If i was rear ended but driving with an expired license and non owners insurance will i be at fault?
Free Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Asked April 27, 2017
Alabama is an "at-fault" state in regards to auto accidents, which means that the driver who caused the accident and his/her insurance company are responsible for damages. As long as you can prove that the driver who rear-ended the vehicle caused the accident, then that driver's insurance must cover damages. Having non-owner's auto insurance does not matter. Auto insurance covers drivers. As a result, if you were found to be the one responsible, then your insurance would deal with any claims.
That said, the following scenarios might occur given your expired license: Unless there were witnesses or video footage of the event, the other driver's insurance company may attempt to turn the cause of the accident back on you by using your action of driving with an expired license as an example of irresponsible behavior. If they succeed in making their case, your insurance company might drop you. They might also drop you after finding out that you were driving with an expired license.
You can also expect several other serious complications from this type of auto accident scenario: In Alabama, you can typically expect an initial fine up to $100 for driving with an expired license since it is considered a misdemeanor offense. Given that some cities in Alabama also assess additional costs, you might have to pay an additional $50, $100 or more for the misdemeanor depending on where the accident took place. If your license has been expired for several years, you will likely have to retake the drivers examination before you are allowed to drive again. This might also become a requirement depending on the circumstances of the accident. You might also lose your license entirely if you did not have permission from the vehicle's owner to use it at the time of the accident.
Answered April 27, 2017 by JDouglas