Florida Car Insurance Regulations & Required Coverage
Florida car insurance regulations do not legally require drivers to maintain bodily injury liability coverage but we highly recommended to do so. Florida auto insurance laws follow a no-fault system, where drivers are responsible for paying for their own injuries and damages, and having that additional coverage can save you from paying out of pocket for a car accident.
Free Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Nov 10, 2020
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.
Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.
Car insurance laws in Florida are a bit different than other states. They do not legally require drivers to maintain bodily injury liability coverage but it is highly recommended to do so and many insurance companies won’t sell a policy without it. Minimum coverage requirements are not very high compared with other states, but it is also recommended that drivers purchase additional coverage to maximize their protection.
Florida insurance laws follow a no fault system. A no fault system requires drivers to carry car insurance for their own protection and limits their ability to sue other drivers for damages. If you are in an accident, your insurance company will be responsible for paying for damages up to your policy limits regardless of who is at fault for the accident. Under a no fault system, drivers are more limited to when they’re able to sue the party responsible for causing the accident for damages.
All personal vehicles in Florida require the following liability coverage requirements:
- Property Damage
Additionally, Florida requires the following coverage:
- Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
|Minimum Car Insurance Requirements|
|Personal Injury Protection||$10,000 Limit|
|Property Damage Liability||$10,000 Limit|
Florida doesn’t require its drivers to maintain bodily injury coverage but many insurance companies will not sell a policy without minimum bodily injury limits. Under the Financial Responsibility Law, if a driver is held to be at fault in an accident that results in bodily injury or property damage must have full liability coverage. Specifically, the law requires that any person have liability coverage at the time of the following:
- A crash where you are at fault and injuries have occurred.
- A suspension for too many points against your driver license.
- A citation for DUI, which results in a revocation.
- A revocation for Habitual Traffic Offender.
- A revocation for any serious offense where this department is required to revoke your license.
Below are Florida’s minimum requirements under the Financial Responsibility Law:
|Minimum Bodily Injury Requirements|
|Bodily injury liability for one person||$10,000|
|Bodily injury liability for two or more people||$20,000|
|Property damage liability||$10,000|
|Combined single limits||$30,000|
Additional insurance coverage can include:
- Uninsured / Underinsured Motorist Coverage
- Comprehensive and Collision Coverage
Uninsured / underinsured coverage will help if you are in an accident with a driver who does not have insurance or doesn’t have enough insurance to cover your expenses. Even though Florida requires PIP coverage, the limits are not always enough to cover bodily injuries of you or your passengers. This additional coverage can help pay for remanining expenses. Florida doesn’t require bodily injury liability so this coverage can also pay for bills after your PIP is used.
Collision coverage pays for repairs to or replacement of your vehicle if it is involved in an accident. Comprehensive basically covers any damage to your car not resulting from an accident such as vandalism or flooding. Many times, these two coverages are grouped together and can be beneficial to most drivers. The most stolen vehicles in Florida are at the greatest risk, but that doesn’t mean you should go without this coverage.
Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility
Establishing proof of insurance and financial responsibility
- Get a standard liability car insurance policy
- Place cash/securities with the FDHSMV to obtain a Financial Responsibility Certificate from the Bureau of Financial Responsibility.
- Obtain a Financial Responsibility Certificate after posting a surety bond.
- Self insurance. Providing evidence of possessing a net encumbered capital will allow you to receive a Self Insurance Certificate
Your insurance company will usually notify the FDHSMV regarding your proof of insurance. However, in order to provide proof of insurance, you can provide one of the following:
- Insurance ID card provided by your insurance company
- A copy of your insurance policy
- Certificate of self insurance issued by the DHSMV
- Form E, Uniform Motor Carrier Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability
- Insurance policy binder
- Surety bond or combination of surety bond and insurance policy
You must maintain proof of insurance and financial responsibility and present it:
- When asked by a police officer
- During the registration of your vehicle
- Anytime you operate an insurable vehicle
- When getting or reinstating your license
Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility Penalties
If you are unable to show proof of insurance when asked, you can face one of the following penalties:
- Suspension of driving privileges, registration and license plate for up to 3 years or until proof of insurance is shown
- License reinstatement fine of between $150 – $500
Florida Insurance Agents
Jacksonville Car Insurance | Miami Car Insurance | Tampa Car Insurance | Orlando Car Insurance | Hialeah Car Insurance | Tallahassee Car Insurance | Port St. Lucie Car Insurance | Fort Lauderdale Car Insurance | Cape Coral Car Insurance | Pembroke Pines Car Insurance | Hollywood Car Insurance | Miramar Car Insurance | Gainesville Car Insurance | Coral Springs Car Insurance | Miami Gardens Car Insurance | Clearwater Car Insurance | Palm Bay Car Insurance | Pompano Beach Car Insurance