borrowed car ticket for no insurance who pays?
UPDATED: Jan 15, 2019
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.
Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
Free Insurance Comparison
Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Asked January 15, 2019
In California, there are penalties for driving without insurance no matter who the driver is. Therefore, if a California driver is driving someone else's car and gets pulled over for road violations, the driver would be responsible to pay the ticket.
The minimum fine for driving without insurance is $100 for the first attempt. If the person attempts to violate the vehicle code again, the fine will increase to anywhere between $900 - $2500 total.
Being fined for driving without insurance is only one of the possible penalties. Another way California has penalized people is by allowing police to have the choice to tow and impound an uninsured drivers car. Driving without insurance is considered a big deal in the state.
Why is driving a car without insurance so critical in California even if your borrowing someone else's car? It's due to the fact that if the person who is driving gets in an accident or is injured, the vehicle's owner could still be liable for damages.
Answered January 22, 2019 by Insurity