How long does DUI affect insurance rates in New York? Does New York require an SR-22?
UPDATED: Jul 26, 2011
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.
Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
Free Insurance Comparison
Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Asked July 26, 2011
By New York state law, any conviction for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol will remain on your driving history for a period of 10 years. That does not mean the penalty will affect your insurance rates for 10 years, but it does mean that insurance companies have the option of looking that far back on your record and increasing your rates accordingly if they wish to do so.
Typically, insurance companies look at your driving record for 3, 5, 7 or 10 years, depending on the insurance company and their internal regulations. There is no state law regarding how far back an insurance company can check your driving history, so it will be up to you to find a company that only goes back 3 or 5 years if you are concerned that a longer search will turn up driving infractions that might affect your premiums.
New York does not require an SR22 for people who have been convicted of driving under the influence, but state law does allow for insurance companies to surcharge the insurance policy of people who have been convicted of many different traffic violations, including attempting to elude a police officer and DUI. So even though you will not be required to carry an SR22, your insurance company may increase your insurance premiums for as long as the conviction remains on your driving record.
It should also be noted that New York state has a double conviction level for driving while impaired. DUI convictions occur when the person's blood alcohol level is above .08, which is standard in most states. Additionally, New York has a conviction for driving while impaired that is similar to a DUI but can be initiated when your blood alcohol level is only .06. This means that it is much easier to get a criminal violation for drunk driving under New York law, and may take as much as 10 years to get past the additional charges incurred by the conviction.
Answered July 26, 2011 by Anonymous