American General Life Insurance Review & Ratings (2024)

American General – an affiliate of AIG – has affordable rates for term life insurance, with prices averaging $47 per month. Aside from affordable American General life insurance quotes, AIG insurance reviews mention solid customer service, but it lacks many of the common add-on options that its competitors offer.

UPDATED: May 19, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: May 19, 2024Fact Checked

Benjamin Carr

Former State Farm Insurance Agent

Benjamin Carr worked as a licensed insurance agent at State Farm and Tennant Special Risk. He sold various lines of coverage and informed his clients about their life, health, property/casualty insurance needs. Assessing risks and helping people find the best coverage to suit their needs is a passion of his. He appreciates that insurance was designed to protect people, particularly during times...

Former State Farm Insurance Agent

Kalyn Johnson

Insurance Claims Support & Sr. Adjuster

Kalyn grew up in an insurance family with a grandfather, aunt, and uncle leading successful careers as insurance agents. She soon found she has similar interests and followed in their footsteps. After spending about ten years working in the insurance industry as both an appraiser dispatcher and a senior property claims adjuster, she decided to combine her years of insurance experience with another...

Insurance Claims Support & Sr. Adjuster

UPDATED: May 19, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.

UPDATED: May 19, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: May 19, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: May 19, 2024Fact Checked
3.8
usinsuranceagents.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

American General Life Insurance Company

Average monthly rate for healthy individuals:

$47

A.M. Best rating:

A

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Strong financial ratings (A.M. Best rating of A)
  • Diverse coverage options, including term and whole life insurance
  • Various term durations available for customization

Cons

  • Mixed customer reviews, with concerns raised about customer service satisfaction
  • Parent company AIG received poor customer service reviews from J.D. Power and Associates
  • 1-star customer satisfaction rating from the Better Business Bureau (BBB)

Final Verdict: Review of American General Life Insurance Company

This comprehensive article delves into American General Life Insurance Company, an affiliate of the American International Group (AIG), examining key aspects such as coverage options, including term, whole, and universal life insurance, along with average annual rates for term life. Noteworthy is the company’s strong financial standing, endorsed by A. M.

Best and Standard & Poor. The piece thoroughly explores the claims process and customer experience, emphasizing the convenience of tech-driven solutions through a mobile app and online account management.

Despite these positives, mixed customer reviews and low ratings from J.D. Power and the Better Business Bureau raise concerns about overall customer satisfaction.

This AIG life insurance review also broadens its scope by briefly discussing American General’s main competitors in the life insurance industry, providing readers with a comprehensive guide to make informed decisions about their life insurance needs. Read on to learn how life insurance works from American General and if it might be the right company for you.

What You Should Know About American International Group, Inc. (Aig)

Welcome to our comprehensive article on American General Life Insurance. In this review, we delve into the various aspects of American General Life Insurance ratings, including coverage options, policy details, customer satisfaction, and financial strength.

We’ll provide insights into the types of life insurance offered, such as term, universal, and variable universal life insurance. Additionally, we’ll discuss the company’s ratings and reviews, shedding light on its reputation and reliability.

  • The average Amerian General customer pays about $47 per month for term life
  • Under AIG, American General writes life insurance policies in every state except New York
  • American General ratings are mixed, with customer service on the low side

To ensure you make an informed decision and find the best rates for your life insurance needs, we encourage you to enter your ZIP code below and compare quotes from the best life insurance companies. Your loved ones deserve the protection of a reliable life insurance policy, so let’s get started!

What is American General life insurance company?

American General Life Insurance Company is a life insurance company that underwrites policies for the American International Group (AIG).

According to the Insurance Information Institute (III), some amount of liability car insurance is legally required in most states. However, you will not be able to purchase this through American General. This company only underwrites life insurance policies.

In the table below, see the average monthly rates by gender and age offered by American General for a 20-year term life insurance policy with a death benefit of $100,000.

