Washington D.C. Car Insurance Regulations & Required Coverage
Washington D.C. car insurance regulations require that drivers maintain minimum insurance coverage. This coverage includes bodily injury, property damage, and coverage for uninsured motorists. Washington D.C. auto insurance laws follow a tort system, meaning that someone will be determined to be at-fault for the accident and then will be financially responsible.
Free Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Nov 10, 2020
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.
Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.
The District of Columbia, more commonly referred to as Washington D.C., requires all drivers to maintain minimum insurance coverage. This coverage includes bodily injury, property damage and coverage for uninsured motorists. Specific insurance laws in Washington D.C. differ from other states so it is recommended that you maintain basic knowledge of insurance rules and regulations.
Similar to nearby Maryland and Virgina, Washington D.C. insurance law follows a tort system. The specific rules of a tort system can vary but the basics mandate that after an accident, someone will be determined to be at-fault for causing the accident and is then responsible (along with their insurance company) for covering all related expenses.
All personal vehicles in Washington D.C. require the following liability coverage requirements:
- Bodily Injury
- Property Damage
Additionally, drivers are required to have the following coverage:
- Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury
- Uninsured Property Damage
|Minimum Washington D.C. Car Insurance Requirements|
|Bodily Injury Liability||$25,000 / $50,000 Limit|
|Property Damage Liability||$10,000 Limit|
|Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury||$25,000 / $50,000 Limit|
|Uninsured Property Damage||$5,000 subject to $200 deductible|
Additional insurance coverage can include:
- Comprehensive and Collision Coverage
Collision and comprehensive coverage are optionally, but are beneficial in helping cover the expenses of repairing or replacing your vehicle. Collision covers any collision related incidents such as getting hit by another driver. Comprehensive covers all non-collision related incidents such as having your vehicle stolen or flood damage. Even if your vehicle isn’t on the list of most stolen vehicles in Washington D.C., you should consider having this coverage.
Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility
Establishing proof of insurance and financial responsibility
- Get a standard liability car insurance policy
In order to provide proof of insurance, you can provide one of the following:
- Insurance ID Card
- Copy of Insurance Policy
- Any document issued by your insurance company listing the name of the company, policy number, period of coverage and names of those insured
You must maintain proof of insurance and financial responsibility and present it:
- When asked by a police officer
- After an accident
- During registration or renewing registration of a vehicle
- Anytime you are operating a vehicle
Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility Penalties
If you are unable to show proof of insurance when asked, you can face the following penalties:
- Suspension of registration tags and reciprocity sticker
- Fine of $30 for not being able to show proof of insurance
- Fine of $150 for a lapse of 30 days or less
- Fine of $7 per day for lapse over 30 days up to $2,500