Is it a NJ requirement to add a newly licensed driver to my car insurance policy if they dont drive my car
UPDATED: Oct 14, 2020
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.
Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
Free Insurance Comparison
Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
my insurance co said its mandatory to add my 17 y/o daughter who got her license this year even though she never drives my car. She borrows her grandfathers car.”
Asked July 5, 2016
Insurance companies typically tell you that all licensed drivers in the household have to be rated on the policy. However, there are exceptions to this rule and this situation seems to be one of them. If your son drives a car that is on your ex husband's policy and if the car is titled to your ex husband, there should be a way around having to list him on your policy. Simply have your insurance company list your son as an excluded driver on your policy. By definition, an excluded driver cannot drive any vehicle on your policy. If he does, there is no coverage for any property damage or bodily injury he causes. It is entirely your choice to tell your insurance company to list him as an excluded driver, and there is no law preventing you from doing so. They may require you to submit documentation that he is insured on your ex husband's policy, but this is entirely your choice to exclude him and not have him rated on your policy.
Answered February 15, 2019 by sunshine5
If you live in New Jersey and own a car and have a child, you will want to pay attention closely. If you have a child that is driving age and has a license, you will want to know if you must add him or her to your car insurance policy. The answer is simple. In New Jersey, the auto insurance company will not require you to add your 17 year old daughter to be on your policy.
However, if you have a car and your daughter ever gets behind the wheel, even to drive down the street, you could be in trouble. Think about it, will your child ever use the car, even once, in an emergency. If the answer is maybe, it is wise to consider getting him or her added to the policy.
On the other hand, if you have a 17 year old daughter who uses her grandfathers car all the time and will never use your car, then it is safe to keep him or her off the policy. You may wonder why it is a good idea to keep your teenager off the policy. Simply put, if you tell the insurance company, they may try to raise your rates, and drastically. Instead, simply don't tell the provider, and don't let your kid behind the wheel.
If you are the parent of a 17 year old daughter, you should be honest with the insurance provider. If she will drive your car, even occasionally, you should inform the insurance company. Or, if the teenage driver will never, not even one, use your car as they will use their grandparents, you should not inform your provider. By doing so, you will save money and avoid necessary headaches that others will face when paying their car insurance bills.
Answered July 6, 2016 by pbanion