American General Average Monthly Term Life Insurance Rates by Gender and Age

Age Female Average Monthly Rates Male Average Monthly Rates
25-years-old $10.60 $10.94
30-years-old $10.69 $10.94
35-years-old $11.07 $11.17
40-years-old $11.50 $14.14
45-years-old $14.42 $17.59
50-years-old $19.81 $26.16
55-years-old $27.46 $37.26
60-years-old $47.89 $55.75
65-years-old $81.95 $99.29

For a 20-year term policy with a $100,000 death benefit, customers of American General pay $29 per month or $348 annually.

We also averaged the rates customers pay for all term lengths and death benefits offered by American General. We found that customers pay about $47 per month or $564 annually for coverage.

This group writes for all states serviced by AIG except for New York. American General is in no way affiliated with the car insurance company known as The General.

American International Group, Inc. (Aig) Insurance Coverage Options

Under the AIG name, American General offers both term and whole life insurance policies. American General term life insurance comes in 18 different policy durations.

American General also underwrites universal life insurance policies, including index universal life insurance, guaranteed universal life insurance, and variable universal life insurance. You can purchase guaranteed issue whole life insurance.

Unfortunately, AIG life insurance reviews point out that American General offers few other types of life insurance.

The American General agents will also help assess customer risk.

American General does not have a website, but you can receive American General life insurance quotes on the AIG website.

A customer portal also found on the AIG website called eService allows you to file and track claims, pay your bill, and make changes to your policy.

Compare The Best Insurance Quotes In The Country

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

American International Group, Inc. (Aig) Discounts Available

American General reviews don’t specifically state what discounts are available, but most companies offer similar ways to save money on life insurance. If you’re interested in a policy, ask an American General life insurance agent about the following common discounts:

  • Multi-Policy Discount: Save money by bundling life insurance with other policies, such as home or auto insurance.
  • Healthy Lifestyle Discounts: Enjoy discounts for maintaining a healthy lifestyle, which may include regular exercise, non-smoking habits, or participation in wellness programs.
  • Preferred Rates for Excellent Health: Individuals in excellent health may qualify for lower premium rates.
  • Safe Lifestyle Habits: Earn discounts for adopting safe habits, such as participating in health screenings or wellness initiatives.
  • Annual Payment Discounts: Save on premiums by opting for an annual payment plan instead of monthly payments.
  • Loyalty Discounts: Receive rewards or discounts for being a long-term policyholder with the insurance company.
  • Military or Employee Discounts: Special discounts may be available for military personnel or employees of certain organizations.
  • Family Discounts: Enjoy discounts when multiple family members or spouses have policies with the same insurer.
  • Group Memberships: Discounts for policyholders who are members of specific professional or affinity groups.
  • Preferred Customer Discounts: Some insurers offer discounts to customers who meet certain criteria, demonstrating their reliability.

It’s important to note that the availability of these discounts can vary, and policyholders should inquire directly with American General Life Insurance or their agent to understand the specific discounts that may apply to their situation. A representative can also help with other American General life insurance policy information.

Aside from discounts, the most important factors that affect your American General life insurance rates include things like your current health status, family medical history, and whether your smoke.

Your Roadmap to American General Life Insurance Claims Success

Ease of Filing a Claim (Online, Over the Phone, Mobile Apps)

American General Life Insurance offers multiple convenient options for filing a claim. Policyholders can file claims online through the company’s user-friendly website or mobile app. Alternatively, they can choose to file claims over the phone, providing flexibility to meet different customer preferences.

Regardless of your preferred method, a representative can help you figure out how to file a life insurance claim with American General by giving them a call.

Average Claim Processing Time

One crucial aspect of the claims process is the speed at which claims are processed. While specific processing times may vary depending on the nature of the claim and the documentation provided, American General Life Insurance aims to streamline the process for timely claim resolutions. Customers can expect efficient handling of their claims to provide financial support when they need it most.

