FR-44 Car Insurance

FR-44 insurance, a certificate of financial responsibility, is only a requirement for drivers in Florida and Virginia whose drivers' licenses have been suspended after a DUI/DWI conviction. Minimum coverage requirements with an FR-44 are higher than for the average driver, and you'll pay about 45% more for coverage. You can buy FR-44 insurance without a vehicle by purchasing non-owner car insurance, which will still meet FR-44 Florida (and Virginia) insurance requirements.

Free Insurance Comparison

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Chris Tepedino is a feature writer that has written extensively about home, life, and car insurance for numerous websites. He has a college degree in communication from the University of Tennessee and has experience reporting, researching investigative pieces, and crafting detailed, data-driven features. His works have been featured on CB Blog Nation, Flow Words, Healing Law, WIBW Kansas, and C...

Full Bio →

Written by

Laura Walker graduated college with a BS in Criminal Justice with a minor in Political Science. She married her husband and began working in the family insurance business in 2005. She became a licensed agent and wrote P&C business focusing on personal lines insurance for 10 years. Laura serviced existing business and wrote new business. She now uses her insurance background to help educate...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Laura Walker
Former Licensed Agent Laura Walker

UPDATED: Jul 16, 2021

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.

The Rundown

  • FR-44 insurance isn’t actually car insurance; instead, it’s a certificate of financial responsibility
  • An FR-44 costs between $15 and $25, but if you’re required to obtain an FR-44, your insurance costs will be about 45% higher than rates for the average driver
  • Only drivers in Florida and Virginia may be required to obtain an FR-44

If you’re a high-risk driver (and even if you’re not), you may have heard of FR-44 car insurance, and you probably have questions. What is FR-44 insurance? Where and when is an FR-44 required? What’s the minimum coverage required with an FR-44? Why do you need an FR-44? What is the best FR-44 car insurance company?

Read this article to find the answers to your FR-44 insurance questions.

If you need to buy FR-44 car insurance, why not take a minute to enter your ZIP code in the free tool on this page to start comparing FR-44 car insurance quotes right now?

What is FR-44 insurance?

An FR-44 isn’t technically insurance; instead, it’s a certificate of financial responsibility that proves you have enough car insurance to drive legally.

You’ll need an FR-44 in Florida or Virginia, but only if you’re trying to reinstate your license after a suspension resulting from an egregious traffic violation (usually a DUI/DWI). The specifics vary between the two states:

  • FR-44 insurance requirements in Florida – you’ll need an FR-44 to reinstate your license after it was suspended as the result of a DUI conviction
  • FR-44 insurance requirements in Virginia – you’ll need an FR-44 if you injured someone while driving under the influence, were found driving with a suspended license, and other specifics

Often, FR-44 insurance is required by the state, there is a minimum duration in which you’ll need to maintain the coverage (usually three years), and you won’t be able to cancel it.

Compare The Best Insurance Quotes In The Country

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

How do you get an FR-44?

If you’re required to get an FR-44, you’ll most likely be notified by the state. When that happens, all you need to do is contact your insurer. Your insurance company will handle all the details, including filing the paperwork with the state.

You’ll only have to pay a nominal fee (usually between $15 and $25); however, you can expect a significant increase in your insurance rates due to the FR-44 and the circumstances that necessitated your obtaining it.

How much does FR-44 insurance cost?

High-risk drivers (which include anyone with a DUI/DWI conviction) will typically pay much higher rates than the average driver. With this in mind, it’s no surprise that FR-44 insurance rates cost more than rates for lower-risk drivers.

While we don’t have FR-44 insurance rates specifically, we do have average rates for Florida and Virginia drivers with a DUI/DWI conviction, which we compared to average rates for drivers with a clean driving record. Take a look.

Average Annual Florida and Virginia Car Insurance Rates with a Clean Driving Record vs. with a DUI
StateAverage Annual Rates with a Clean Driving RecordAverage Annual Rates with a DUI
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

Unfortunately, even though it’s significantly more expensive than rates for the average driver, you can’t pay for FR-44 insurance coverage in installments. So if you’re thinking “I can’t afford FR-44 insurance”, there aren’t many options.

If you start the process and partway through the three-year time period and cannot pay for your coverage, your insurance company will notify the state, your license will be suspended again, and you’ll have to start the process over.

How much coverage is required with FR-44 insurance?

Your minimum coverage requirements will be significantly higher with an FR-44 than the minimum liability requirements for average drivers or drivers with SR-22 car insurance. We’ve compared minimum coverage requirements for average drivers to drivers with an FR-44 in this table. Take a look.

State Minimum Liability Car Insurance Coverage vs. FR-44 Liability Car Insurance Requirements in Florida and Virginia
StateState Minimum Bodily Injury Liability RequirementFR-44 Minimum Bodily Injury Liability RequirementState Minimum Property Damage RequirementFR-44 Property Damage Requirement
Florida$10,000$100,000 per person $300,000 per accident$10,000$50,000
Virginia$25,000 per person $50,000 per accident$50,000 per person $100,000 per accident$25,000$40,000
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

Can you get FR-44 insurance without a vehicle? If you need an FR-44 but don’t own a car, don’t worry. You can buy non-owners auto insurance, which will meet the FR-44 insurance requirements.

Compare The Best Insurance Quotes In The Country

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

FR-44 Insurance: The Bottom Line

After a DUI/DWI conviction in Florida or Virginia, an FR-44 certificate of responsibility may be required as part of the process for reinstating your driver’s license. With an FR-44, you’ll need to carry minimum coverage limits that are higher than for the average driver.

FR-44 insurance can be expensive, particularly with a DUI/DWI on your record. Average rates with an FR-44 are 19% higher than for the average driver in Florida and 45% higher in Virginia.

If you’re ready to start shopping for affordable FR-44 car insurance, get started by using your ZIP code in our free tool to compare FR-44 car insurance rates today.

Free Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption