Minnesota Car Insurance Regulations & Required Coverage
Minnesota car insurance regulations require all drivers to maintain an up-to-date insurance policy. Penalties for driving without insurance in Minnesota can result in fines, loss of driving privileges, and even time in jail. Minnesota auto insurance laws are no-fault, stating that regardless of who is found at-fault in an accident, each driver’s respective insurance company will pay for damages resulting from an accident. Learn more in our free guide below.
Free Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Jul 16, 2021
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.
Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.
Minnesota insurance law requires all drivers to maintain an insurance policy to driver on their roads. The insurance laws within the state vary from other no-fault states and should be reviewed to ensure you have appropriate coverage. Penalties for not maintaining insurance can result in fines, loss of driving privileges and even time in jail.
Minnesota is a no-fault insurance state. Their insurance laws state that regardless of who is found at fault in an accident, each driver’s respective insurance company will pay for damages resulting from an accident. The specifics of a no-fault system can vary from state to state but in general, the claim process is quicker, the legal rights of drivers are lower and the insurance premiums are higher. State law also says that if your expenses are greater than what your personal injury protection coverage limits, you can then go after the at-fault party to recover the excess
All personal vehicles in Minnesota require the following liability coverage requirements:
- Bodily Injury
- Property Damage
Additionally, Minnesota requires:
- Uninusred / Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury
- Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
|Minimum Minnesota Car Insurance Requirements|
|Bodily Injury Liability||$30,000 / $60,000 Limit|
|Property Damage Liability||$10,000 Limit|
|Uninsured/Underinsured Bodily Injury||$25,000 / $50,000 Limit|
|Personal Injury Protection||$40,000 Limit|
Additional insurance coverage can include:
- Comprehensive and Collision Coverage
Collision and comprehensive insurance can help fill coverage gaps. Collision will pay for expenses related to repairing or replacing your vehicle after an accident. Comprehensive will cover non-accident related damage such as damage from a fire or having your car stolen. A list of the most stolen vehicles in Minnesota shows which
cars could benefit most from this.
Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility
Establishing proof of insurance and financial responsibility
- Get a standard liability car insurance policy
- Get a policy through the Minnesota Automobile Insurance Plan
In order to provide proof of insurance, you can provide one of the following:
- Insurance ID Card
- Proof of insurance through the Minnesota Automobile Insurance Plan
You must maintain proof of insurance and financial responsibility and present it:
- When asked by a police officer
- After an accident
- When registering or renewing your vehicle’s registration
- Anytime you are operating a vehicle
Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility Penalties
If you are unable to show proof of insurance, you can face the following penalties:
- Charged with a misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor if it is a subsequent offense within 10 years of a prior offense
- Fines between $250 – $1,000 and/or up to 90 days in jail
- Suspension or possible revocation of your license
Minnesota Insurance Agents
Minneapolis Car Insurance | Rochester Car Insurance | Bloomington Car Insurance | Duluth Car Insurance | Brooklyn Park Car Insurance | Plymouth Car Insurance | Maple Grove Car Insurance | Woodbury Car Insurance | Eagan Car Insurance | Eden Prairie Car Insurance | Coon Rapids Car Insurance | Blaine Car Insurance | Burnsville Car Insurance | Lakeville Car Insurance | Minnetonka Car Insurance | Apple Valley Car Insurance | Edina Car Insurance | Moorhead Car Insurance