How long does a DUI stay on your record?

If you're wondering how long does a DUI stay on your record, you should know that a DUI stays on your record for at least five years. Most states keep DUIs on your driving record for ten years. On average, DUIs and DWIs increase car insurance rates by 37%.

Free Insurance Comparison

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Chris Tepedino is a feature writer that has written extensively about home, life, and car insurance for numerous websites. He has a college degree in communication from the University of Tennessee and has experience reporting, researching investigative pieces, and crafting detailed, data-driven features. His works have been featured on CB Blog Nation, Flow Words, Healing Law, WIBW Kansas, and C...

Full Bio →

Written by

Laura Walker graduated college with a BS in Criminal Justice with a minor in Political Science. She married her husband and began working in the family insurance business in 2005. She became a licensed agent and wrote P&C business focusing on personal lines insurance for 10 years. Laura serviced existing business and wrote new business. She now uses her insurance background to help educate...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Laura Walker
Former Licensed Agent

UPDATED: Dec 17, 2021

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.

The Rundown

  • A DUI or DWI offense can last ten years
  • Some states hold DUIs on your driving history for life
  • DUIs can increase car insurance rates by at least 37%

Did you know that some states keep DUIs and DWIs on your record for life? DUI convictions can complicate your driving privileges, but they also affect how much you pay for car insurance.

But how long does a DUI remain on your record in California? How long does a DUI stay on your record in Florida? Don’t worry — we’re here to help.

Our guide has everything you need to know about how long DUIs stay on your record and how they impact auto insurance quotes.

Continue reading to learn more about how long DUIs last on your record. Enter your ZIP code to compare multiple insurance companies in your area if you’re ready to obtain car insurance quotes right now.

How long does a DUI remain on your record?

The short answer is ten years. However, it depends on where you live. Some states allow DUIs and DWIs to remain on driving records for at least five years.

Let’s compare various areas in the United States to see how long DUIs last on driving records.

How Long DUIs and DWIs Stay on Your Driving Record by State
StateYears on Driving RecordPoints Off Driver's LicensePoint Length
Alabama5 years6 points2 years
AlaskaFor life10 points2 points off every 2 years
Arizona5 years8 points3 years
Arkansas5 years14 points3 years
California10 years2 points13 years
Colorado10 years8 points2 years
Connecticut10 years3 points2 years
Delaware5 yearsExtra penaltiesN/A
Florida75 yearsExtra penalties3 years
Georgia10 yearsExtra penalties2 years
Hawaii5 yearsNo point systemN/A
IdahoFor lifeExtra penalties3 years
IllinoisFor lifeNo point systemN/A
IndianaFor life8 points2 years
Iowa12 yearsNo point systemN/A
KansasFor lifeNo point systemN/A
Kentucky5 yearsExtra penalties2 years
Louisiana10 yearsNo point systemN/A
MaineFor lifeExtra penalties1 year
Maryland5 years12 points3 years
Massachusetts10 years5 points6 years
Michigan7 years6 points2 years
Minnesota10 yearsNo point systemN/A
Mississippi5 yearsNo point systemN/A
Missouri10 years8 points1.5 years
Montana5 years10 points3 years
Nebraska12 years6 points2 years
Nevada<7 yearsExtra penalties1 year
New Hampshire10 years6 points3 years
New Jersey10 yearsExtra penaltiesN/A
New Mexico55 yearsExtra penalties1 year
New York15 yearsExtra penalties1.5 years
North Carolina7 yearsExtra penalties3 years
North Dakota7 yearsExtra penalties3 years
OhioFor life6 points3 years
Oklahoma10 yearsExtra penalties3 years
OregonFor lifeNo point systemN/A
Pennsylvania10 yearsExtra penalties3 points off per year
Rhode Island5 yearsNo point systemN/A
South Carolina10 yearsExtra penalties2 years
South Dakota10 years10 pointsVaries
TennesseeFor lifeExtra penalties2 years
TexasFor life2 points3 years
Utah10 yearsExtra penalties2 years
VermontFor lifeExtra penalties2 years
Virginia11 yearsExtra penalties2 years
Washington15 yearsNo point systemN/A
West Virginia10 yearsExtra penalties2 years
Wisconsin10 years6 points5 years
Wyoming10 yearsNo point systemN/A
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

Eleven states in the nation keep DUIs and DWIs on your driving record for life.

Meanwhile, New Mexico and Florida DUI convictions last for decades. And California DUI convictions can stay on your driving record for ten years.

Compare The Best Insurance Quotes In The Country

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

What are the penalties after a DUI conviction?

Part of the DUI penalty involves points taken off of your license. You can retrieve those points by taking driving courses; however, the DUI or DWI will still remain on your driving history.

But what about other penalties? Let’s examine the penalties for first-time DUI convictions by state.

DUI Driving Laws by State
StatesPenalty for high BACAdministrative License Suspension (first conviction)Limited driving privileges during suspensionIgnition interlocks (first conviction)
Alabama0.1590 days-Mandatory for high BAC; highly incentivized for first convictions
Alaska-90 daysAfter 30 daysMandatory
Arizona0.1590 daysAfter 30 daysMandatory
Arkansas-6 monthsYesMandatory
California0.154 monthsAfter 30 daysDiscretionary in Alameda, Los Angeles, Tulare, and Sacramento counties
Connecticut-90 daysYesHighly incentivized for all convictions
Colorado0.153 monthsYesMandatory for high BAC; highly incentivized for first convictions
Delaware0.153 monthsNoHighly incentivized
D.C..20, .25 and .302-90 days or until depositionYesMandatory
Florida0.26 months for DUI; 12 months for refusal to submit to BAC testAfter 30 days; after 90 days-
Georgia0.151 yearYes-
Hawaii-3 monthsAfter 30 daysMandatory
Idaho0.290 daysAfter 30 daysMandatory
Illinois0.166 monthsAfter 30 daysMandatory
Indiana0.15180 daysAvailable immediately
Iowa0.15180 daysAfter 30 daysHighly incentivized
Kansas0.1530 days-Highly incentivized
Kentucky0.1530-120 daysYesMandatory
Louisiana.15 and .20-Vehicle confiscationMandatory for high BAC (0.20 and above); highly incentivized for first conviction
Maine0.1590 daysYesHighly incentivized
Maryland0.1590 daysYes, with ignition interlockMandatory
Massachusetts0.290 daysYes-
Michigan0.1730 - 180 daysAfter 45 daysMandatory for high BAC (0.17)
Minnesota0.1690 days-Mandatory
Mississippi-90 days-Mandatory
Missouri0.15-After 0 days with interlock use; after 30 days without interlock use-
Montana0.166 monthsYes-
Nebraska0.1590 daysAfter 30 daysMandatory
Nevada0.1890 daysAfter 45 daysMandatory
New Hampshire0.166 months-Mandatory
New Jersey0.13 months-Mandatory
New Mexico0.16 (jail mandatory for all offenses)Under 21: 1 year; 21 and older: 6 monthsImmediately with ignition interlockMandatory
New York0.18YesYesMandatory
North Carolina0.1530 daysAfter 10 daysMandatory for high BAC (0.15 and higher)
North Dakota0.1891 daysAfter 30 daysDiscretionary
Ohio0.1790 daysAfter 15 days
Oklahoma0.15180 daysYesMandatory for high BAC (0.15 and higher)
Oregon0.1590 daysAfter 30 daysMandatory
Pennsylvania0.10 and 0.16--Mandatory for high BAC (0.10 and higher)
Rhode Island0.10 and 0.1530-180 days-Mandatory
South Carolina0.10 and 0.161 month for BAC higher than 0.15YesMandatory for both high BACs
South Dakota0.1730 daysYesDiscretionary
Tennessee0.21 yearYesHighly incentivized for the first conviction
Texas0.1590 days if 0.08 or higher; 180 days for refusal to submit to BAC testYes
Utah0.16120 days-Highly incentivized for first conviction
Vermont-90 days-Highly incentivized for first conviction
Virginia0.15 and 0.207 days-Highly incentivized for first conviction
Washington0.1590 daysWith ignition interlock driver’s licenseMandatory
West Virginia0.156 monthsAfter 30 daysMandatory for high BAC
Wisconsin0.17, 0.20 and 0.256-9 monthsYesMandatory for high BAC
Wyoming0.1590 daysYesMandatory for high BAC
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

In addition to points being removed from your driver’s license, you’ll lose your driving privileges for a set amount of time. You could also face a fine anywhere between $200 and $1,000.

Wisconsin may suspend your license for up to nine months, but Virginia suspends your license for seven days.

If you commit more than one DUI, you’ll receive a fine, jail time, and a possible revocation of your driver’s license.

How do I remove a DUI from my driving history?

To erase a DUI from your driving record, you’ll need to get an attorney to help you expunge the misdemeanor.

Felony DUI is more complicated and carries a more severe sentence than misdemeanor DUI. Contact an attorney in your local area to obtain specific details concerning your situation.

How much are car insurance rates after a DUI conviction?

On average, auto insurance rates increase by 37% when you have a DUI offense on your driving record. But some drivers reported that car insurance rates increased by 80% after a DUI conviction.

The best insurance companies provide reasonable rates even with a DUI on your driving record. Let’s compare the top companies and determine which one has the least expensive auto insurance rates for DUI-convicted drivers.

Average Monthly Car Insurance Rates Based on Driving Record by Company
CompaniesMonthly Car Insurance Rates Based on a Clean Driving RecordMonthly Car Insurance Rates With One Speeding TicketMonthly Car Insurance Rates With One AccidentMonthly Car Insurance Rates With One DUI
Allstate$318$374$416$522
American Family$224$252$310$361
Farmers$288$340$377$393
GEICO$179$220$266$406
Liberty Mutual$398$475$517$634
Nationwide$229$259$283$379
Progressive$283$334$398$331
State Farm$235$266$283$303
Travelers$287$355$357$478
USAA$161$183$210$292
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

USAA is the cheapest company for DUI-convicted drivers, but USAA is only available to military veterans and their immediate families.

State Farm insurance is the most affordable. However, American Family and Nationwide are also cost-efficient insurance companies for DUI convictions.

Compare The Best Insurance Quotes In The Country

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Can I receive car insurance discounts with a DUI on my driving record?

Yes, you can. DUI convictions don’t disqualify you from getting car insurance discounts.

If you have good credit, you can avoid stiff auto insurance rates. You can also bundle your car insurance with other insurance products to save more money.

When you qualify for multiple car insurance discounts, you can save hundreds of dollars per year.

How long does a DUI remain on your car insurance record?

Auto insurance companies typically have a look-back period of three years. Since DUIs and DWIs stay on your driving history for five to ten years, you could face expensive car insurance rates for the same amount of time.

Can I check my driving record?

Yes, you can. Contact your local Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), or Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV), and request a copy of your driving record.

Since the COVID-19 pandemic, many requests have been made either online or by appointment. Therefore, check your DMV’s website to determine if you can access your driving record online.

You can also obtain a copy of your driving history by contacting the Office of the Secretary of State, the State Department of Revenue, the Department of Public Safety, or the Motor Vehicle Division in your state.

Compare The Best Insurance Quotes In The Country

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Why is law enforcement so strict on DUI drivers?

According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), 28 people die in drunk-driving crashes every day. In 2019, 10,142 victims were in fatal accidents involving an alcohol-impaired driver.

DUI-related deaths are preventable. Federal and state governments are advocating to reduce drunk driving by handing out harsh sentences and hefty fines to discourage people from drinking and driving.

How Long Does a DUI Stay on Your Driving Record: The Bottom Line

DUIs and DWIs remain on your driving record for ten years on average; however, some state laws require a DUI to linger on your record for five years.

Most traffic infractions have a small impact on your auto insurance rates. However, DUIs and DWIs generate the most significant increase.

To save money on car insurance after a DUI, you must qualify for multiple discounts to lower your rates.

Now that you know how long a DUI remains on your driving record, use our free online quote tool to compare multiple insurance companies near you.

Frequently Asked Questions: How long does a DUI remain on your driving record?

Do you want to learn more about DUIs and driving records? Read these answers to frequently asked questions to learn more about DUIs and DWIs.

#1 – How can I lower my car insurance after a DUI conviction?

You can lower expensive auto insurance rates when you qualify for discounts like good credit, safety features, and product bundles.

#2 – What’s the difference between a DUI vs. a DWI?

DUI stands for driving under the influence, which is usually connected to alcohol-impaired drivers. But DWI is short for driving while intoxicated. Both are nearly the same, but each state defines them differently.

#3 – Do I need to get an SR-22 after a DUI conviction?

Yes, you do. If you have a DUI conviction on your driving record, you’ll likely need an SR-22. If you live in Florida or Virginia, you’ll need an FR-44 certification instead.

Free Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption