Safeway Insurance Review & Ratings (2024)

Discover the benefits of Safeway Insurance for reliable and affordable coverage. Safeway Insurance offers a comprehensive range of insurance products and services, including liability, collision, and comprehensive coverage options. Compare quotes today to find the perfect coverage that fits your needs and budget. Safeguard your assets with Safeway Insurance.

UPDATED: Nov 28, 2023Fact Checked

Jeff Root

Licensed Insurance Agent

Jeff is a well-known speaker and expert in life insurance and financial planning. He has spoken at top insurance conferences around the U.S., including the InsuranceNewsNet Super Conference, the 8% Nation Insurance Wealth Conference, and the Digital Life Insurance Agent Mastermind. He has been featured and quoted in Nerdwallet, Bloomberg, Forbes, U.S. News & Money, USA Today, and other leading...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Dani Best

Licensed Insurance Producer

Dani Best has been a licensed insurance producer for nearly 10 years. Dani began her insurance career in a sales role with State Farm in 2014. During her time in sales, she graduated with her Bachelors in Psychology from Capella University and is currently earning her Masters in Marriage and Family Therapy. Since 2014, Dani has held and maintains licenses in Life, Disability, Property, and Casualt...

Licensed Insurance Producer

UPDATED: Nov 28, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.

UPDATED: Nov 28, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Nov 28, 2023Fact Checked
3.3
usinsuranceagents.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Safeway Insurance

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$107

A.M. Best rating:

A (Excellent)

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Established History: Safeway Insurance has been in business since 1959, showcasing a long history in the insurance industry.
  • Affordable Rates: Known for providing competitive and affordable rates, making car insurance accessible to a broad range of drivers.
  • Flexible Payment Options: Offers flexible payment plans, providing policyholders with various options for managing their insurance premiums.
  • Range of Coverage Options: Provides a comprehensive range of coverage options, including liability, collision, comprehensive, personal injury protection, and uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance.
  • Mobile App: Offers a user-friendly mobile app, allowing customers to conveniently access policy information, file claims, and make payments on the go.

Cons

  • Mixed Customer Reviews: Customer feedback is mixed, with both positive and negative reviews regarding claims processing and customer service.
  • Limited Availability: Safeway Insurance may not be available in all states, limiting its accessibility to a nationwide audience.
  • Claim Processing Variability: The time taken to process claims can vary, and some customers have reported challenges and delays in the claims resolution process.
  • Limited Digital Resources: While offering a mobile app, the availability of other digital resources, such as educational content and online tools, may be limited compared to some competitors.
  • Customer Satisfaction Variability: While some customers report positive experiences, others express dissatisfaction, highlighting potential variability in customer satisfaction levels.

Final Verdict: Review of Safeway Insurance

In conclusion, Safeway Insurance is a car insurance provider that has been in business for over 50 years, offering a range of insurance products and services to customers in several states. The company’s mission is to provide affordable and reliable insurance coverage to drivers, and it offers a range of discounts to help make car insurance more accessible to a wider range of customers.

Overall, Safeway Insurance can be a good option for drivers looking for affordable car insurance coverage. However, as with any insurance provider, it’s important to carefully evaluate the company’s offerings and read customer reviews before making a decision. By doing so, customers can choose a car insurance provider that meets their unique needs and preferences.

What You Should Know About Safeway Insurance Co.

Are you searching for reliable and affordable car insurance? Look no further than Safeway Insurance. In this article, we will explore the key topics surrounding Safeway Insurance, including its coverage options, customer reviews, and cost.

  • Safeway Insurance is known for providing comprehensive and affordable car insurance policies to drivers across the United States.

  • The company offers a range of insurance products, including liability coverage, collision coverage, and comprehensive coverage, as well as additional services like roadside assistance.

  • Safeway Insurance is committed to providing excellent customer service and claims handling to ensure that their policyholders have a positive experience throughout the insurance process.

Discover the benefits of Safeway Insurance and compare rates from the best insurance providers in your area by entering your zip code. Take control of your car insurance and secure the coverage you need at a price you can afford. Safeguard your peace of mind with Safeway Insurance.

Safeway Insurance History and Mission

Safeway Insurance was founded in 1959 in Westmont, Illinois by William J. Parrillo. Originally, the company focused on providing car insurance coverage to local drivers in the Chicago area. However, as the company grew, it expanded to offer coverage in other states across the country.

Today, Safeway Insurance is one of the leading car insurance providers in the United States, offering a range of products and services to meet the needs of drivers across the country. The company’s mission is to provide affordable and reliable car insurance coverage to drivers while delivering excellent customer service and support.

Safeway Insurance is committed to treating its customers with respect and honesty and providing them with the support they need throughout the insurance process.

Safeway Insurance Co. Insurance Coverage Options

Safeway Insurance offers a range of car insurance products and services to meet the needs of drivers across the United States. Here is an overview of the main products and services offered by Safeway Insurance:

  • Liability coverage: Liability coverage is required by law in most states and covers damages and injuries to other people and their property in the event of an accident where the insured driver is found to be at fault.
  • Collision coverage: Collision coverage covers damage to the insured vehicle in the event of an accident, regardless of who is at fault.
  • Comprehensive coverage: Comprehensive coverage covers damage to the insured vehicle caused by things like theft, vandalism, fire, and natural disasters.
  • Additional services: In addition to the core insurance products listed above, Safeway Insurance offers a range of additional services to its policyholders, including:
  • Roadside assistance: Safeway Insurance offers 24/7 roadside assistance to its policyholders, which includes services like towing, jump-starts, and lockout assistance.
  • Rental car coverage: If the insured vehicle is damaged in an accident, Safeway Insurance offers rental car coverage to ensure that policyholders have a temporary vehicle while their car is being repaired.
  • Uninsured motorist coverage: Uninsured motorist coverage protects insured drivers if they are involved in an accident with a driver who does not have insurance.

Safeway Insurance is known for providing affordable rates and flexible payment options to make car insurance accessible to a wider range of drivers.

Compare The Best Insurance Quotes In The Country

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Safeway Insurance Co. Insurance Rates Breakdown

The cost of insurance with Safeway Insurance can vary depending on several factors, such as the driver’s age, location, driving history, and the make and model of the insured vehicle. However, Safeway Insurance is known for providing affordable rates and flexible payment options to make car insurance accessible to a wider range of drivers.

Safeway Insurance offers competitive rates on its insurance policies, and policyholders can choose from a range of coverage options to tailor their policy to their specific needs. Customers can also take advantage of a range of discounts offered by Safeway Insurance to help lower their insurance costs.

The specific cost of insurance with Safeway Insurance will depend on a variety of factors unique to each policyholder. However, customers can easily get a quote from Safeway Insurance online or by speaking to an agent to get an idea of what their insurance costs may be.

Safeway Insurance Co. Discounts Available

Safeway Insurance offers a range of discounts to its policyholders to help lower their insurance costs. Here are some of the discounts offered by Safeway Insurance:

  • Safe driver discount: This discount is available to drivers who have a clean driving record for a certain period. The length of time required to qualify for the discount varies by state but typically ranges from three to five years.
  • Multi-car discount: This discount is available to policyholders who insure multiple cars with Safeway Insurance. The discount amount varies depending on the number of cars insured.
  • Homeowner discount: This discount is available to policyholders who own a home or condo. The discount amount varies depending on the state and the policyholder’s specific situation.
  • Good student discount: This discount is available to students who maintain good grades in school. Typically, students must maintain a minimum GPA of 3.0 or higher to qualify for the discount.
  • Military discount: This discount is available to active-duty military personnel and veterans. The discount amount varies depending on the state and the policyholder’s specific situation.
  • Senior discount: This discount is available to drivers who are 55 years of age or older. The discount amount varies depending on the state and the policyholder’s specific situation.

These are just a few of the discounts offered by Safeway Insurance. Customers can speak to a Safeway Insurance agent to learn more about the discounts available in their state and to see if they qualify for any discounts. By taking advantage of these discounts, customers can lower their insurance costs and make car insurance more affordable.

Understanding Safeway Insurance’s Claims Procedures

Ease of Filing a Claim (Online, Over the Phone, Mobile Apps)

Safeway Insurance provides multiple convenient options for policyholders to file claims. You can file a claim online through their website, over the phone by contacting their customer service, or even through their mobile app. These options offer flexibility and make it easy for customers to report accidents or incidents promptly.

Average Claim Processing Time

The average claim processing time with Safeway Insurance can vary depending on the complexity of the claim and the specific circumstances. However, Safeway Insurance is committed to processing claims efficiently and strives to provide quick resolutions to policyholders. To get more accurate information about claim processing times, customers can reach out to Safeway Insurance directly.

Customer Feedback on Claim Resolutions and payouts

Customer feedback on claim resolutions and payouts with Safeway Insurance has been mixed. While some policyholders have had positive experiences with smooth and prompt claim settlements, others have reported challenges and delays in the process.

It’s essential for customers to carefully review their policy terms and communicate clearly with Safeway Insurance during the claims process to ensure a satisfactory resolution.

Leveraging Technology with Safeway Insurance

Mobile App Features and Functionality

Safeway Insurance offers a mobile app that allows customers to access their insurance information, file claims, view policy details, and make payments conveniently from their smartphones. The app is designed to provide policyholders with easy access to their insurance needs on the go.

Online Account Management Capabilities

Customers can manage their Safeway Insurance policies and accounts online through the company’s website. This online portal enables policyholders to update personal information, review policy documents, make payments, and track claims. It offers a user-friendly interface for efficient account management.

Digital Tools and Resources

Safeway Insurance provides various digital tools and resources to assist customers in understanding their insurance coverage and options better. These resources may include educational articles, FAQ sections, and online calculators to help customers make informed decisions about their insurance needs.

Utilizing these digital resources can empower policyholders to navigate their insurance journey effectively.

How Safeway Insurance Co. Ranks Among Providers

Safeway Insurance among providers, consider checking reputable sources such as industry reports, customer satisfaction surveys, and financial stability ratings. Organizations like J.D. Power, A.M. Best, and customer review platforms may provide insights into how Safeway Insurance compares to other insurance providers.

Customer Feedback for Safeway Insurance

Safeway Insurance has received mixed reviews from customers. Here is a summary of some of the reviews:

Positive Reviews:

  • Many customers praise Safeway Insurance for its affordable rates and flexible payment options.
  • Some customers have reported positive experiences with Safeway Insurance’s claims process, citing quick response times and helpful customer service.
  • Customers appreciate the range of discounts offered by Safeway Insurance, which can help make car insurance more affordable for many drivers.

Negative Reviews:

  • Some customers have reported difficulty reaching Safeway Insurance’s customer service team, and have expressed frustration with long wait times and unhelpful representatives.
  • A few customers have reported issues with their claims being denied or delayed, and have expressed frustration with the lack of communication from Safeway Insurance.
  • Some customers have reported issues with their policies being canceled unexpectedly, even when payments were up-to-date.

Overall, while Safeway Insurance has received some positive reviews from customers, there are also negative reviews that highlight areas where the company could improve. As with any insurance provider, it’s important for customers to do their research and carefully evaluate their options before choosing a policy with Safeway Insurance or any other provider.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Safeway Insurance?

Safeway Insurance is a leading car insurance provider in the United States that offers a range of products and services to meet the needs of drivers across the country.

When was Safeway Insurance founded?

Safeway Insurance was founded in 1959 in Westmont, Illinois, by William J. Parrillo.

What is the mission of Safeway Insurance?

The company’s mission is to provide affordable and reliable car insurance coverage to drivers while delivering excellent customer service and support.

What products and services does Safeway Insurance offer?

Safeway Insurance offers a range of car insurance products and services, including liability insurance, collision insurance, comprehensive insurance, personal injury protection, and uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance.

How much does insurance with Safeway Insurance cost?

The cost of insurance with Safeway Insurance can vary depending on several factors, such as the driver’s age, location, driving history, and the make and model of the insured vehicle. However, Safeway Insurance is known for providing affordable rates and flexible payment options to make car insurance accessible to a wider range of drivers.

What discounts does Safeway Insurance offer?

Safeway Insurance offers a range of discounts to its policyholders, including multi-car discounts, safe driver discounts, and student discounts.

How can I get a quote from Safeway Insurance?

Customers can easily get a quote from Safeway Insurance online or by speaking to an agent to get an idea of what their insurance costs may be.

What is the A.M. Best rating for Safeway Insurance?

The Safeway Insurance A.M. Best rating is A.

What is the customer feedback for Safeway Insurance?

Safeway Insurance has received mixed reviews from customers. While some customers have had positive experiences with the company, others have had negative experiences, particularly with claims processing and customer service.

Compare The Best Insurance Quotes In The Country

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Jeff Root

Licensed Insurance Agent

Jeff is a well-known speaker and expert in life insurance and financial planning. He has spoken at top insurance conferences around the U.S., including the InsuranceNewsNet Super Conference, the 8% Nation Insurance Wealth Conference, and the Digital Life Insurance Agent Mastermind. He has been featured and quoted in Nerdwallet, Bloomberg, Forbes, U.S. News & Money, USA Today, and other leading...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Dani Best

Licensed Insurance Producer

Dani Best has been a licensed insurance producer for nearly 10 years. Dani began her insurance career in a sales role with State Farm in 2014. During her time in sales, she graduated with her Bachelors in Psychology from Capella University and is currently earning her Masters in Marriage and Family Therapy. Since 2014, Dani has held and maintains licenses in Life, Disability, Property, and Casualt...

Licensed Insurance Producer

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.

Reviews
for Safeway Insurance Co.

3.29 (93 reviews)
5
March 19, 2020

Laury-Espinal

Excellent service

I am so grateful for this company. I highly recommend it. I truly love the way they treat me and how effective they are.
1
January 27, 2020

Rizz

Do not by Safeway Insurance you will be robbed constantly

My first and my worst experience I've ever had with the insurance company ever they will constantly Rob and steal from you from 32 more dollars every single time you owe if there is an emergency that is totally out of your control on a day that there is no customer service the next day that there is customer service you're still screwed .they will steal your money and will not give it back even if you paid on your due date. They will snatch you o...
My first and my worst experience I've ever had with the insurance company ever they will constantly Rob and steal from you from 32 more dollars every single time you owe if there is an emergency that is totally out of your control on a day that there is no customer service the next day that there is customer service you're still screwed .they will steal your money and will not give it back even if you paid on your due date. They will snatch you off your automatic pay and make you old your next bill within the next two weeks when you're supposed to pay monthly they rob still and Rob and steal and Rob and I'm desperately looking for better insurance .
1
October 8, 2019

Ibeck6650

RIP OFF

Horrible experience. Moral of story they don’t cover everything that they say they cover . They actually don’t cover anything! I had to purchase my car out of towing cash and now I have to get it fix cash because the insurance I pay for on time doesn’t cover any expensive. WOW such a rip off !
4
July 19, 2019

beatgodz

if you cheap like me

very cheap always ready to help always under 100. fast soons as you have the cash your insured and safe to drive
1
July 1, 2019

Chase

The worst company ever

The worst, lien, don’t call, claim just sitting in there computer insurance company ever. I spoke with [REDACTED NAME] one day we closed a offer, he told me to call back the next business day. I call back he say another offer that’s 50 dollars lower like we didn’t just closed on a offer.. so I ask to speak to his supervisor, he put me on hold, then came back and told me she said his offer is his offer and if I don’t take it he will go low...
The worst, lien, don’t call, claim just sitting in there computer insurance company ever. I spoke with [REDACTED NAME] one day we closed a offer, he told me to call back the next business day. I call back he say another offer that’s 50 dollars lower like we didn’t just closed on a offer.. so I ask to speak to his supervisor, he put me on hold, then came back and told me she said his offer is his offer and if I don’t take it he will go lower... so I kept saying I wanna speak to your supervisor.. she gets on the phone no help I’m telling her to pull the recording oh we don’t record ever call... they both had attitudes. When I spoke on there reviews she got mad... this is the worst company I ever dealt with..
4
June 4, 2019

Mstearman

Great customer service, invoices need work.

The people at this company are really nice and have worked with us when we were late on a payment. I did not get quotes but the price is better than we have had in the past. The only thing I don't like is that they send invoices that say "cancelation notice" when it's just asking for your next payment, before the payment is due but only a few days before. So we don't have much notice. We usually pay it before the invoice comes in because it is du...
The people at this company are really nice and have worked with us when we were late on a payment. I did not get quotes but the price is better than we have had in the past. The only thing I don't like is that they send invoices that say "cancelation notice" when it's just asking for your next payment, before the payment is due but only a few days before. So we don't have much notice. We usually pay it before the invoice comes in because it is due on the same date every month. But getting a cancelation notice makes me worry that something went wrong with my payment or my husband forgot this month. In my state any lapse in insurance causes a $200 fine when you renew your registration so it makes me worry.
2
May 5, 2019

Amzl

customer service

i have contacted them numerous times. i haven't been contacted at all ever. i finally got to contact someone. they need to improve their costumer service quality.
1
March 20, 2019

Ajae

Insurance claims

Customer service is rude !!! I filed a claim have to go through a process to get vehicle repaired . Pay your own rental car then they reimburse you which is another process I HATE this company
2
March 19, 2019

JMMM11

INSURANCE SHOULD GO DOWN IF CLAIM FREE

It hasn't gone down any in the time I have had it, about three to four years, despite no claim history
5
December 31, 2018

Hanzo

Easy to work with

Easy to get insurance! Good for bad driving history. Give drivers a second chance. Prices are a bit high but expected for people if bad driving history
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.usinsuranceagents.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption