Louisiana Car Insurance Regulations & Required Coverage
Louisiana car insurance regulations require all drivers to carry auto insurance coverage when operating a vehicle. Failure to carry car insurance can result in a suspended license and registration. Louisiana auto insurance laws follow a tort system, meaning that a driver must always be found at-fault for an accident and is then required to pay for incurred damages. Learn more below.
Free Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Nov 11, 2020
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.
Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.
Louisiana requires all of its drivers to have a car insurance policy to maintain financial responsibility when operating a vehicle. Their insurance laws aren’t very different from other states but do have some unique nuances that you should be aware, specifically their penalties for driving without insurance.
Louisiana follows a tort system. This means that a driver must always be found at fault for causing an accident and is then required to pay for incurred damages. The specifics can vary from each state.
All personal vehicles in Louisiana require the following liability coverage requirements:
- Bodily Injury
- Property Damage
|Minimum Louisiana Car Insurance Requirements|
|Bodily Injury Liability||$15,000 / $30,000 Limit|
|Property Damage Liability||$25,000 Limit|
Additional insurance coverage can include:
- Comprehensive and Collision Coverage
- Uninsured / Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage
Collision insurance pays for the expenses to repair or replace your vehicle after it’s been involved in an accident. Comprehensive covers you if your vehicle has had non-collision damage from incidents such as a flood or fire. It also covers you if your vehicle has been stolen and if it’s listed as one of the most stolen vehicles in Louisiana, you’d be wise to invest in this coverage.
Underinsured or uninsured insurance will help pay for expenses in the event that the at fault party doesn’t have enough coverage to pay for all the damages or if they don’t have any insurance whatsoever. Louisiana requires its drivers to maintain car insurance but the limits aren’t always high enough to cover the expenses making this worthwhile insurance to add to your policy.
Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility
Establishing proof of insurance and financial responsibility
- Get a standard liability car insurance policy
In order to provide proof of insurance, you can provide one of the following:
- Copy of your insurance ID card
- Copy of your insurance policy or binder
- Copy of your declaration page
- A written statement on company letterhead from your insurer signed by an agent and including all pertinent policy information
You must maintain proof of insurance and financial responsibility:
- When asked by a police officer
- After an accident
- Anytime you drive your vehicle
Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility Penalties
If you are not able to show proof of insurance, you can face the following penalties:
- Loss of your license plates, impoundment of your vehicle and loss of registration (This can happen immediately if you are caught driving without insurance)
- If you can’t show proof of insurance after being flagged for no insurance, your license and registration can be suspended by the Office of Motor Vehicles and you face the following reinstatement fees depending on how many days have passed since the suspension:
- 11 – 30 days: $50
- 31 – 90 days: $125
- 91+ days: $225
Louisiana Insurance Agents
New Orleans Car Insurance | Baton Rouge Car Insurance | Shreveport Car Insurance | Lafayette Car Insurance | Lake Charles Car Insurance | Bossier City Car Insurance | Kenner Car Insurance | Monroe Car Insurance | Alexandria Car Insurance | Houma Car Insurance | New Iberia Car Insurance | Central Car Insurance | Slidell Car Insurance | Ruston Car Insurance | Hammond Car Insurance | Luling Car Insurance | Opelousas Car Insurance