South Carolina Car Insurance Requirements
South Carolina car insurance regulations require minimum insurance coverage of 25/50/25. If you do not have these minimum requirements, you will face several penalties and fines. South Carolina auto insurance laws are governed by the tort system and have their own requirements. Learn more in our free guide below.
Free Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Nov 10, 2020
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.
Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.
South Carolina law requires minimum insurance coverage of 25/50/25. If you do not maintain the minimum coverage requirements, you can face several penalties and fees. The insurance rules in South Carolina are governed by the tort system and have their own requirements.
Similar to North Carolina insurance laws, South Carolina follow a tort system. This system requires that someone must be found
at fault for causing an accident and is then responsible for paying related expenses. The specific rules can vary from state to state but the general concept is the same.
All personal vehicles in South Carolina require the following liability coverage requirements:
- Bodily Injury
- Property Damage
Additionally, South Carolina requires the following coverage:
- Uninsured / Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury
- Uninsured / Underinsured Motorist Property Damage
|Minimum South Carolina Car Insurance Requirements|
|Bodily Injury Liability||$25,000 / $50,000 Limit|
|Property Damage Liability||$25,000 Limit|
|Uninsured/Underinsured Bodily Injury||$25,000 / $50,000 Limit|
|Uninsured/Underinsured Property Liability||$25,000 Limit|
Additional insurance coverage can include:
- Comprehensive and Collision Coverage
Comprehensive and collision insurance coverage are usually packaged together by insurance companies. They each help provide additional coverage for your vehicle if it needs repairs or replacement. Comprehensive is the “non-collision” type of coverage which pays for damages to your vehicle anytime other than when it has been in a collision such as after a hurricane or being stolen. Collision pays for repairs or replacement of your vehicle if it is involved in any type of accident. Regardless if your car isn’t listed as one of the most stolen vehicles in South Carolina, you should consider adding comprehensive coverage.
Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility
Establishing proof of insurance and financial responsibility
- Get a standard liability car insurance policy
- Registering as an uninsured motorist with the state and paying a fee of $550 per year. This provides no liability protection in the event of an accident.
In order to provide proof of insurance, you can provide one of the following:
- Insurance ID Card
- Policy Binder
You must maintain proof of insurance and financial responsibility and present it:
- When asked by a police officer
- After an accident
- When obtaining or transferring your license or permit
- When restoring your license after having it revoked or suspended
- When obtaining a title or registration for your vehicle
Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility Penalties
If you cancel your insurance coverage and do not notify the DMV of new coverage, you can face one of the following penalties:
- Suspension of your license
- Suspension of your license plates and vehicle registration
- A reinstatement fee of $200
- A fee of $5 for each day your vehicle was uninsured up to a maximum of $200
If you are caught driving a vehicle you do not own while uninsured, you can face the following penalties:
- Suspension of your license for 30 days
- A reinstatement fee of $100
If you are caught driving a vehicle you own while uninsured, you can face the following penalties:
- Suspension of your license and registration until the DMV receives a $550 reinstatement fee
- Requirement to file an SR-22 for the following 3 years
South Carolina Insurance Agents
Columbia Car Insurance | Charleston Car Insurance | North Charleston Car Insurance | Mount Pleasant Car Insurance | Rock Hill Car Insurance | Greenville Car Insurance | Summerville Car Insurance | Sumter Car Insurance | Goose Creek Car Insurance | Hilton Head Island Car Insurance | Florence Car Insurance | Spartanburg Car Insurance | Myrtle Beach Car Insurance | Aiken Car Insurance | Greer Car Insurance | Anderson Car Insurance | Mauldin Car Insurance | Greenwood Car Insurance