Kemper Insurance Review & Ratings (2024)

Discover a range of reliable coverage options tailored to your specific insurance needs with Kemper Insurance. With their long-standing reputation in the industry and commitment to exceptional service, Kemper Insurance offers a comprehensive selection of insurance products to protect what matters most to you.

UPDATED: Nov 26, 2023Fact Checked

Travis Thompson

Licensed Insurance Agent

Travis Thompson has been a licensed insurance agent for nearly five years. After obtaining his life and health insurance licenses, he began working for Symmetry Financial Group as a State Licensed Field Underwriter. In this position, he learned the coverage options and limits surrounding mortgage protection. He advised clients on the coverage needed to protect them in the event of a death, critica...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Tim Bain

Licensed Insurance Agent

Tim Bain is a licensed life insurance agent with 23 years of experience helping people protect their families and businesses with term life insurance.  His insurance expertise has been featured in several publications, including Investopedia and eFinancial. He also does digital marking and analysis for KPS/3, a communications and marking firm located in Nevada. 

Licensed Insurance Agent

UPDATED: Nov 26, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.

UPDATED: Nov 26, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Nov 26, 2023Fact Checked
2.8
usinsuranceagents.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Kemper Insurance

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$167

A.M. Best rating:

A- (Excellent)

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Long-standing reputation in the insurance industry.
  • Commitment to exceptional service.
  • Comprehensive selection of insurance products, including vehicle insurance, property insurance, additional insurance, and lifestyle insurance.
  • Offers a range of coverage options tailored to specific insurance needs.
  • Discounts available, such as multi-policy discounts for combining home and auto insurance.
  • Strives to make the claims process convenient with online, phone, and mobile app options.
  • Emphasis on digital and technological advancements, including a user-friendly mobile app and online account management.

Cons

  • Mixed customer reviews, with some praising affordability and customer service, while others complain about poor communication and slow claims processing times.
  • Complaints about the company’s customer service and claims handling have been reported online.
  • Specific details about the average annual rate are not provided in the text.
  • Limited information about the company’s A.M. Best Rating, which is crucial for assessing financial stability.

Final Verdict: Review of Kemper Insurance

Kemper Insurance emphasize its long-standing reputation, commitment to exceptional service, and a diverse selection of insurance products tailored to specific needs.

The piece covers key aspects such as discounts, coverage options, and the claims process. Notable features include Kemper’s emphasis on digital advancements, offering a user-friendly mobile app and online account management.

While the article highlights positive aspects such as multi-policy discounts and convenient claims filing, it acknowledges mixed customer reviews, urging potential policyholders to consider individual preferences and conduct thorough research.

Additionally, the article touches on the importance of A.M. Best Ratings, urging readers to verify specific details directly with Kemper for a comprehensive understanding of the company’s offerings and financial stability.

What You Should Know About Kemper Corporation

Welcome to our comprehensive guide on Kemper Insurance and the key topics surrounding this reputable insurance provider. In this article, we will explore Kemper’s commitment to exceptional service, competitive rates, and the importance of having the right coverage to protect your assets.

We’ll discuss the range of insurance products offered by Kemper, including vehicle insurance, property insurance, additional insurance, and lifestyle insurance. Whether you’re looking for auto insurance, homeowners insurance, or other coverage, Kemper Insurance has you covered.

To compare rates from the best insurance providers in your area and find the perfect coverage for your requirements, simply enter your ZIP code below. Take the first step towards securing your future with Kemper Insurance and ensure that you have the protection you need for life’s unexpected moments.

Kemper Corporation Insurance Coverage Options

Kemper Insurance common coverage options that auto insurance companies typically offer. These may include:

  • Liability Coverage: Covers bodily injury and property damage that the policyholder is legally responsible for in an at-fault accident.
  • Collision Coverage: Pays for damage to the insured vehicle resulting from a collision with another vehicle or object.
  • Comprehensive Coverage: Provides coverage for non-collision events such as theft, vandalism, natural disasters, or hitting an animal.
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage: Protects the policyholder if involved in an accident with a driver who has insufficient or no insurance.
  • Medical Payments Coverage: Pays for medical expenses for the policyholder and passengers injured in an accident, regardless of fault.
  • Personal Injury Protection (PIP): Extends coverage to medical expenses, lost wages, and other costs resulting from an accident, regardless of fault.
  • Rental Reimbursement Coverage: Covers the cost of renting a vehicle while the insured car is in the shop for covered repairs.
  • Roadside Assistance: Provides assistance for common roadside issues, such as towing, flat tire repair, or jump-starts.
  • Gap Insurance: Covers the difference between the actual cash value of a vehicle and the amount still owed on a car loan or lease if the vehicle is declared a total loss.
  • Custom Parts and Equipment Coverage: Offers coverage for aftermarket additions or modifications to the insured vehicle.
  • Accident Forgiveness: Ensures that the policyholder’s premium won’t increase after their first at-fault accident, providing a level of forgiveness.

