Wisconsin Car Insurance Regulations & Required Coverage

Wisconsin car insurance regulations require that drivers maintain minimum liability limits of 50/100/15 and 100/300 Uninsured Motorist (UM) limits. Since Wisconsin car insurance laws follow a tort legal system, it’s recommended to get additional coverage for your vehicle. If you are in an accident and are not able to show proof of insurance, WisDOT will investigate and could suspend your license or registration.

Free Insurance Comparison

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Natasha McLachlan is a writer who currently lives in Southern California. She is an alumna of California College of the Arts, where she obtained her B.A. in Writing and Literature. Her current work revolves around insurance guides and informational articles. She truly enjoys helping others learn more about everyday, practical matters through her work.

Full Bio →

Written by

Laura Walker graduated college with a BS in Criminal Justice with a minor in Political Science. She married her husband and began working in the family insurance business in 2005. She became a licensed agent and wrote P&C business focusing on personal lines insurance for 10 years. Laura serviced existing business and wrote new business. She now uses her insurance background to help educate...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Laura Walker
Former Licensed Agent

UPDATED: Nov 10, 2020

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.

Each driver in Wisconsin is required to maintain car insurance coverage. Wisconsin has minimum liability limits of 50/100/15 and 100/300 Uninsured Motorist (UM) limits. Since the state follows a tort legal system, it’s recommended to get additional coverage for your vehicle.

A tort system simply means that after any car accident, someone needs to be named at fault and, along with their insurance company, will be held responsible to cover the costs resulting from any damages and injuries incurred by the accident.

Required Coverage

All personal vehicles in Wisconsin require the following liability coverage requirements:

  • Bodily Injury
  • Property Damage

Additionally, Wisconsin requires the following coverage:

  • Uninsured / Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements
Bodily Injury Liability $25,000 / $50,000 Limit
Property Damage Liability $10,000 Limit
Uninsured/Underinsured Bodily Injury $25,000 / $50,000 Limit

Additional insurance coverage can include:

  • Comprehensive and Collision Coverage

Comprehensive and collision coverage can pay for damages not covered by your other coverages. Comprehensive coverage will compensate you for costs (above your deductible) related to incidents excluding collisions. This can include events such as having your car broken into, stolen or damaged by mother nature such as hail or flooding. Collision will help cover car repairs if your vehicle is involved in an accident. Comprehensive is important for vehicles listed as the most stolen vehicles in Wisconsin, but is good coverage to have for any vehicle.

Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility

Establishing proof of insurance and financial responsibility

  • Get a standard liability car insurance policy
  • Get an SR-22 certificate from a Wisconsin licensed insurance company
  • Make a cash deposit of $60,000 with the Wisconsin Department of Transportation (WisDOT)
  • Post a surety bond for $60,000 from an insurance company licensed to do business in Wisconsin

Required Documentation

You can show proof of insurance with WisDOT by providing them an SR-22 form from your insurance company.

You must maintain proof of insurance and financial responsibility:

  • To receive an occupational license or to reinstate your license if its been previously revoked
  • To reinstate after suspension if suspension occurs under the Wisconsin uninsured motorists/safety responsibility law
  • For any driver under 18 years old

Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility Penalties

If you are in an accident and are not able to show proof of insurance, WisDOT will investigate and could suspend your license or registration.

Wisconsin Insurance Agents

Milwaukee Car Insurance | Madison Car Insurance | Green Bay Car Insurance | Kenosha Car Insurance | Racine Car Insurance | Appleton Car Insurance | Waukesha Car Insurance | Eau Claire Car Insurance | Oshkosh Car Insurance | Janesville Car Insurance | West Allis Car Insurance | La Crosse Car Insurance | Sheboygan Car Insurance | Wauwatosa Car Insurance | Fond Du Lac Car Insurance | New Berlin Car Insurance | Wausau Car Insurance | Brookfield Car Insurance

Related Links

Free Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption