Connecticut Car Insurance Regulations & Required Coverage

Connecticut car insurance regulations require that all motorists maintain minimum insurance requirements which include liability and uninsured motorist coverages. Connecticut auto insurance law follows a tort system and requires the at-fault party, along with their insurance company, to pay for damages resulting from the accident. Learn more below.

Free Insurance Comparison

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Natasha McLachlan is a writer who currently lives in Southern California. She is an alumna of California College of the Arts, where she obtained her B.A. in Writing and Literature. Her current work revolves around insurance guides and informational articles. She truly enjoys helping others learn more about everyday, practical matters through her work.

Full Bio →

Written by

Laura Walker graduated college with a BS in Criminal Justice with a minor in Political Science. She married her husband and began working in the family insurance business in 2005. She became a licensed agent and wrote P&C business focusing on personal lines insurance for 10 years. Laura serviced existing business and wrote new business. She now uses her insurance background to help educate...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Laura Walker
Former Licensed Agent

UPDATED: Nov 10, 2020

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.

Connecticut insurance law requires that all motorists to maintain minimum insurance requirements which include liability and uninsured motorist coverages. The state has specific fines for those that do not comply with the law. It is also strongly recommended that you obtain additional coverage to maximize your protection.

In Connecticut, someone must always be found to be at fault for causing an accident. Their insurance law follows a tort system and requires the at fault part, along with their insurance company, to pay for damages resulting for the accident. Specifics of the tort system can vary from state to state.

Required Coverage

All personal vehicles in Connecticut require the following liability coverage requirements:

  • Bodily Injury
  • Property Damage

Additionally, the following coverage is required:

  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury
Minimum Connecticut Car Insurance Requirements
Bodily Injury Liability $20,000 / $40,000 Limit
Property Damage Liability $10,000 Limit
Uninsured/Underinsured Bodily Injury $20,000 / $40,000 Limit

Additional insurance coverage can include:

  • Comprehensive and Collision Coverage

Collision and comprehensive coverage can be important additional coverage for your vehicle. Each coverage will provide added security in the event that your car is involved in an accident, it is stolen or mother nature causes damage. Collision will replace or repair damage to your vehicle if it is involved in an accident and comprehensive pays for damages resulting from theft from your vehicle or damage caused by a fire. There are many vehicles on the list of most stolen vehicles in Connecticut. Making sure you are financially protected is even more important if your vehicle is listed.

Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility

Establishing proof of insurance and financial responsibility

  • Get a standard liability car insurance policy

Required Documentation

In order to provide proof of insurance, you can provide one of the following:

  • Insurance ID Card
  • Copy of Insurance Policy or Binder

You must maintain proof of insurance and financial responsibility and present it:

  • When asked by a police officer
  • After an accident
  • When registering the vehicle with the state
  • Anytime you are operating a vehicle

Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility Penalties

If you are unable to show proof of insurance when asked by either the policy or by the DMV, you can face one of the following penalties:

  • A fine of $200
  • Suspension of your registration and license
  • Loss of all privileges to renew or register any vehicles in the state

Connecticut Insurance Agents

Bridgeport Car Insurance | New Haven Car Insurance | Stamford Car Insurance | Hartford Car Insurance | Waterbury Car Insurance | Norwalk Car Insurance | Danbury Car Insurance | New Britain Car Insurance | Bristol Car Insurance | Meriden Car Insurance | West Haven Car Insurance | Milford Car Insurance | Middletown Car Insurance | Shelton Car Insurance | Norwich Car Insurance | Torrington Car Insurance | Naugatuck Car Insurance | New London Car Insurance

Related Links

Free Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption