Idaho Car Insurance Regulations & Required Coverage
Idaho car insurance regulations hold that all drivers are required to maintain 25/50/15 in minimum liability coverage. Idaho auto insurance laws follow a tort system, so after an accident, someone must be found responsible for causing it. Make sure you have adequate coverage or you will be caught paying out of pocket for damages. Find affordable Idaho car insurance here with our free quote comparison tool below.
Free Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Jul 16, 2021
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.
Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.
In Idaho, all drivers are required to maintain financial responsibility. While there are other ways to do so, getting a car insurance policy is the most popular way. Idaho insurance law varies slightly from other states so its recommended you stay up to date on the state’s insurance requirements.
Idaho car insurance laws follow a tort system. Within this type of system, after an accident, someone must be found responsible and at fault for causing it. This person is then required to pay for related damages to the injured or affected parties.
All personal vehicles in Idaho require the following liability coverage requirements:
- Bodily Injury
- Property Damage
|Minimum Idaho Car Insurance Requirements|
|Bodily Injury Liability||$25,000 / $50,000 Limit|
|Property Damage Liability||$15,000 Limit|
Additional insurance coverage can include:
- Comprehensive and Collision Coverage
- Uninsured / Underinsured Motorist
- Rental Reimbursement Coverage
- Towing Coverage
- Custom Equipment Coverage
Collision and comprehensive insurance are highly recommended, especially if your vehicle is listed as one of the most stolen vehicles in Idaho.
Comprehensive protects you in the event of flood damage or if your car is stolen. Collision provides financial protection against any accident in which your car needs repairs or needs to be
Uninsured / underinsured motorist coverage will pay for expenses if you are hit by a person who does not have any insurance or does not have enough car insurance to cover all the costs. Idaho insurance code 41-2502 states that all liability policies must at least provide uninsured/underinsured liability coverage, but the insured is able to refuse it if they wish. This insurance code does not stipulate that uninsured/underinsured property damage is required to be offered.
Rental reimbursement insurance covers costs for renting another vehicle when yours is being repaired after an accident. It can also pay for other transportation expenses if your primary vehicle is being repaired.
Towing coverage simply helps pay for the cost of towing your vehicle in the event it’s not drivable. If you have a driver’s club policy such as AAA, then you may already have similar coverage.
Custom equipment insurance will cover and pay for damage done to add-on or non-factory equipment installed in your vehicle such as an after market radio.
Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility
Establishing proof of insurance and financial responsibility
- Get a standard liability car insurance policy
- Receive an indemnity bond from an authorized Idaho surety company
- Self insurance – available for those who own 25 or more vehicles and a net worth greater than $500,000
In order to provide proof of insurance, you can provide one of the following:
- Insurance ID Card
- Proof of indemnity bond
- Proof of self insurance
You must maintain proof of insurance and financial responsibility and present it:
- When asked by a police officer
- After an accident
- Anytime you are operating a vehicle
Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility Penalties
If you are unable to show proof of insurance, you can face the following penalties:
- First offense – fine of $75 and requirement to show proof of insurance for 1 year
- Subsequent offenses within 5 years of first offense result in a misdemeanor along with a fine up to $1,000 and /or up to 6 months in jail
Idaho Insurance Agents
Meridian Car Insurance | Nampa Car Insurance | Idaho Falls Car Insurance | Pocatello Car Insurance | Caldwell Car Insurance | Twin Falls Car Insurance | Lewiston Car Insurance | Post Falls Car Insurance | Rexburg Car Insurance | Moscow Car Insurance | Blackfoot Car Insurance | Boise Car Insurance | Buhl Car Insurance | Coeur Dalene Car Insurance