Illinois Car Insurance Regulations & Required Coverage
Illinois car insurance regulations mandate that all drivers must carry car insurance on all registered vehicles. Illinois auto insurance law follows a tort system, which means that after an accident, someone will be held responsible, or at-fault, for causing the accident. The at-fault party is responsible for paying for all damages related to the accident. Find an affordable Illinois car insurance policy here so you aren’t paying out of pocket after an accident. Enter your ZIP code below to get started!
Free Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Jul 16, 2021
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.
Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.
Illinois laws mandate that all drivers carry car insurance. The state’s minimum requirements, specific regulations and penalties vary from other states. To be sure that you are in compliance with the state’s insurance laws, you should regularly review them for changes.
Similar to other states, Illinois insurance law follows a tort system. What this means is that after an accident, someone will be held responsible, or at fault, for causing the accident. This person, along with their insurance agency, is then required to provide financial restitution for all expenses related to the accident.
All personal vehicles in Illinois require the following liability coverage requirements:
- Bodily Injury
- Property Damage
Additionally, Illinois requires:
- Uninsured / Underinsured Bodily Injury
|Minimum Illinois Car Insurance Requirements|
|Bodily Injury Liability||$20,000 / $40,000 Limit|
|Property Damage Liability||$15,000 Limit|
|Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury||$20,000 / $40,000 Limit|
Additional insurance coverage can include:
- Comprehensive and Collision Coverage
- Accidental Death Benefit
- Custom / Non-factory Equipment
- Gap Coverage
- Medical Payments
- Physical Damage / Repair / Replace Coverage
- Rental Reimbursement
- Uninsured Motorist Property Damage
Collision and comprehensive insurance are highly recommended. Collision helps pay for repairs after your car is involved in an accident and comprehensive covers incidents such as a tree damaging your vehicle or your car being broken into. We have compiled a list of the most stolen vehicles in Illinois. If your car is on the list, it is
even more recommended that you opt for comprehensive insurance.
Accidental death benefit insurance will pay in the event that the insured dies after being in a car accident.
Custom or non-factory equipment insurance pays for damages to non-standard equipment such as radios, speakers, etc.
Gap insurance is often required when leasing a vehicle. It pays for the difference between the actual value of a vehicle and what is owed on a lease or loan if the vehicle is totaled.
Medical payments insurance covers expenses related to injuries to or the death of you or your passengers. It also covers you and your family if they are struck by another vehicle when walking, biking or in another vehicle.
Rental reimbursement insurance helps pay the costs associated with either renting a temporary vehicle or paying for alternate means of transportation when your insured vehicle is being repaired after an accident.
Uninsured motorist property damage insurance will pay for expenses for vehicle repairs if you are in an accident caused by someone who is uninsured. If you don’t have optional collision coverage,
you can get a maximum of $15,000 worth of uninsured motorist property damage coverage.
Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility
Establishing proof of insurance and financial responsibility
- Get a standard liability car insurance policy
In order to provide proof of insurance, you can provide one of the following:
- Insurance ID Card
You must maintain proof of insurance and financial responsibility and present it:
- When asked by a police officer
- If randomly selected by the Secretary of State
- When registering your vehicle
- After an accident
- Anytime you are operating a vehicle
Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility Penalties
If you are unable to show proof of insurance, you can face the following penalties:
- Your license plates will be suspended until you can show you have at least the required coverage and pay a $100 reinstatement fee. If you have previously had your plates suspended, your suspension will last a minimum of 4 months.
- Minimum fine of $500 if caught driving without insurance
Illinois Insurance Agents
Chicago Car Insurance | Aurora Car Insurance | Rockford Car Insurance | Joliet Car Insurance | Naperville Car Insurance | Springfield Car Insurance | Peoria Car Insurance | Elgin Car Insurance | Waukegan Car Insurance | Champaign Car Insurance | Cicero Car Insurance | Bloomington Car Insurance | Arlington Heights Car Insurance | Evanston Car Insurance | Schaumburg Car Insurance | Bolingbrook Car Insurance | Decatur Car Insurance | Palatine Car Insurance