go!
5
May 5, 2020

KatieM

My AMFAM experience

Good service always! very friendly, easy to work with, available to anser all my quesitions, very profesional .
4
May 4, 2020

Alex091019753878939898

$145?

I was with American Family Insurance for a little over 7 years. I was fine with them up until I had gotten my kid onto the insurance plan for our cars. The quote said that it would be +$145 a month if he joins. He has been driving dirt bikes, go carts, tractors, and occasionally the farm truck around for years. He passed his driving exam with a 98% (his first test and the fourth time driving), and his written with 100%.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.usinsuranceagents.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption