Texas Car Insurance Regulations & Required Coverage
Texas car insurance regulations state that all Texas drivers are required to maintain minimum liability insurance limits of 30/60/25 along with uninsured/underinsured bodily injury and property damage coverage. Texas auto insurance law dictates that someone must always be found to be found at fault for causing a car accident. Learn more about state laws and compare Texas car insurance quotes for free with our guide below.
Free Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Nov 9, 2020
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.
Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.
All drivers living in Texas are required to maintain minimum liability insurance limits of 30/60/25 along with uninsured/underinsured bodily injury and property damage coverage. The state follows a tort system and has penalties for individuals who fail to provide proof of insurance.
Texas insurance law dictates that someone must always be found to be found at fault for causing a car accident. The person found at fault and their insurer is then held responsible for covering the monetary damages incurred by the accident. This type of system is referred to as a tort system and the specific rules and regulations can vary from state to state.
Texas Car Insurance Requirements
All personal vehicles in Texas require the following liability coverage requirements:
- Bodily Injury
- Property Damage
|Minimum Texas Car Insurance Requirements|
|Bodily Injury Liability||$30,000 / $60,000 Limit|
|Property Damage Liability||$25,000 Limit|
Additional insurance coverage can include:
- Uninsured / Underinsured Motorist Coverage
- Comprehensive and Collision Coverage
- Medical Payments Coverage
- Personal Injury Protection (PIP) Coverage
- Towing & Labor coverage
- Rental Reimbursement Coverage
Uninsured / underinsured coverage can be very useful coverage to add to your policy. It will provide financial assistance if you are involved in an accident with an uninsured or underinsured motorist.
Collision and comprehensive coverage are usually bundled together and are able to cover expenses above your deductible for repairs to your vehicle regardless of fault (collision) and also
non-collision damages to your vehicle if it is stolen or damaged by a tornado or hail (comprehensive). Even if your car isn’t on the list of most stolen vehicles in Texas, we strongly recommend purchasing comprehensive insurance.
Medical payments coverage can help pay for medical and/or funeral bills for people involved in an accident. This covers you, family that lives in your household and passengers in the vehicle regardless of who is found to be at fault.
Personal injury protection provides the same benefits of medical payments coverage but also will provide 80% of any lost income and the cost of a care person for people injured in an accident.
Towing & labor will cover expenses related to help services such as a tow truck or for a company to help fix a tire.
Rental reimbursement coverage will provide a set amount of money to be used to obtain a rental vehicle if yours has been stolen or requires repairs.
Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility
Establishing proof of insurance and financial responsibility
- Get a standard liability car insurance policy
- File a surety bond with the county clerk. The surety bond needs to include two people who both own real property in Texas.
- Make a deposit of $55,000 to the county comptroller
- Make a deposit of $55,000 to the county judge
- Self insurance is available to those with more than 25 cars. Certification with the Texas DMV is required.
In order to provide proof of insurance, you can provide one of the following:
- Insurance ID card provided by your insurance company
- Documentation provided from establishing financial responsibility via method other than getting a liability policy
You must maintain proof of insurance and financial responsibility and present it:
- When asked by a police officer (drivers have 10 days to provide proof of insurance)
- When obtaining or renewing your license
- During the registration of your vehicle
- During the inspection of your vehicle
- After you are involved in an accident
Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility Penalties
If you are unable to show proof of insurance when asked, you can face one of the following penalties:
- A fine of between $175 – $350 for a first offense
- A fine of between $350 – $1000 for a second offense
- Suspension of your license
- Your vehicle can be impounded
Texas Insurance Agents
Houston Car Insurance | San Antonio Car Insurance | Dallas Car Insurance | Austin Car Insurance | Fort Worth Car Insurance | El Paso Car Insurance | Arlington Car Insurance | Corpus Christi Car Insurance | Plano Car Insurance | Laredo Car Insurance | Lubbock Car Insurance | Garland Car Insurance | Irving Car Insurance | Amarillo Car Insurance | Grand Prairie Car Insurance | Brownsville Car Insurance | Mckinney Car Insurance | Frisco Car Insurance