The availability of these coverage options may vary by state and the specific policy terms offered by Kemper Insurance. Customers should contact Kemper directly or consult their policy documents to understand the coverage options available to them.

Compare The Best Insurance Quotes In The Country

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Kemper Corporation Insurance Rates Breakdown

Kemper Insurance general overview of factors commonly considered by insurance companies, when determining auto insurance rates:

  • Age: Younger drivers, especially those under 25, typically face higher insurance rates due to a perceived higher risk of accidents.
  • Gender: Historically, insurance companies have considered gender as a factor. Young males may have higher rates than females of the same age, although this can vary by location and insurer.
  • Driving Record: A clean driving record with no accidents or traffic violations usually results in lower premiums. On the contrary, a history of accidents or violations can lead to higher rates.
  • Vehicle Type: The make, model, and year of the insured vehicle can impact rates. More expensive or high-performance cars may have higher premiums.
  • Coverage Limits: The level of coverage selected, including liability limits and deductibles, influences the premium. Higher coverage limits generally result in higher premiums.
  • Credit Score: In some states, insurers use credit scores to determine rates. A higher credit score may lead to lower premiums.
  • Location: Where the insured vehicle is primarily parked or garaged, as well as the overall location, can affect rates. Urban areas with higher traffic density may have higher premiums.
  • Annual Mileage: The number of miles driven annually is a factor. Lower mileage often correlates with lower risk and, consequently, lower rates.
  • Discount Eligibility: Insurance companies offer various discounts, such as multi-policy discounts, good student discounts, and safe driver discounts. Eligibility for these discounts can impact the overall premium.
  • Marital Status: Married individuals may receive lower rates compared to single individuals. This is based on statistical evidence suggesting that married individuals are often involved in fewer accidents.

The specific weight and importance of these factors can vary among insurance providers, and state regulations also play a role in rate determination. For accurate and personalized information on Kemper Insurance rates and criteria, individuals should contact Kemper directly or use their online tools to obtain a quote based on their unique circumstances.

Kemper Corporation Discounts Available

These Kemper car insurance discounts and options reflect its strategy to incentivize safety, security, and responsible driving behaviors.

  • Airbags Discount: Policyholders may qualify for a discount if their vehicles are equipped with airbags, contributing to enhanced safety.
  • Anti-lock Brakes Discount: Vehicles with anti-lock brakes may be eligible for a discount, recognizing the safety benefits of this technology.
  • Anti-theft Devices Discount: Installing anti-theft devices in insured vehicles can lead to discounts, promoting vehicle security.
  • Automatic Safety Belts Discount: Vehicles equipped with automatic safety belts may qualify for a discount, emphasizing occupant safety.
  • Driver Training Discount: Completing approved driver training courses could make policyholders eligible for discounts, encouraging safe driving practices.
  • Kids Away at College Discount: Families with young drivers away at college may receive discounts, acknowledging reduced risk when the young drivers are not regularly using insured vehicles.
  • Multiple Cars Discount: Insuring multiple vehicles with Kemper may result in discounts, providing incentives for customers with more than one vehicle.
  • Accident Forgiveness Option: Kemper may offer accident forgiveness as a coverage option. This feature can prevent premium increases after the first at-fault accident.

If you’re on the market for homeowners insurance, Kemper offers a multi-policy discount. So you can combine your home and auto insurance company and other policies. They also offer discounts for:

  • Home sprinkler systems
  • Fire and burglar alarms
  • Fire extinguishers
  • Smoke detectors
  • Deadbolt locks

Navigating Kemper Insurance Claims Process

Ease of Filing a Claim (Online, Over the Phone, Mobile Apps)

Kemper Insurance strives to make the claims process as convenient as possible for its policyholders. They offer multiple options for filing a claim, including online, over the phone, and through mobile apps. This flexibility allows customers to choose the method that suits them best, making it easier to initiate a claim when needed.

Average Claim Processing Time

The speed at which an insurance company processes claims can significantly impact a customer’s experience. Kemper Insurance aims to provide efficient claim processing to minimize any delays in getting policyholders the assistance they need. While specific processing times can vary depending on the nature and complexity of the claim, Kemper Insurance is committed to handling claims promptly and professionally.

Customer Feedback on Claim Resolutions and Payouts

Customer feedback plays a crucial role in evaluating an insurance company’s performance. Kemper Insurance acknowledges the importance of satisfying its customers by providing fair and timely claim resolutions and payouts. Reviews and testimonials from policyholders can shed light on their experiences, helping potential customers make informed decisions about choosing Kemper Insurance.

Unveiling Kemper Insurance Digital and Technological Advancements

Mobile App Features and Functionality

In today’s digital age, insurance companies are expected to offer user-friendly mobile apps. Kemper Insurance recognizes this trend and has developed a mobile app that provides policyholders with easy access to their insurance information. The app may offer features such as policy management, claims filing, and bill payment, enhancing the overall customer experience.

Online Account Management Capabilities

Kemper Insurance emphasizes the importance of online account management to empower its customers. Through their website, policyholders can access a range of tools and resources to manage their policies efficiently. These online capabilities may include updating personal information, reviewing policy details, and making premium payments.

Digital Tools and Resources

To assist customers in understanding their insurance coverage and making informed decisions, Kemper Insurance offers digital tools and resources. These may include educational materials, calculators, and FAQs on their website. By providing valuable information online, Kemper aims to help policyholders navigate the complexities of insurance and make the most of their coverage.

How Kemper Corporation Ranks Among Providers

The Ranking of Kemper Corporation among other insurance providers, does highlight Kemper’s long-standing reputation, commitment to service, and diverse insurance product offerings. The information touches on aspects such as discounts, coverage options, and the claims process, but it does not include a comparative ranking against other insurance providers.

To assess Kemper Corporation’s position among providers, individuals may need to refer to independent insurance rating organizations, customer reviews, and industry reports for a more comprehensive comparison. Additionally, specific criteria, such as A.M. Best Ratings, are crucial for evaluating Kemper’s financial stability relative to other insurance companies.

Frequently Asked Questions

What types of insurance does Kemper offer?

Kemper Insurance offers a range of insurance products, including vehicle insurance, property insurance, additional insurance, and lifestyle insurance.

Where can I find more information about Kemper Auto Insurance?

You can find more information about Kemper Auto Insurance on their website, which offers a wealth of information about different policy options, the claims process, and the company itself.

How many states is Kemper Insurance licensed to operate in?

Kemper Insurance is licensed to operate in 42 of the 50 U.S. states.

How can I file a claim with Kemper Insurance?

You can file a claim with Kemper Insurance through their website, over the phone, or through your insurance agent.

What are some of the reviews for Kemper Insurance?

Kemper Insurance has received mixed reviews online. Some customers have praised the company for their affordable rates and excellent customer service, while others have complained about poor communication and slow claims processing times.

What types of vehicle insurance does Kemper offer?

Kemper offers a range of auto insurance options, including liability coverage, collision coverage, comprehensive coverage, personal injury protection (PIP), and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.

 

Compare The Best Insurance Quotes In The Country

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Travis Thompson

Licensed Insurance Agent

Travis Thompson has been a licensed insurance agent for nearly five years. After obtaining his life and health insurance licenses, he began working for Symmetry Financial Group as a State Licensed Field Underwriter. In this position, he learned the coverage options and limits surrounding mortgage protection. He advised clients on the coverage needed to protect them in the event of a death, critica...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Tim Bain

Licensed Insurance Agent

Tim Bain is a licensed life insurance agent with 23 years of experience helping people protect their families and businesses with term life insurance.  His insurance expertise has been featured in several publications, including Investopedia and eFinancial. He also does digital marking and analysis for KPS/3, a communications and marking firm located in Nevada. 

Licensed Insurance Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.

Reviews
for Kemper Corporation

2.84 (209 reviews)
1
July 14, 2023

lisal

Stay far away

Kemper changed my policy from a 12 month to a six month- but same payment. Doubled my premium. Reason: a glass claim. $500 windshield. I dared to use coverage I have paid for for many years but never needed before. My punishment for daring to use what I bought?? Doubling my premium. Stay far away from this shady company.
1
May 15, 2023

deniser89

Negligent Company

I have been completely ignored since i submitted my claim on 02/28/2023. My car was stolen. I did everything that was instructed of me and not once have a i received a call from any of the agents assigned to me, or any of the supervisors I have left voicemails to. I had questions I needed answers to and no one would call me. I find this to be completely unprofessional and negligent of customers. I have also sent an email and forwarded to my lawye...
I have been completely ignored since i submitted my claim on 02/28/2023. My car was stolen. I did everything that was instructed of me and not once have a i received a call from any of the agents assigned to me, or any of the supervisors I have left voicemails to. I had questions I needed answers to and no one would call me. I find this to be completely unprofessional and negligent of customers. I have also sent an email and forwarded to my lawyer who is ready to take action but I have been trying my best to give the benefit of doubt that maybe just maybe this week they will finally give me a call with an actual update. Its about to be three months and i am running out of patience. I don't know how anyone would continue to work with Kemper / Infinity after having these issues.
1
May 6, 2023

Moni_R

Horrible insurance

No communication, accident happened 5 days ago. They said someone would come look at the damage of the car….NO body ever called or showed up. They offer no rental service coverage. This issuance is by far the worst I highly do not recommend.
1
April 25, 2023

Josh_P

Kemper auto insurance is a scam

Horrible auto insurance company. Poor customer service, poor adjusters, and poor appraisers. These guys are crooks that only look out for their bottom line and saving their company money. DON'T USE!!!!
0.5
April 20, 2023

Josh Pico

Kemper Corporation review

Kemper/Infinity Auto Insurance is a scam! They will collect your premiums without helping you in the time of need. Absolute crooks. DON\'T USE THEM!!! Department of Insurance complaints confirm this review. Avoid this company, they will not take care of you.
1
April 24, 2022

Karla_

Too expensive!

Kemper is a rip off. My payment goes up a few dollars after a few months and they just disregard it as ‘it’s just a few dollars’. Maybe I don’t have a few dollars and thought the agreed amount would stay the same. Be aware. I would never refer to them to anyone. As careful of a driver as I am I don’t feel comfortable they would cover damages from an accident.
1
April 2, 2022

Moquendo_

This company is not trustworthy! Look for another insurance

Beware of these people, I renewed my insurance policy with them, paid in full and then get a bill the next month for $904.00 more! I called and spoke with [REDACTED NAME] she basically said that my insurance increased because the change of address, BUT I was not informed of this at the time of renewal. Now I have to either come up with an extra $375 within a week or I’ll have to pay the $904. There are many companies, don’t go with them they ...
Beware of these people, I renewed my insurance policy with them, paid in full and then get a bill the next month for $904.00 more! I called and spoke with [REDACTED NAME] she basically said that my insurance increased because the change of address, BUT I was not informed of this at the time of renewal. Now I have to either come up with an extra $375 within a week or I’ll have to pay the $904. There are many companies, don’t go with them they will blind side you with extra charges!
1
July 10, 2021

sergeche

the worst insurance ever

If you don't want to loose your money, time and nerves never have any business with this company. My car was declared total loss more than 2 months ago, their adjustors and supervisors just never call you back. When you try to reach them, you never spend less than 40 minutes on the phone line,waiting for somebody to answer, you leave your information again and again and nobody calls your back. Next week I will go to the consumer protection agency...
If you don't want to loose your money, time and nerves never have any business with this company. My car was declared total loss more than 2 months ago, their adjustors and supervisors just never call you back. When you try to reach them, you never spend less than 40 minutes on the phone line,waiting for somebody to answer, you leave your information again and again and nobody calls your back. Next week I will go to the consumer protection agency, because people should be protected from dishonest business practices
1
July 6, 2021

Garrett_W

THE WORST INSURANCE COMPANY EVER - THEY WILL NOT HELP YOU

If you want a claim to be handled, at all, when you are 100% not at fault, stay far away from Kemper! I was involved in a crash 2/22/2021 and was 100% not at fault and Kemper still has not taken care of my claim. I have had three different adjusters who either stop responding or tell me "a manager will get back to me" (5 times now) or "it is being reviewed by the _____ team now" (3 times now) and nother ever happens. IT HAS BEEN FIVE MONTHS FO...
If you want a claim to be handled, at all, when you are 100% not at fault, stay far away from Kemper! I was involved in a crash 2/22/2021 and was 100% not at fault and Kemper still has not taken care of my claim. I have had three different adjusters who either stop responding or tell me "a manager will get back to me" (5 times now) or "it is being reviewed by the _____ team now" (3 times now) and nother ever happens. IT HAS BEEN FIVE MONTHS FOR A $2,000 CLAIM AND THEY WILL NOT HELP ME. THE WORST COMPANY I HAVE EVER DEALT WITH.
1
June 28, 2021

MsKendall

Worst Customer Service

I have been stranded for over 3 hours and continue to call Kemper claims for road side assistance. They initially had me on hold aware I was stranded on the side of the road then disconnected the call with no return call. It may be that their call service is in India; however it is horrible customer service. I have now called over 7 times and they continue to disconnect the call. While the rate is reasonable, you definitely get what you pay f...
I have been stranded for over 3 hours and continue to call Kemper claims for road side assistance. They initially had me on hold aware I was stranded on the side of the road then disconnected the call with no return call. It may be that their call service is in India; however it is horrible customer service. I have now called over 7 times and they continue to disconnect the call. While the rate is reasonable, you definitely get what you pay for. I will researching a new auto insurance and pay the slightly higher premiums.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.usinsuranceagents.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption