Oklahoma Car Insurance Regulations & Required Coverage
Residents must follow Oklahoma car insurance regulations if they want to legally drive in the state. Oklahoma auto insurance requirements include 25/50/25 in minimum liability, and drivers must be able to readily show proof of insurance coverage. Get covered today with free Oklahoma car insurance quotes from our comparison tool below.
Free Insurance Comparison
Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Jun 23, 2022
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.
Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
With so many ways to establish financial responsibility in Oklahoma, there is no reason why anyone should be driving without it. The most common way is to get a standard car insurance policy. Even high risk drivers are able to get a policy through the Oklahoma Automobile Insurance Plan. Below are more insurance laws specific to Oklahoma.
Oklahoma’s tort insurance system means that in the event of an accident, someone will be held at fault, or accountable for causing it. This person is then also held financial responsible for covering any related costs incurred from the accident. The specific rules of a tort system can vary depending on the state.
All personal vehicles in Oklahoma require the following liability coverage requirements:
- Bodily Injury
- Property Damage
|Minimum Oklahoma Car Insurance Requirements|
|Bodily Injury Liability||$25,000 / $50,000 Limit|
|Property Damage Liability||$25,000 Limit|
Additional insurance coverage can include:
- Comprehensive and Collision Coverage
- Uninsured / Underinsured Motorist Coverage
- Medical Payments Coverage
- Excess Eelectronic Equipment Coverage
- Rental Reimbursement Coverage
- Towing and Labor Coverage
Collision insurance will pay for repairs to or replacement of your vehicle if it has been in an accident. Comprehensive, sometimes just referred to as non-collision, covers other incidents not directly from an accident. These can include fire damage, tornado damage or even your car being stolen. We have a list of the most stolen vehicles in Oklahoma in case you want to see how at risk your car is.
Underinsured or uninsured drives pose very serious risk to other drivers. If you’re hit by someone who does not have enough insurance or any at all, this optional insurance can help pay for damages.
Medical payments insurance will pay for medical expenses for you or your passengers resulting from an accident.
Electronic equipment insurance will pay for after market electronics installed to your vehicle that have been damaged in an accident or stolen.
Rental insurance will help pay for a temporary vehicle or alternate means of transportation while your car is being fixed after an accident.
Towing and labor insurance will help pay for the actual towing of your vehicle after an accident or if you are stranded. You may not need this coverage if you are already a member of a roadside
assistance program such as AAA.
Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility
Establishing proof of insurance and financial responsibility
- Get a standard liability car insurance policy
- Get a policy through the Oklahoma Automobile Insurance Plan
- Making a cash deposit of $75,000 with the Department of Public Safety
- Obtaining a bond from an Oklahoma surety company
- Self insurance – for those insuring 25 or more vehicles
In order to provide proof of insurance, you can provide one of the following:
- Insurance ID Card
- Proof of coverage via the Oklahoma Automobile Insurance Plan
- Certificate of deposit from cash deposit
- Proof of bond
- Certificate of self insurance
You must maintain proof of insurance and financial responsibility and present it:
- When asked by a police officer
- After an accident
- Anytime you drive your vehicle
Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility Penalties
If you are unable to show proof of insurance when asked, you can face one of the following penalties:
- A fine up to $250
- Time in jail up to 30 days
- Suspension of your license and/or registration
Oklahoma Insurance Agents
Oklahoma City Car Insurance | Tulsa Car Insurance | Norman Car Insurance | Broken Arrow Car Insurance | Lawton Car Insurance | Edmond Car Insurance | Moore Car Insurance | Midwest City Car Insurance | Enid Car Insurance | Stillwater Car Insurance | Muskogee Car Insurance | Bartlesville Car Insurance | Owasso Car Insurance | Shawnee Car Insurance | Yukon Car Insurance | Ardmore Car Insurance | Ponca City Car Insurance | Bixby Car Insurance
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.