Michigan Car Insurance Regulations & Required Coverage
Michigan car insurance regulations require all drivers to obtain liability insurance coverage of 20/40/10 and an additional $1 million in PIP before driving a vehicle. Michigan auto insurance laws follow a no-fault system. When a car accident occurs in Michigan, each individual driver’s insurance policy covers their claims up to a specified limit regardless of who is found at fault in the accident.
Free Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Jul 16, 2021
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.
Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.
Michigan insurance laws require all drivers to obtain liability insurance coverage before driving a vehicle. The state follows a no fault system and requires personal injury protection coverage in addition to standard bodily injury coverage. There are also other options available that you should consider when looking for a Michigan insurance policy.
Michigan is a no-fault state. When an accident occurs, each individual driver’s insurance policy covers their claims up to a specified limit regardless of who is found at fault in the accident. In a no fault state, drivers usually will lose some of their rights to sue the at fault driver but specific regulations vary from state to state.
All personal vehicles in Michigan require the following liability coverage requirements:
- Bodily Injury
- Property Damage
Additionally, the following coverage is required:
- Property Protection Insurance
- Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
|Minimum Michigan Car Insurance Requirements|
|Bodily Injury Liability||$20,000 / $40,000 Limit|
|Property Damage Liability||$10,000 Limit|
|Property Protection Insurance||$1,000,000 Limit|
|Personal Injury Protection||Medical & Work Loss|
Additional insurance coverage can include:
- Uninsured / Underinsured Coverage
- Comprehensive and Collision Coverage
Uninsured / Underinsured will provide coverage if you are in an accident with someone who is uninsured or underinsured. However, since Michigan is a no-fault state, uninsured coverage only comes into affect after you reach your PIP limits. In addition, if you have a good health insurance plan, you may not need this type of additional coverage since your health insurance will also help pay for damages. Nevertheless, uninsured / underinsured coverage will also help replace lost wages if you are unable to work so it can be beneficial to have.
Collision coverage pays for damages to your vehicle in the event that it is involved in an accident. Comprehensive covers damages not related to an accident such as a fire or having your car stolen. Each coverage has a deductible that you can set to keep costs low or to keep protection high. Visit our list of the most stolen vehicles in Michigan. If your car is more at risk than others, it would be smart to get comprehensive insurance.
Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility
Establishing proof of insurance and financial responsibility
- Get a standard liability car insurance policy
In order to provide proof of insurance, you can provide one of the following:
- Insurance ID Card
- Insurance Policy Certificate
You must maintain proof of insurance and financial responsibility and present it:
- When asked by a police officer
- After an accident
- When renewing your license plates or registration unless your insurance agency participates in the State Department’s Electronic Insurance Verification program
- Anytime you are operating a vehicle
Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility Penalties
If you are unable to show proof of insurance when asked, you can face one of the following penalties:
- Suspension of license
- Suspension of license plates and vehicle registration
- Minimum fees of $200
Michigan Insurance Agents
Detroit Car Insurance | Grand Rapids Car Insurance | Warren Car Insurance | Sterling Heights Car Insurance | Ann Arbor Car Insurance | Lansing Car Insurance | Flint Car Insurance | Dearborn Car Insurance | Livonia Car Insurance | Troy Car Insurance | Westland Car Insurance | Farmington Hills Car Insurance | Kalamazoo Car Insurance | Wyoming Car Insurance | Rochester Hills Car Insurance | Southfield Car Insurance | Taylor Car Insurance | Pontiac Car Insurance