California Casualty

This California Casualty review will cover California Casualty ratings by real users for overall satisfaction and claims, cost, billing, and service satisfaction. The California Casualty A.M. Best rating is A-. To compare insurance rates from the best companies in your locale, enter your ZIP code below.

Free Insurance Comparison

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Chris Tepedino is a feature writer that has written extensively about home, life, and car insurance for numerous websites. He has a college degree in communication from the University of Tennessee and has experience reporting, researching investigative pieces, and crafting detailed, data-driven features. His works have been featured on CB Blog Nation, Flow Words, Healing Law, WIBW Kansas, and C...

Full Bio →

Written by Chris Tepedino
Insurance Feature Writer Chris Tepedino

Laura Walker graduated college with a BS in Criminal Justice with a minor in Political Science. She married her husband and began working in the family insurance business in 2005. She became a licensed agent and wrote P&C business focusing on personal lines insurance for 10 years. Laura serviced existing business and wrote new business. She now uses her insurance background to help educate...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Laura Walker
Former Licensed Agent Laura Walker

UPDATED: Nov 19, 2011

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.

Company Details
Address: 1900 Alameda de las Pulgas
City: San Mateo
State: CA
ZIP Code: 94403
Phone Number: (650) 574-4000
Fax: (650) 572-4550
Website: calcas.com
AM Best Rating: A-

Reviews
for California Casualty Group

4.20 (142 reviews)
1
July 21, 2021

Auston8

Thieves

Canceled my insurance with them two or three weeks ago. Was told I was getting refunded 43 dollars to find out they took another monthly payment out after I cancelled so 120 dollars about and called to see why they took more money instead of refunding me and they basically told me tough luck. I feel robbed.
5
January 10, 2021

Hsmith

Awesome company!

They are amazing to work with! We he’d an auto accident and they were very quick to issue payment for the damages. Prices are very reasonable!!
4
October 2, 2020

yasuo

good brand, i like it, thank you so much and thank so survey

this company is an best brand, i trust it, i will share everybody, this is safe, quality, and best price
5
June 10, 2020

CCLady7

Never had any problems

I've never had a problem getting a claim processed and the rates are good. Customer service is always helpful and I appreciate the annual coverage review where they go over anything that changed in the past year and make sure your coverage is still appropriate.
1
April 8, 2020

doejon1

Horrible Claims

Horrible Claims, most unprofessional people I have ever dealt with. Could not provide requested documentation.
5
February 24, 2020

bullshead

great prices

i do not have much to say because we havent had any claims or accidents thus far. but they have great prices
5
November 8, 2019

Scan1973

Best price anywhere!

Super service! A sleeper company. Best prices anywhere. I am not changing my company because of California Cas!,
1
October 2, 2019

casteel81

Very poor service throughout

I found out about California casualty through my United airlines program. I was very excited to sign up with a company bundled with another company that I used so frequently. It was supposed to be cheaper which it wasn't but I went ahead anyways. I was told after a month that they couldn't cover my wife because she had a suspended license even though she's never had a suspended license. I went to the DMV and provided the paperwork to show that sh...
I found out about California casualty through my United airlines program. I was very excited to sign up with a company bundled with another company that I used so frequently. It was supposed to be cheaper which it wasn't but I went ahead anyways. I was told after a month that they couldn't cover my wife because she had a suspended license even though she's never had a suspended license. I went to the DMV and provided the paperwork to show that she did not have a suspended license. They still insisted or not covering her and even went so far as to send me exclusionary paperwork for me to sign. We went with another insurance company after I was told that she was not and could not be covered. we moved shortly after that and I got very threatening letters in the mail saying that I would go to collections if I didn't pay my bill. I called numerous times to find out what was going on but was never able to be covered with a supervisor. I told them I didn't feel like I should have to pay the prorated portion of the last couple weeks as my wife was not covered I should just pay for my portion well now it's into October and I received my first collection notice from them and still have not heard from a supervisor. So I went on today and paid the balance as most humans cannot afford to have collection notices. I would avoid them at all cost. I went back to Geico which is not only cheaper but can obviously cover my wife.
3
September 7, 2019

hawaii16

Limited Coverage

Calcas could have provide more insurance coverage and not be so limited on the items covered! None of the policies covered glass breakage or winshield breakage. Also determining who was at fault could be at better judgement. Another fault was stating what the policy changes were.
5
July 30, 2019

Calhoun2017

A Good Deal on Auto Insurance

I have been pleased with California Casualty. They offered me a cheaper price than Geico. California Casualty is more than $200 cheaper than Geico.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.usinsuranceagents.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption