Arizona Car Insurance Regulations & Required Coverage
Arizona car insurance regulations require all drivers to maintain minimum insurance requirements of 15/30/10. The state of Arizona follows a tort legal system for insurance where someone must always be found at fault after an accident. Some Arizona auto insurance laws are different from other states, so it is important to stay up to date on current requirements. Use our guide below to learn everything about Arizona car insurance.
Free Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Nov 10, 2020
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.
Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.
Arizona requires all of its drivers to maintain minimum insurance requirements if they operate a vehicle within the state. Once you have insurance, your company will usually notify the Arizona Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) but it is still your responsibility to make sure you have proof of insurance when asked. Some Arizona insurance laws are different from other states so it is important to stay up to date on current requirements.
The state of Arizona follows a tort legal system for insurance. In states following a tort system, someone must always be found at fault after an accident. That person along with their insurance company is then required to pay for damages incurred by the accident they caused.
All personal vehicles in Arizona require the following liability coverage requirements:
- Bodily Injury
- Property Damage
|Minimum Arizona Car Insurance Requirements|
|Bodily Injury Liability||$15,000 / $30,000 Limit|
|Property Damage Liability||$10,000 Limit|
Additional insurance coverage can include:
- Uninsured / Underinsured Coverage
- Comprehensive and Collision Coverage
Uninsured or Underinsured insurance coverage can assist in paying expenses resulting from an accident in which are not at fault but the person who is does not have any or enough coverage to pay for the damages.
Comprehensive coverage pays, after the deductible, for any non-collision related incident. This can include your car being broken into or fire damage. Collision, also after the deductible, pays for repairs and replacement of your car after being involved in an accident. We created a list of the most stolen vehicles in Arizona. Even if your car isn’t listed, comprehensive insurance can keep you protected.
Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility
Establishing proof of insurance and financial responsibility
- Get a standard liability car insurance policy
- Self Insurance – qualified individuals/companies must own at least 10 vehicles
De-insurance – De-insuring your Vehicle
Drivers in Arizona can temporarily uninsure their vehicle if your vehicle will not be or can not be driven on public roads. To de-insure your vehicle, fill out the online de-insured certificate on the Arizona DOT website.
In order to provide proof of insurance, you can provide one of the following:
- Insurance ID Card
- Copy of Insurance Policy or Binder
- Certificate of self insurance
You must maintain proof of insurance and financial responsibility and present it:
- When asked by a police officer
- After an accident
- Anytime you are operating a vehicle
Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility Penalties
If you are unable to show proof of insurance when asked, you can face one of the following penalties:
- Fines ranging between a few hundred dollars to over a thousand dollars plus additional fees just for your first offense and increase for 2nd and 3rd offenses
- Driver’s license and plate suspension of 3 months (1st offense), 6 months (2nd offense) and 1 year (3rd offense)
- Requirement to submit an SR-22 form and pay reinstatement fees for the next 3 years
Arizona Insurance Agents
Phoenix Car Insurance | Tucson Car Insurance | Mesa Car Insurance | Chandler Car Insurance | Gilbert Car Insurance | Glendale Car Insurance | Scottsdale Car Insurance | Tempe Car Insurance | Peoria Car Insurance | Surprise Car Insurance | Yuma Car Insurance | Avondale Car Insurance | Goodyear Car Insurance | Flagstaff Car Insurance | Buckeye Car Insurance | Lake Havasu City Car Insurance | Casa Grande Car Insurance | Maricopa Car Insurance