Customer Feedback on Claim Resolutions and Payouts

Customer feedback is invaluable in assessing an insurance company’s performance. American General Life Insurance strives to maintain high customer satisfaction levels by promptly resolving claims and providing fair and accurate payouts. However, it’s essential for customers to review feedback and consider their unique needs when choosing the right insurance provider.

American General Life Insurance Tech-Driven Insurance Solutions

Mobile App Features and Functionality

American General’s mobile app offers a range of features designed to enhance the customer experience. Policyholders can use the app to access policy information, make payments, and even file claims on-the-go. The app’s user-friendly interface ensures that customers can manage their insurance needs conveniently from their smartphones or tablets.

Online Account Management Capabilities

For policyholders who prefer online account management, American General provides a robust platform. Customers can log in to their accounts to view policy details, update personal information, and track claims in real-time. This digital convenience simplifies the insurance management process and offers transparency to policyholders.

Digital Tools and Resources

American General recognizes the importance of providing customers with valuable digital tools and resources. Whether it’s educational content on life insurance options or calculators to estimate coverage needs, the company is committed to helping customers make informed decisions about their insurance.

These digital resources empower customers to choose policies that align with their financial goals and provide peace of mind for their loved ones.

How American International Group, Inc. (Aig) Ranks Among Providers

American General Life Insurance Company has several competitors in the life insurance industry. Here are some of its main competitors:

  • Prudential Financial, Inc.: Prudential is a major player in the life insurance industry, offering a range of products, including term life, universal life, and variable life insurance. The company has a strong financial standing and a diverse portfolio of insurance and financial products.
  • MetLife, Inc.: MetLife is a global insurance and financial services provider offering a variety of life insurance products, including term life, whole life, and universal life. The company is known for its extensive network and customer-centric approach.
  • New York Life Insurance Company: New York Life is one of the largest and oldest mutual life insurance companies in the United States. It provides a range of life insurance and annuity products, emphasizing financial stability and long-term commitment to policyholders.
  • Northwestern Mutual Life Insurance Company: Northwestern Mutual is known for its focus on whole life insurance and financial planning. The company operates as a mutual company, meaning policyholders are also considered owners and may receive dividends.
  • State Farm Insurance: State Farm is a well-known insurance company offering a variety of insurance products, including life insurance. They provide term and whole life insurance options and are recognized for their extensive network of agents.
  • MassMutual (Massachusetts Mutual Life Insurance Company): MassMutual is a mutual life insurance company that offers a range of life insurance and financial products. It emphasizes policyholder participation and has a strong commitment to community involvement.
  • Lincoln National Corporation: Lincoln Financial Group offers life insurance, annuities, and retirement planning services. The company is known for its diverse product offerings and financial strength.
  • AIG (American International Group): While American General is an affiliate of AIG, AIG itself is a global insurance giant with a broad range of insurance products. AIG’s life insurance offerings contribute to its competition in the market.

These competitors vary in terms of product offerings, market presence, and customer focus. The competition in the life insurance industry is intense, with companies striving to differentiate themselves through product innovation, customer service, and financial stability.

Let’s take a look at the details of the complaint index report for American General Life Insurance Company from the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC). This company has a 0.52 score, which is fewer complaints than expected in the life insurance market.

Unfortunately, other customer experience reviews for American General are not as good. American General’s parent company, AIG, received poor customer service reviews from J. D. Power and Associates.

The company also received a 1-star customer satisfaction rating from the Better Business Bureau, the worst score out of 5 possible stars.

The financial strength of American General and AIG is more promising. The company received an A rating from A.M. Best, which is considered to be ‘excellent’. Standard & Poor’s rating for this company is an A+.

You are now an American General expert. Find affordable American General life insurance rates through the AIG website.

You can’t buy American General car insurance, but you can enter your ZIP code into our quote tool below to compare rates from reputable providers near you.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is American General Life Insurance?

American General Life Insurance is a life insurance company that offers a range of life insurance products, including term life, universal life, and variable universal life insurance.

What types of life insurance does American General Life Insurance offer?

American General Life Insurance offers term life, universal life, and variable universal life insurance.

What is term life insurance?

Term life insurance provides coverage for a specified period of time, typically 10 to 30 years, and pays a death benefit if the policyholder dies during the term.

What is universal life insurance?

Universal life insurance is a type of permanent life insurance that provides both a death benefit and a savings component that earns interest over time.

What is variable universal life insurance?

Variable universal life insurance is a type of permanent life insurance that allows policyholders to invest the cash value of their policy in a variety of investment options.

What are the benefits of American General Life Insurance?

The benefits of American General Life Insurance include a range of life insurance products to choose from, flexible coverage options, and the ability to customize policies to fit individual needs and budgets.

What are the potential drawbacks of American General Life Insurance?

The potential drawbacks of American General Life Insurance include potentially higher premiums compared to other life insurance providers, limited availability in certain states, and potential limitations on coverage and benefits.

How do I apply for American General Life Insurance?

To apply for American General Life Insurance, you can visit their website or contact a licensed agent to discuss your life insurance needs and options.

Is American General the same as AIG?

While the companies aren’t the same, AIG is the parent company of American General.

Is American General life insurance legit?

American General is a reputable life insurance company. It has a rating of A from A.M. Best, which indicates that the company is financially stable.

Compare The Best Insurance Quotes In The Country

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Benjamin Carr

Former State Farm Insurance Agent

Benjamin Carr worked as a licensed insurance agent at State Farm and Tennant Special Risk. He sold various lines of coverage and informed his clients about their life, health, property/casualty insurance needs. Assessing risks and helping people find the best coverage to suit their needs is a passion of his. He appreciates that insurance was designed to protect people, particularly during times...

Former State Farm Insurance Agent

Kalyn Johnson

Insurance Claims Support & Sr. Adjuster

Kalyn grew up in an insurance family with a grandfather, aunt, and uncle leading successful careers as insurance agents. She soon found she has similar interests and followed in their footsteps. After spending about ten years working in the insurance industry as both an appraiser dispatcher and a senior property claims adjuster, she decided to combine her years of insurance experience with another...

Insurance Claims Support & Sr. Adjuster

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.

Reviews
for American International Group, Inc. (Aig)

3.77 (163 reviews)
5
September 11, 2020

BVCHDCH

reliable.

reliable, honest and trust worthy, I have never contracted with an insurance companies so this is was the trust and the best,
1
June 18, 2020

robbed

SCAM

They sell flight insurance through AON that they then refuse to cover. Disgusting scam! But if you want to throw your money away ... At least with life insurance you don't have to worry about them not paying up after you're dead! Those you're buying the insurance for might - they will find a loophole.
5
April 30, 2020

Bryan101

Good service provider

All in all good. They are very good by providing customer service. And important thing is they are trustworthy.
4
April 29, 2020

johwya

Good buy

Great customer service, was easy to deal with when I got in a wreck and needed my car repaired. The agent called us back in a timely manner and was happy to help with any of our questions.
4
January 21, 2020

mayesgr

well established insurance company

Aig is a well established insurance company with a long history they have good agents and low quotes the only problem i got was rate increase a year ago but i figured it out with my agent
5
January 12, 2020

sunny51

MY experience.

I got to know about this while i decided to visit directly to the company and there the agents explained me well.
3
January 10, 2020

Eliel01

It wast for me

The company was just really terrible like they treated me bad it was really expensive and for me it just didn’t work
2
October 12, 2019

bng

Don't make a claim

The company was fantastic, as long as you pay the bill, but when you attempt to make a claim, they will turn on you.
5
January 5, 2019

tinker98

nice bonus

they gave e a good discount for my kids getting good grade. It was a nice bonus. They need to advetise that and they would get more customers.
1
November 25, 2018

Aquilar

Bad customer service

They have terrible customer service. They would not return my phone call and I had to email several times to actually get them to understand what I was saying.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.usinsuranceagents.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption