Root Car Insurance Review & Ratings (2024)

Get affordable and dependable car insurance coverage with Root Car Insurance. Our policies are designed to meet your specific needs while offering competitive rates. Whether you're a new driver or looking to switch providers, Root Car Insurance provides trustworthy information to guide your decision-making process.

UPDATED: Dec 9, 2023Fact Checked

Zach Fagiano

Licensed Insurance Broker

Zach Fagiano has been in the insurance industry for over 10 years, specializing in property and casualty and risk management consulting. He started out specializing in small businesses and moved up to large commercial real estate risks. During that time, he acquired property & casualty, life & health, and surplus lines brokers licenses. He’s now the Senior Vice President overseeing globa...

Licensed Insurance Broker

Brandon Frady

Licensed Insurance Agent

Brandon Frady has been a licensed insurance agent and insurance office manager since 2018. He has experience in ventures from retail to finance, working positions from cashier to management, but it wasn’t until Brandon started working in the insurance industry that he truly felt at home in his career. In his day-to-day interactions, he aims to live out his business philosophy in how he treats hi...

Licensed Insurance Agent

UPDATED: Dec 9, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.

UPDATED: Dec 9, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Dec 9, 2023Fact Checked
3.3
usinsuranceagents.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Root Car Insurance

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

N/A

A.M. Best rating:

N/A

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Usage-based insurance with personalized rates
  • Free roadside assistance coverage included
  • Ability to obtain SR-22 forms through the company’s app

Cons

  • Limited coverage options and add-ons available
  • Fewer discounts offered due to personalized quoting system
  • Availability limited to select states; not nationwide

Final Verdict: Review of Root Car Insurance

Root Insurance is a usage-based company that uses telematics technology to assess driver behavior and calculate quotes. If you want to request a quote, you’ll need to download the Root app and enroll in a three-to-four week test drive. Based on the outcome of the test drive, Root will either send you a quote or determine you’re too high risk to insure.

While we don’t have average Root car insurance rates, you can buy coverage from Root Insurance in over 30 states and save up to $900 per year when you switch. If the company doesn’t sell coverage in your state yet, that could change in the future, based on the company’s plan to expand.

Only you can decide if Root car insurance has the right coverage and rates for your needs, but either way, it’s a good idea to compare rates from multiple companies. You can use your ZIP code in our rate comparison tool to get free quotes from top companies and compare and save today.

What You Should Know About Root Insurance

When you’re shopping for coverage, one of the main questions you’re probably asking is how to find the best insurance companies. One way is to read reviews like this one on Root car insurance.

Our review will give you the basics of contacting the company, where you can buy Root car insurance, what kind of coverage you can get, how to get a quote, whether affordable Root car insurance is available, and more.

This Root car insurance review will go over the company basics so you can decide if it’s the right fit for your needs. Before you jump into this review, take a minute to use your ZIP code in the tool on this page to get free car insurance quotes from companies where you live.

What else should you know about Root Insurance?

When Alex Timm and Dan Manges founded root Insurance, the goal was to offer an affordable, fair car insurance option for the twenty-first century. Specifically, Root was created to provide coverage that could be quoted, purchased, and managed entirely online or through an app.

Part of what makes Root Insurance unique is the company’s approach to generating quotes. You won’t get a quote until you’ve completed Root’s test drive, enabling the company to collect data on your driving behavior and calculate your rates.

You’ll be able to enroll in the test drive through the company app, which you can download through either the Google Play store or the App Store. Once you’re insured by Root, you’ll also be able to manage your policy through the app, which has a user rating of 3.5 out of five stars.

How do you buy and manage a Root Insurance policy?

If you’re considering purchasing a policy through Root Insurance, your first step is to get a quote from the company. You’ll need to request a quote directly from Root. The company will require you to download the Root app and register for a three-to-four week test drive through the app.

Root will collect data like how fast you drive and how hard you brake to generate a quote that accurately reflects your driving habits.

However, if the data collected during your test drive indicates that you’re a high-risk driver, Root may decide not to sell you coverage. This can be an issue for high-risk drivers, but for drivers covered by Root, this means lower base rates. That’s because the company keeps the overall risk of all drivers lower by not selling policies to high-risk drivers.

If you’re eligible for coverage from Root Insurance and you choose to buy a policy, you can use the company app for more than just tracking your driving. You can also use the app to file claims, pay your bills, make changes to your policy, and more.

Root Insurance Coverage Options

Root focuses specifically on car insurance (which means you can’t buy home, rental, or other insurance from the company) and doesn’t offer an extensive number of add-ons. Still, you can buy most standard car insurance coverage options from Root Insurance, including:

While the number of add-ons offered by Root is limited, the company does have a couple of options. Every policy comes with roadside assistance coverage free of charge. Root’s roadside assistance protection includes up to $100 per incident for a maximum of three incidents per policy term.

In addition to the free roadside assistance coverage, Root Insurance sells rental reimbursement coverage you can use if your vehicle is in the shop after a covered accident or incident. Root offers a few different options for coverage amounts, and you can use the add-on to pay for both a rental car or Lyft rides.

Root also enables eligible drivers who need the paperwork to obtain an SR-22 form through the company app. Keep in mind this is usually only necessary for high-risk drivers, and Root may offer coverage if you’re high-risk.

Where can you buy Root car insurance?

The Root car insurance company sells coverage in over 30 states. Take a look at this table to find out if you can buy Root Insurance where you live.

Root Insurance Availability by State
StateRoot Is Available
AlaskaNo
AlabamaNo
ArkansasYes
ArizonaYes
CaliforniaYes
ColoradoYes
ConnecticutYes
District of ColumbiaNo
DelawareYes
FloridaNo
GeorgiaYes
HawaiiNo
IowaYes
IdahoNo
IllinoisYes
IndianaYes
KansasNo
KentuckyYes
LouisianaYes
MaineNo
MarylandYes
MassachusettsNo
MichiganNo
MinnesotaNo
MissouriYes
MississippiYes
MontanaYes
North CarolinaNo
North DakotaYes
NebraskaYes
New HampshireNo
New JerseyNo
New MexicoYes
NevadaYes
New YorkNo
OhioYes
OklahomaYes
OregonYes
PennsylvaniaYes
Rhode IslandNo
South CarolinaYes
South DakotaNo
TennesseeYes
TexasYes
UtahYes
VirginiaYes
VermontNo
WashingtonNo
West VirginiaYes
WisconsinYes
WyomingNo

If you’re in one of the 19 states (or the District of Columbia) where Root Insurance isn’t available, it might not be long.  The company is planning to expand over the next few years, with the goal of nationwide coverage.

Compare The Best Insurance Quotes In The Country

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Root Insurance Rates Breakdown

Root Insurance doesn’t publish average rates because quotes are unique to individual drivers. Rates are based on personal driving habits, which the company collects to generate Root car insurance quotes (more about this later).

While rates aren’t available, one of Root’s goals is to offer reasonably priced coverage and accurately reflects how you drive. The company says you can save up to $75 per month if you switch to Root.

Root Insurance Discounts Available

The company doesn’t offer many discounts because of Root’s approach to quoting car insurance to ensure you get the most affordable coverage based on your driving habits. However, there are still a couple of available discounts and perks offered to drivers covered by Root.

If you pay for your policy in full and upfront, you’ll qualify for a discount. Additionally, multi-policy discounts may be available to drivers who have more than one policy with Root Insurance.

In some states, Root offers Lyft credits to eligible drivers. These credits can be redeemed on some holidays. You can reach out to the company to determine whether the credits are available where you live and how to qualify. Referring your friends and family to Root can also earn you cash.

Read more: Root Car Insurance Discounts

Streamlining Experience With Root Car Insurance Claims Process

Ease of Filing a Claim

Root Car Insurance offers a user-friendly approach to filing claims. Policyholders have the convenience of filing claims through multiple channels, including online and via their mobile app. This digital accessibility ensures that customers can initiate the claims process quickly and efficiently.

Average Claim Processing Time

Root Car Insurance has garnered positive reviews for its swift claim processing. While specific processing times can vary depending on the complexity of the claim and other factors, many customers have reported timely resolutions. The company’s commitment to a seamless claims experience contributes to its overall customer satisfaction.

Customer Feedback on Claim Resolutions and Payouts

Root Car Insurance values customer feedback and strives to provide fair and satisfactory claim resolutions. Customer reviews and testimonials indicate that the company has generally upheld its commitment to addressing claims promptly and providing reasonable payouts. However, individual experiences may vary, so it’s essential to read reviews and consult with the company directly for specific claim-related inquiries.

Exploring Digital and Technological Innovations of Root Car Insurance

Mobile App Features and Functionality

Root Car Insurance’s mobile app is a key component of its service offerings. The app allows policyholders to not only track their driving behavior but also manage various aspects of their policies. It offers features such as filing claims, viewing policy documents, and even obtaining quotes. The user-friendly interface and comprehensive functionality make it a valuable tool for policyholders.

Online Account Management Capabilities

In addition to the mobile app, Root Car Insurance provides an online account management platform. This online portal enables policyholders to access and manage their insurance accounts from the convenience of their computers. Features include bill payments, policy updates, and document retrieval, enhancing the overall digital experience for customers.

Digital Tools and Resources

Root Car Insurance stands out for its innovative approach to insurance, leveraging technology to offer personalized rates based on individual driving behavior. The company’s digital tools and resources, including the mobile app and online account management, empower customers to take control of their insurance experience.

These tools provide valuable insights into driving habits and promote safe driving practices, which can lead to potential discounts and savings.

How Root Insurance Ranks Among Providers

Root Car Insurance faces formidable rivals, each offering unique propositions and strengths. From industry giants renowned for their extensive coverage options to tech-driven innovators emphasizing personalized rates, Root competes with several notable players vying for market share in the ever-evolving insurance sector.

  • Progressive: Known for its wide range of coverage options and discounts, Progressive utilizes its Snapshot program, similar to Root’s usage-based approach, to determine personalized rates based on driving behavior.
  • Geico: Geico is recognized for its extensive advertising and offers competitive rates along with a variety of discounts. It also provides a user-friendly online platform for policy management and claims processing.
  • State Farm: As one of the largest insurance providers in the U.S., State Farm offers a comprehensive range of coverage options and has a strong agent network providing personalized customer service.
  • Allstate: Allstate emphasizes various coverage options, including innovative features like accident forgiveness and disappearing deductibles. It also offers a range of discounts and additional services.
  • Esurance: Acquired by Allstate, Esurance focuses on providing affordable coverage options and has a strong online presence, making it convenient for customers to manage policies and file claims digitally.

Whether it’s the personalized approach to rates, comprehensive coverage options, or tech-savvy solutions, the diversity among these competitors underscores the dynamism within the industry, providing customers with an array of choices tailored to their specific needs.

What are the average company ratings for Root Insurance?

We’ve already discussed Root Insurance rates, which we know is probably one of your primary concerns when shopping for coverage. However, beyond just insurance rates, there are a few other metrics to consider before you make a decision. Specifically, customer service ratings and financial data are both worth reviewing.

Complaint data is helpful for assessing a company’s quality of customer service. One way to find this information is to look at the complaint index calculated by the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC). Take a look at this table for the NAIC complaint data for Root Insurance.

Complaint Data201820192020
Total Number of Complaints86850
Annual Premiums$106,371,642$451,058,558$616,842,050
Share of Premiums U.S. Market0.01%0.03%0.04%
Share of Complaints in the U.S. Market0.01%0.12%0.15%
Complaint Index1.664.554

So what does all this information mean? The NAIC collects complaint data from across the insurance industry and uses the aggregate data to calculate the average number of complaints, represented by the number one. The individual company data can then be compared to the industry average.

A complaint index higher than one means more complaints than average, and a complaint index lower than one means fewer complaints than average. As the table indicates, complaints about Root have been higher than average for the past three years, with a significant increase in complaints between 2018 and 2019 and only a slight decrease in 2020.

Given this, it should be no surprise that the Better Business Bureau (BBB) also notes that Root receives a high number of complaints, resulting in a customer review rate of 1.29 out of five stars. However, the company is A+ accredited through the BBB.

Finally, financial data indicates whether or not companies are financially stable enough to pay outstanding obligations. One way to find this information is through A.M. Best (a financial rating company focused on the insurance industry). A.M. Best assigns a credit score to companies to indicate financial stability but hasn’t yet rated Root Insurance.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Root Car Insurance?

Root Car Insurance is a new type of car insurance company that uses technology to offer personalized rates based on how you drive.

How does Root Car Insurance work?

Root Car Insurance uses a mobile app to track your driving behavior and offer personalized rates based on how you drive. The app measures factors such as your speed, braking, and turning to determine your driving score.

Is Root Car Insurance a reputable company?

Root Car Insurance has a strong reputation for its innovative approach to car insurance and its focus on customer service. The company has an A- rating from the Better Business Bureau.

How do I get a quote from Root Car Insurance?

You can get a quote from Root Car Insurance by downloading the company’s mobile app and completing the registration process. The app will then use your driving behavior to calculate your personalized rate.

Does Root Car Insurance offer coverage in all states?

No, Root Car Insurance is currently only available in select states. You can check if Root is available in your state by visiting the company’s website.

Can I manage my Root Car Insurance policy online?

Yes, Root Car Insurance offers an online account management system where policyholders can pay bills, view policy documents, and make changes to coverage.

How do I file a claim with Root Car Insurance?

You can file a claim with Root Car Insurance by using the claims submission tool on the company’s mobile app or by contacting the company’s customer service team.

Does Root Car Insurance offer discounts for safe driving?

Yes, Root Car Insurance offers discounts for customers who demonstrate safe driving behavior using the mobile app.

What is Root Car Insurance’s customer service like?

Root Car Insurance has a reputation for providing excellent customer service, with a dedicated customer service team and a user-friendly mobile app that makes it easy to manage your policy.

Compare The Best Insurance Quotes In The Country

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Zach Fagiano

Licensed Insurance Broker

Zach Fagiano has been in the insurance industry for over 10 years, specializing in property and casualty and risk management consulting. He started out specializing in small businesses and moved up to large commercial real estate risks. During that time, he acquired property & casualty, life & health, and surplus lines brokers licenses. He’s now the Senior Vice President overseeing globa...

Licensed Insurance Broker

Brandon Frady

Licensed Insurance Agent

Brandon Frady has been a licensed insurance agent and insurance office manager since 2018. He has experience in ventures from retail to finance, working positions from cashier to management, but it wasn’t until Brandon started working in the insurance industry that he truly felt at home in his career. In his day-to-day interactions, he aims to live out his business philosophy in how he treats hi...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.

Reviews
for Root Insurance

3.33 (715 reviews)
5
February 4, 2024

Valleygirl77_

Wonderful experience

I was able to get insurance from Root for a lower rate for full coverage. Love the fact they actually keep up with my driving skills to get an even lower rate to help me save money.
5
January 30, 2024

Darkz

7/10

A Little bit on the expensive side. Had to put almost 400$ down but they have good benefits and coverage
5
January 24, 2024

Darma

Great find insurance

Easy application and pretty good rates and they do all for me like contact the loan company for me!
4
January 23, 2024

Stein

best Price

Very good Insurance company as for auto Root is half the price I was paying at another company so far I am happy with my choice to join Root
4
January 20, 2024

Qgard1992

Over all good experience

Fast and easy to get going! Pretty good price for coverage. Not sure why I have a driving score of 9/10 though, scored 10/10's on both of the categories, "smooth breaking" and "driving focused"
4
January 19, 2024

atchattin_

New customer reviews

The prices are fair enough. It took me a while to figure out how to make the coverages on each of my vehicles different. And the test drive is a little long.
3
January 19, 2024

MarielLopez

I should’ve listened! Rates go up even when you don’t drive.

Horrible. My rate went up $40 and all because my score went down when I wasn’t driving. I tried telling them I had proof I’ve been taking Ubers for a week due to vacation and during that week my score went down. Yet I was told this would be fixed before I got my quote and it was not. I ended up paying more than expected and it’s the same as my old insurance with less coverage . Will definitely tell people to stray away from this company and...
Horrible. My rate went up $40 and all because my score went down when I wasn’t driving. I tried telling them I had proof I’ve been taking Ubers for a week due to vacation and during that week my score went down. Yet I was told this would be fixed before I got my quote and it was not. I ended up paying more than expected and it’s the same as my old insurance with less coverage . Will definitely tell people to stray away from this company and will be transferring after the 6 months. It is advertised as if the app can tell when you drive but it can’t. For 7 days I didn’t drive and my score kept going down for being on my phone even tho I was in the back seat and for braking when it was Uber drivers. Horrible system and false advertising.
5
January 18, 2024

Ryangault424

I really like it

I really like it it was fast and easy to get and if you drive right you get money off of your bill but you should try it and see. For your self
4
January 13, 2024

Mccoy086

Definitely recommend

So far so good it was simple to set up and get insured the rate so far is good I'll definitely recommend them
5
January 12, 2024

Rbhv1995_

Root rocks

It was super simple and nice to not have to jump through hoops just to get affordable car insurance
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.usinsuranceagents.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption