New Hampshire Car Insurance Regulations & Required Coverage
New Hampshire car insurance regulations are different from most states. Drivers in New Hampshire are not legally required to maintain minimum insurance coverage. However, it's still recommended that you purchase minimum coverage to protect yourself. Enter your ZIP code below to find affordable New Hampshire auto insurance coverage in your city.
Free Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Jul 16, 2021
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.
Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.
Unlike most other states, most drivers in New Hampshire are not legally required to maintain minimum insurance coverage. Nevertheless, it is strongly recommended to purchase at least a minimum amount of coverage to protect you, your vehicle and your passengers.
New Hampshire insurance law was written to correspond with a tort legal system. In a tort system, someone must always be found to be at fault for causing an accident. This person is then held responsible for repaying all damages related to the accident.
New Hampshire does not have specific laws requiring its drivers to maintain certain insurance minimums but all drivers must be financially responsible for their actions on the roads. Nevertheless, there are certain times when the state mandates that a driver maintain insurance coverage and maintain an SR-22 for up to 3 years. These are:
- After being involved in an accident
- Being convicted of driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol
- Being convicted multiple times for reckless driving
- Being convicted of a traffic violation that triggers a review
If you are required to maintain insurance in New Hampshire, you will need to maintain the following coverages:
- Bodily Injury
- Property Damage
Additionally, New Hampshire requires the following coverage:
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury
- Medical Payments
|Minimum New Hampshire Car Insurance Requirements|
|Bodily Injury Liability||$25,000 / $50,000 Limit|
|Property Damage Liability||$25,000 Limit|
|Uninsured/Underinsured Bodily Injury||$25,000 / $50,000 Limit|
|Medical Payments||$1,000 Limit|
Additional insurance coverage can include:
- Comprehensive and Collision Coverage
- Towing and Labor Coverage
- Rental Reimbursement / Transportation Expenses
Collision and comprehensive coverage are usually grouped together as an additional coverage option. Collision pays for damages to your vehicle resulting from an accident and comprehensive helps pay for any non-accident related incidents such as hail or having your vehicle broken into. Even if your car didn’t make the list of most stolen vehicles in New Hampshire, it’s recommended to get comprehensive insurance.
Towing and labor coverage will help cover the costs of towing expenses when your vehicle needs roadside assistance.
Rental reimbursement / transportation expenses coverage covers costs related to obtaining a temporary form of transportation when your insured vehicle is being repaired or is in the process of being replaced.
Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility
Establishing proof of insurance and financial responsibility
- Get a standard liability car insurance policy
In order to provide proof of insurance, you can provide one of the following:
- Insurance ID card
- Copy of your insurance certificate
You must maintain proof of insurance and financial responsibility and present it:
- If notified by the New Hampshire DMV
Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility Penalties
If you are unable to show proof of insurance, you can face one of the following penalties:
- Suspension of your license and vehicle’s registration
- Applicable reinstatement fees
New Hampshire Insurance Agents
Manchester Car Insurance | Nashua Car Insurance | Concord Car Insurance | Dover Car Insurance | Rochester Car Insurance | Keene Car Insurance | Portsmouth Car Insurance | Bedford Car Insurance | Derry Car Insurance | Hudson Car Insurance | Lebanon Car Insurance